Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 20, 2009

Baby Birdies!

IMG_3803

All right, I am losing it. I am completely obsessed with seeing the baby birdies born in my yard. I have made every mama bird completely angry with me. I can’t seem to help myself.

IMG_3825

I ventured outside this morning as usual. Mama chickadee set up her volume. She flits from tree to fence to tree in agitation. I tell myself I will leave it be. I tell her I’m not going to hurt her babies. I edge ever closer…

IMG_3837

She moves so quickly I thought she’d flown back into this tiny birdhouse.

My heart went pitter-patter…

IMG_3839

Look!!!

IMG_3840

Not very good shots of them. But then, I had this to contend with… I don’t know who makes more noise. This tiny little chickadee or the bulldozers across the street building the bank.

IMG_3845

Responses

  1. Simply adorable! Perhaps — if you had the patience of Job and sat perfectly still all day long at a respectable distance offering a plate of wax worms and sunflower kernels — Mama-Dee would become your friend đŸ˜‰ In any case, I’m sure you’d rather hear the chickadees and the bluebirds rather than the bulldozers.

  2. i’ve been waiting for those baby pictures! You are gutsy to get up so close to get those shots, Brenda. They really are very cute and what a real live wild life refuge you have there.
    ♥, Susan

  3. You are so funny! The colors in that last picture are so wonderful and vibrant they make my eyes hurt- in a good way! I can feel the sunshine coming through my computer.

  4. Yippeee! Baby pictures! How cute!!

  5. That’s adorable Brenda !!
    Mama birds dont like company what so ever esp the human kind,your lucky to have gotten that close.
    Diane

  6. The babies are so cute. Last year I had a little nest I was watching on my patio. Had to build a barrier of chairs to keep my dogs away from the nest. It was so much fun…and then one day they were gone. I missed them when they flew away.

  7. What little precious babies! It is so fun to see little baby birds in the nest(-: Thanks for sharing!

  8. You would think that Mama bird would be proud of her babies. I guess she cannot tell friend from foe.

  9. And when she teaches them to fly it will drive you crazy! I want to help every baby bird I see. I fret after all of them. I would not make a very good mama bird! đŸ™‚

  10. I love seeing their little yellow beaks…… your creeping jenny looks so pretty…
    HUgs
    Linda

  11. Oh my goodness! You are a brave soul. Thank you so much for sharing these pictures. Have you named the babies yet??

  12. g’day, I would be the same, they are soooo sweet

    great pics too, I never seem to get outside pics that look so good

    Sarah

  13. Brenda, I have to tell you this. I was out shooting the garden and peaked into the bluebird box…out popped a momma bluebird about a foot from my face. Wow! I am ‘Brenda excited’…my heart is pounding, she did surprise me! I hope you don’t mind my using your name that way! gail

  14. HOW EXCITING!! Remember when you told your little ones not to touch, and couldn’t understand why they couldn’t keep their hands off?
    NOW I do:)
    My babybird WAS a chickadee-thanks for the id:)
    And congrats on your new babies:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

