Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 27, 2009

Lemon Balm Makes It Home

IMG_4213

You know what? If I don’t have a little spot of lemon balm in my flower beds, it’s just not home to me. Everyone, in my succinct opinion, needs lemon balm. First of all it smells absolutely wonderful. And you can nip off a leaf and put it in your tea if you so wish. What’s not to  like?

IMG_4211

And my garden is not complete without daisies. It’s sunshine on the ground.

IMG_4218

Oh, and a cat in the garden. What kind of a garden would it be without a resident feline to spread the joy with all their antics and foolishness?

IMG_4210

Responses

  1. Thank you for the idea. The lemon balm is just what I need beside the porch where I sit. I have been trying to come up with an idea of something else to plant that is scented. I love stopping by your blog. Your pictures are beautiful. Deb-

  2. Wait- I don’t have any of that. I need to get to work! 😉 I am adding lemon balm to my plant wishlist.

  3. Like mint what’s not to like??
    Love it in a summer drink.

  4. Hi Brenda, oh that Clyde is such a cut up, too cute for words. Your garden is looking fabulous, so exciting about the foxglove, a favorite. I agree about the lemon balm, it is so easy to grow too, nearly a weed, but I love that scent too. Your side garden is very lovely, the arbor, path and table with chairs looks so inviting. Love it all, my succinct friend! 🙂
    Frances

  5. Hi Brenda, I’ve never had lemon balm, but I love the scent of lemons so I bet I’d really enjoy it. My garden list just keeps growing…what’s a girl to do?
    Tracy

  6. I have lemon thyme but not balm….. I love all lemon plants….. Yes I would love to go with you to Blue Moon…. let me know..
    HUgs
    Linda

  7. Love your plant blog…lovely. I had forgotten about lemon balm. I don’t think it made it through the winter…will have to check it out.
    Your garden is so inspiring! My goal is to eventually have no grass in the back.

  8. It’s so pretty! I will have to try some in my tea sometime. I wish I had some looking that good right now! I love lemons!

  9. Brenda, I love it too, but it went to seed and now it is everywhere. At least it smells good when i weed it

  10. Hi Brenda,
    I don’t have any lemon balm either! I need to add that!
    Every garden needs a kitty or two to stand watch against the birds(-: My cats love to lay in wait. Luckily the bird feeder is off the ground and they can not jump up on it. The birds sit up there and laugh at them(-: That makes the cats very unhappy though(-: Oh well what else is there for a cat to do? Oh yeah how about catch a mouse? Nope not mine. They are to lazy(-:

  11. You are so right! Lemon balm, what’s not to love? xo, suzy

  12. I need to get some lemon balm. I have s few mints, but that lemon sounds good in a glass of iced tea!

  13. Oh, I must get started with my garden! This rental house is crying for some flowers! Think I’ll pot up some herbs and try some daisies by the mailbox! Thanks for your inspiration!

  14. Brenda, I love Lemon Balm and it really is a nice plant to add to the garden…The crinkly leaves add a touch of texture and I love to crush a leaf and smell that delicious lemon scent as I am walking about! gail

  15. I agree on all three counts! Except, how about three cats and a corgi? If I’m outside, they’re ALL outside!

  16. Lemon Balm is indeed wonderful, but does your cat bother the birds?


Leave a Reply

Categories

