Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 12, 2009

It’s Blooming Poppies

IMG_3290

They started out looking like this.

Yesterday they had progressed, overnight, to this.

IMG_3337

Amazing.

IMG_3366

Someone please save me from myself. I am beyond control. I cannot leave this poor birdhouse alone. I just can’t. I am mesmerized by its mysterious contents.

IMG_3294

And she is really mad at me for hanging around all the time.

IMG_3273

I don’t blame her a bit. She guards her nest with a tenacity I can’t help but admire.

It all started when one of you told me how brilliantly blue the Eastern bluebird eggs are. “Have you seen those eggs?” you innocently asked me.

You don’t know what you started. I became obsessed. I have finally, after climbing halfway up the fence, glimpsed the three tiny eggs. I was in complete awe.

When I finally have the sense to walk away, she comes out of the house and perches on top of it. Ever vigilant. Doing what good mothers do. Watching out for her young.

IMG_3313

Responses

  1. Poppies are the most magical of flowers. I only wish their season would last a little big longer. Their beauty rivals that of the most amazing roses or orchids I have ever seen.

    I wish I could have gotten a peek at those tiny blue eggs, too, haha. I guess we are both naughty birdwatchers.

  2. WOW. That poppy did that!? Overnight!?
    Amazing! Keep an eye on those birdies – I want to see the babies!

  3. I love poppies! What a beautiful color.

    We had bluebirds when we lived in Tn….It was so fun to watch the parents try to teach the young ones to fly.

  4. Poppies and bluebirds! What could be better on Easter morn! I haven’t seen the bluebirds this year. They must have moved to greener pastures.

  5. What a nice Easter you are having Brenda! Poppies blooming and Bluebird eggs in your nesting box!

  6. Brenda,
    Do you grow Poppies from seed and when do you plant them? I want to try them. I am thrilled to have my Purple Martins, but I wish I could have bluebirds too!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  7. I can’t blame you at all. Such lovely pictures and the poppies are super.

  8. I am the same way. I would be peeking inside too!!!(-: I am sure she trusts you not to disturb her eggs by now or she wouldn’t have built her nest there for you to admire(-: Leave her a treat on her house and maybe she will let you have another looksy lou!(-:

  9. Mine aren’t blooming yet; I wonder if they are the same color? Be sure and save the seed after the pod dries completely, you’ll have tons of poppies next year if you do!

  10. Stunning poppy photo…Mr I was looking over my shoulder and gives his nod of approval, too! There is no help from these quarters Brenda…I would be out there peaking inside, too! gail

  11. Brenda, These are award winning photos! Leave the birds alone? I am quite sure that I would be incapable…you have started a serial post…now we need to see the little hatchlings 🙂
    ♥, Susan

  12. Brenda,

    Love, love ,love your photography !
    You also have great subjects to snap, too.

    I have a little award over here and I would like to have to stop over and take it home with you. From me to you and for all the pleasure I get from your blog.

    Thanks,
    Connie

  13. Hi Brenda! How are you? I just thought I’d pop in and see what you are up too.

    Your blog is full of wonderful colors! I love it!

    Have a great day. xoxo, Joanna

  14. Oh, my, heavens! Your photos are magnificent! Thank you for sharing the magic.

  15. Brenda, you are so entertaining! 😉

  16. morning Brenda, how’s the weather? been a gorgeous autumnal day here

    love the photo, you should get that straight on flickr

    S
    x

  17. The poppies are wonderful! Your pictures are amazing. And I am happy to know that I am not the only one that gets a wee bit obsessed with the birds in my yard.

  18. That’s wonderful, Brenda! They are such beautiful birds.

    Another blue bird is the Indigo Bunting. We received the latest issue of Missouri Conservationist, a free magazine to Missouri residents, this week. There is an Indigo Bunting on the cover. They are so rare around here, but absolutely amazing to see. We would see them on our lane at the farm, now and then. They fly low to the ground and their color seems to glow. By the way, you can subscribe to the Conservationist, by logging onto the Missouri Department of Natural Resorces. There is a fee for out of state subscribers. It’s a wonderful magazine.

  19. Oh, blame the age, I forgot to tell you how magnificent the poppy is!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

