Posted by: Brenda Kula | March 14, 2009

New Saltwater Aquarium

img_17081

Thursday my “aquarium kids’, as I call them, were out here setting up a bigger aquarium for me. Actually, they’d already set it up last week, and were just moving the remainder of the fish over to it.

img_1709

These kids are in their early twenties, due to be married come May after a six year courtship. (Think they’ll doom the thing by getting married after being together since a tender age?)

Aundrea was moving the fish from the old tank. Jeff was standing there alongside her. All of a sudden he turns to me and says, “Well, I’ve got to go to Shreveport next and pull a worm out of a fish’s butt.” He said this in a quite matter-of-fact manner.

Say what? Naturally, this perked my ears up. “Say what?”

He explained that they had to leave here and drive to the big Bass Pro, or whatever it’s called, which is one of their commercial accounts. Apparently the “pros” there teach folks how to fish out of the big aquarium. (But thankfully without hooks.) And someone used a plastic worm. Some large fish decided it was the real deal, I suspect, and ate it.

Unfortunately, it’s having a little trouble “passing” the worm. So Jeff had to be the young man who was expected to get in there and pull it out. I don’t know just quite how this was to take place…

Oh, truth is always stranger than fiction, isn’t it?

Do you remember Georgie and Porgie from a previous post on the aquarium? Well, here they are in the big 90 gallon tank. A lot of real estate for fish accustomed to about 26 gallons, I’m telling you.

img_17341

And the dart fish… Unnamed, because I’ve never been able to tell them apart.

img_17041

Toby the Goby, seen below, who has taken up residence in this hole in the rock. Benny the Blenny has always chased this poor thing, bless him, and he has to swim away and hide. Now he has a hole in the new Fiji rock. He comes out for a short time, then backs up into his hole and stares out. See him?

img_1747

img_1726

img_1699

The little villain himself…

img_1707

And meet the new member of our little underwater critter world… A Tang named Sunny. Named for obvious reasons.

img_1703

img_1735

Yes, the live sand is brown right now. It’s part of the natural “cycling” process. It will clear up soon, and hopefully I’ll have some better photos for you.

More on the saltwater fish saga at a later date…

I also wanted to add that I my site is now simply http://viewfromthepines.com

Responses

  1. Great, now I want a fish tank:)

  2. What a beautiful aquarium! Thanks so much for visiting me…

    Wishing you a great weekend!

  3. I love salt water aquariums. I always wanted one but the fresh one was as much as I could do. I love all the pretty fish that you can have with a salt water one though(-: Yours are so pretty(-: I wonder how that fish is that had the worm stuck in his butt.(-: Funny story(-:

  4. Hello, Brenda! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving your kind comments.
    I LOVE your aquarium! What a nice opportunity for some cool photos. Maybe I should take my camera to the tropical fish store . . .
    Funny about the rubber worm.

  5. It sure is beautiful. I like the new change in the template too. Gray, lt blue is very easy on the eyes.

  6. First off I love the new theme you got going, the blue is very spring like. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was cracking up about the pulling a worm out of a fishes butt, lol Your saltwater tank is really neat, it must be great entertainment for the furry members of your family. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I forgot about your saltwater babies! Good to see them again.

  8. Wow – I really enjoyed this! We used to have fish, but right now we are away too much to tend to them properly. Can’t throw them in the back saet with the dog after all ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. OMG!!! I love your fish! They are beautiful. Between your garden and your fish, your home and your quilts… you live in a MOST beautiful world. Your pictures always brighten my days. Thanks for sharing the real beauty that this old world has to share with us.

  10. I would be watching them all day long mesmerized, it would be so relaxing,do you spend time just watching ??
    They must be in heaven in such a big tank.
    I went back and saw the pics to your new room oh my its just gorgeous, you must be so happy.I would spend my days in there.
    I went out today what a treat, my arm still kills me, and my ankle is coming along.So one day at a time..
    Diane

  11. Love your aquarium and delight in your adventures, Brenda ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I had fun here tonight on my first visit. My hubby loves fish!

    I noticed all the plants below…where you are things are blooming, I would think.

  13. Wow! Love love LOVE your tank! And I really like the clown fish!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Beautiful and peaceful, all at once.

    *hugs*

  14. I like your fish tank, Brenda. My daughter’s old preschool installed a saltwater tank with live coral that used to simply mesmerize me. I’d love to have one myself. Is it easy to take care of a saltwater tank? How long can you leave on vacation, say, without having to get a fish-sitter?

  15. Your aquarium is awesome, Brenda! I cracked up at Jeff’s description of his next job. That should be rather interesting. ;-รž

  16. Brenda, Ohh lala! Loved it. The Gobi is a fascinating little green critter.

  17. I enjoyed this look at your aquarium, Brenda. We had a freshwater aquarium when the girls were small. Two of the girls have aquariums now, but neither are saltwater. Yours is beautiful!

  18. I love your aquarium. The clown fish is gorgeous. Just like in Finding Nemo. Enjoy!!

  19. Your photos are just stunning! Don’t know that I have ever seen a Goby before. My blood pressure went down from just looking at the fish (lol), but seriously, that tank is gorgeous.
    โ™ฅ, Susan

  20. this is great! Seeing as my 18 yo busted the front out of his father’s 75 gallon, bowed front fish tank last night, I don’t think I will be sharing these with him:)

  21. Brenda,

    I love your fish tank. I would just sit and watch it all day long.

    Gretchen


Leave a Reply

Categories

