Posted by: Brenda Kula | March 13, 2009

Decorating Bulletin Boards

img_1676

I use my bulletin board for much more than snippets of paper to remind me of appointments. I put some of my favorite things up there and often, sitting at the computer, I will pause and look at them.

Some of my favorite quotes are typed in a pretty font that caught my eye, and I have them displayed so I can read them when the notion strikes me.

How many insightful quotes have you come across, but can’t remember because you didn’t write them down or know what to do with it once you did?

img_1693

img_1692

I put photos I’ve taken up there too. Pretty flowers. Railroad tracks. Critters and family.

img_16941

Nobody says your bulletin board has to be boring. Or just have a bunch of appointments tacked up there on torn pieces of paper.

Type “free vintage clip art” into Google and all sorts of fun stuff will pop up. There are many sites that let you print old photos, such as you see here, obviously from “someone’s family” along the line. Since I don’t have old photos like this, I take full advantage of “unsmiling” poses from another time that happened to belong to someone elses bunch .

What’s the harm? They say you can’t pick your relatives. But hell, I do. I snap them up at the antique mall already framed and scatter them about my house. No one but me knows that I haven’t a clue who they are…

img_1696

There are always personal mementoes you can put on your bulletin board. And then there is stuff that’s just plain pretty or appealing to you. Have at it.

Responses

  1. I dont have a bulletin board but I sure love the look of yours !
    Diane

  2. Your bulletin board looks so neat and tidy. I love the quotes and pictures too.

    Gretchen

  3. What a great idea Brenda! It is such a pleasure to look at things we love. I have so many “things” just sitting around that give me special memories. I love the quotes you have too…I just love this bulletin board!! πŸ™‚

  4. I love the “animal” quote, Brenda. I haven’t seen that one before, but I”m certainly going to borrow it now.

  5. It is kind of like a page from a scrapbook! My daughter has a bulletin board in her room and it is full of memorabilia, quotes, photos, etc…I don’t think there was ever an appt. or ‘to do’ note on it! She’s in college now, but the bulletin board remains;-)

  6. Love it.
    That WC Fields quote is a keeper for sure.

  7. How did I miss this yesterday? Your bulleting board is pretty and inspiring. I like your pretty pics and the quotes.

  8. What a lovely idea! So much nicer than what bb usually are all about. I love the quote about animals in particular.

    Hugs, G πŸ™‚

  9. Even your bulletin board is neat! I had one once, actually two. Everything was stuck up there higgly-piggly.

  10. pretty darn inspirational…I will be tidying my bulletin board today.
    β™₯, Susan

  11. What great ideas you have! Love the little quotes!
    I’m making an inspirational board now – thanks for YOUR inspiration!

  12. Sweet site , I hadn’t noticed viewfromthepines.wordpress.com before till my associate told me about it.
    Keep up the great work! I will be posting more at viewfromthepines.wordpress.com

    Looking forward to some good times here at viewfromthepines.wordpress.com

    πŸ™‚

  13. hello, it’s nice here so I am just saying hi. I’ve been watching site for a moment now and decided to register. Hope that my english will be good enough to communicate with you :). My hobby are internet contests and my hobby page – instantempo it’s about them.

  14. Hi there would you mind letting me know which
    webhost you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster
    then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

