Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 25, 2009

Newly Blooming

IMG_3921

There are some flowers that I like the backs of just as much as the fronts. Here, for instance, the pincushion flower.

Everyone needs a scented geranium in their garden. This one is rose-scented. But in the past I’ve had ones that were chocolate, lime, and lemon-scented. So refreshing to inhale the fragrance. And keeps the bug critters at bay too.

IMG_3903

IMG_4169

The energy and volume of sedums just amaze me.

IMG_4153

The hyacinth bean vine has finally decided to come up. I was getting worried there for awhile.

IMG_4178

And look what is about to bloom. My first foxglove flower of the season!

IMG_4175

Responses

  1. I have never seen a pin cushion flower before its very pretty!
    Diane

  2. Looks like I’ll be looking for – scented geraniums, foxgloves, sedums…. huh, what else can I plant?

  3. Lovely as always. Have a great weekend!!

  4. My hyacinth beans are coming up too. I just noticed it today. I’ve always wanted to try foxgloves, but I just don’t know enough about them. Are they pretty easy to grow for our area?
    I love the leaves on your scented geranium. As always…gorgeous 🙂
    Thanks for sharing with us.
    Tracy

  5. I had a rose scented geranium two years ago. That late freeze came and did it in. I’d love to have another as they are wonderful and do belong in all gardens.

  6. Wonderful suggestions for me to plant in the new garden! I’ll have to check back here, because you know I’ll forget by then.

  7. I love pincushion flower. I had some for awhile. I’m not sure why they died out.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  8. I planted 4 varieties of Pincushion this spring. I have a white, yellow, pink & blue. So far the white ones seem to be doing the best. No blooms yet. Thanks for the reminder, I haven’t planted my Hyacinth bean seeds yet you sent me. I need a couple of trellises for the fence to plant them under. Guess I’ll be going to Lowe’s this week. 😉

  9. Everything’s lovely, but I especially love foxglove!


Leave a Reply

Categories

