Posted by: Brenda Kula | May 1, 2009

Overcast Friday

IMG_4391

Just a few pansies are left. They don’t last much past April around here. Or in my yard, anyway.

I have various roses budding right now. I have several shades of pink, red, and yellow. Every time I see this one getting ready to bloom, I want to hum The Yellow Rose Of Texas song!

IMG_4383

You may be tiring of the progress of the aloe bloom. But the end is near. Look at that orange showing through.

IMG_4386

Just before this stalk started shooting up, I remember thinking the poor aloe plant looked pitiful. The green of the plant looked sick and faded out. Now that the stalk is at this height, the plant is looking pretty normal again. I am supposing it takes a lot of nutrients to produce this tall bloom. And the plant suffers for a time. Anyway, I’m glad to see that it is improving in color. And little shoots of new plants are all around this spiky plant. If you live near and want some off-shoots, we will very delicately dig them out!

IMG_4384

Responses

  1. Unbelievable!!

  2. Same here; had a few moments of sun, then it went behind the clouds. Guess the rest of the day will be gloomy. Well, at least I don’t need shade cover today!

  3. My pansies look terrible that are in pots but the ones in the ground look o.k. weird I know.
    The aloe continues to grow(-: Looks close to opening up its pretty buds though(-: Have a happy Friday!!!!

  4. Hi Brenda, love the oranges and yellows. The wait for the aloe to bloom has us on the edge of our seats! 🙂
    Frances

    Gail did make a mistake not buying the scabiosa! HA

  5. Nope, not getting tired of the aloe bloom. You truly have a greenthumb to get such a big bloom!

  6. I’ve never seen one bloom before, Brenda, so I’m looking forward to seeing what it looks like when it’s fully opened!
    Diane

  7. hey Brenda,

    will be interesting to see what it looks like when it is open

    just popping by to wish you a nice weekend

    sarah

  8. It’s really quite amazing to see how fast that spike has grown and developed. It’s very lovely with the orange glow underneath and the cool blue and green stripes above. I tend to think the clusters of buds are prettier than the actual flowers when they open, but then I guess I like the flowers too. 😀

  9. I love watching the progress of the aloe bloom–keep those updates coming!
    I finally pulled my pansies up last weekend. They looked terrible! I need to get my zinnias, but it’s too wet and not quite hot enough yet.
    Have a good weekend Brenda!

  10. Just stopping in to say Hi Brenda and to wish you a lovely weekend. Thanks for sharing another set of beautiful pics.

    Hugs, G

  11. My pansies are looking a bit shabby right now. Thanks for the reminder, it’s time to yank them out of the washtub & replace them with some summer annuals that can take the heat.

  12. You aloe bloom closeups are splendid, Brenda. Love them and would never tire of them.~~Dee


Leave a Reply

Categories

