Posted by: Brenda Kula | May 12, 2009

Heading Into Summer

IMG_4877

In my book, you just can’t beat old-fashioned moss. Blooms profusely and tolerates heat.

IMG_4892

I spent all day yesterday working in the yard. Rearranging and moving big pots of plants. Cleaning up. Snipping away tired looking daisies so new ones would replace them.

I had to move these big pots toward the back so I could walk down the path unimpeded.

IMG_4886

I moved the lavender with sedum around it in back of the pond. It was close to the pathway, and I didn’t want it getting hit with big pieces of lumber coming through. I unfortunately broke the blue ceramic pot the other day. I was dragging it behind me in the wagon and it turned over. I’d just finished the monthly cleaning of the pond. And of course part of the plant dirt went into the water. I probably screamed, though I don’t recall. I’m sure I cussed some. So I’ve decided to make lemonade out of lemons. I will use the broken crockery as decoration.

IMG_4888

IMG_4880

Does anyone recognize this below? It’s next to the Mexican Sage I mistakenly called Bee Balm, before someone told me different. Could it be Bee Balm? It is about five feet tall, and I think that is a bloom there about to open.

IMG_4887

I know Purslane is considered by some to be a mere weed. But I just love the way it adapts. Last night I clipped off these little snips and stuck them in this pot. Today they’re blooming in that pot. Now that’s what I call tenacity.

IMG_4881

IMG_4893

I regretfully cut down the big bloom stalk off the aloe. It was past its prime. I figured the aloe could use the nutrients it was taking up. Gone until next year.

IMG_4894

Robert starting on the deck in this horrid humidity.

IMG_4896

Responses

  1. You lost me at the little red wagon 😉 If I run away and my family is looking for me- they can find me in your backyard!

  2. Cant wait to see that patio, love the flower pics Brenda soooooooo gorgeous close up like that!
    Diane

  3. Hi Brenda! I don’t know about bee balm but I love moss rose and purslane. The aloe looks happy just as it is.

    Come by and read a poem I posted for you today.

  4. Brenda,
    You keep your garden so beautiful. Mine gets so weedy! I haven’t had moss rose or purslane growing in awhile. I may have to get some because it is so tough especially with the little amount of rain we’ve been getting.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  5. Brenda, I don’t know about you, but the heat and humidity we had today nearly did me in. I broke my little tea cup planter, durn. I think I can glue it back together.

  6. Hi Brenda,
    Your garden is looking just divine! I would have screamed cuss words if that pot had broke on me and spilled into the pond! xo, suzy

  7. It sure looks like bee balm. Feel the stem, and if it is square, it for sure is bee balm.

    Boy, that would have just made me either scream or laugh or cry if I had just cleaned the pond and a pot of dirt fell in it and broke the pot too! Yes indeed. You handled it well I am sure.

  8. I agree with everything Tina said! Looks like bee balm if it has a square stem. And breaking that pot into the pond would have had me cursing for sure! But you definitely made lemonade out of it.

  9. Moss rose is one of my favorite summer flowers, too. It grows well up here in the cold, too, and reseeds all along my walk every year. I do usually have one pot of it somewhere, so will add that to my plant list.

    You did a good job of cleaning up the pots. Your yard looks great.

  10. Hi Brenda, what a festival of color with those portulacas! Yummy and very Texas! I do believe that is Monarda shown, bee balm. The hummers love that flower, if they are not put off by Robert! HA Good ole Robert, we love seeing him working at your place. 🙂
    Frances

  11. I’m a fan of purslane – a weed??? better tell the nurseries around here ’cause they’re making money from it!! “A weed is just a plant you don’t want.” Your close-up pics of the moss rose are gorgeous! I’m a fan of moss rose too – but around here the squirrels are also fans and like to chew on it. I like the blue pot as decor – far better than being in the dump! I love that color of blue in the yard too. PAM

  12. Brenda,
    Your garden is beautiful and the pictures you have are so bright and clear. I guess I need a better camera. I wish my garden looked like yours. It’s still so cold here in PA, we had frost last night and I had to bring in the few pots of flowers that I had. I also like to use broken pottery in my garden.

  13. Heading into summer and we still have the heat on, flowers not planted yet, deck furniture still in the basement . So I come here and admire your pretty flowers and garden. Thank you for sharing with all of us.

  14. What a pretty way to make lemonade. Probably is bee balm, BTW. Can’t believe you’re so far ahead of me.~~Dee

  15. I like that you are repurposing your broken blue pot bits into the garden. They’ll look great with plants creeping out from under them! 🙂 That looks a bit like BeeBalm to me too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

