Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 10, 2009

I Dreamed Of Having…

IMG_3230

When I was a little girl in the sixties, I dreamed of having a little house of my very own. It would be filled with color. It would have bright yellow walls. The sunshine would spill in the windows and dapple the hardwood floors.

IMG_3220

I would make quilts to cover the beds. I would have stacks of fabric folded neatly on the shelf. I would sit and stitch to the melody of thunderstorms and rain…

Life would be grand.

IMG_3221

The house would smell like apple pie. There would be crayon-colored rugs to brighten the floors. I would live a life in perpetual polka dots and rainbows.

IMG_3207

I would have red lampshades with dangling jewels.

IMG_3216

There would be furry pets to cuddle. I would have many books to keep me company.

IMG_3260

And a garden of my very own…

IMG_3122

Pretty cut flowers in glass jars would grace the tables.

IMG_3252

I would have a desk and a wooden chair and a can of always-sharpened Number 2 pencils.

IMG_3222

There would be crockery and plates and teapots and folded napkins.

IMG_3219

My dreams would come true…

IMG_3234

I would be ever so happy in my color-filled house…

IMG_3232

Filled with things I collected along the way.

Responses

  1. How lovely, Brenda…seems that some of those childhood dreams have become realities for you. These little insights to your colorful world always make me smile.
    ♥, Susan

  2. You dreamed your dreams and made them come true! Next week I will share something with you that you just made me think of.

    Have a happy Easter!

  3. Brenda,
    It sounds like a dream come true!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  4. I am glad your dreams came true…you’ve created a warm and inviting home and the spirit that is you just spills out! gail

  5. And your dream came true. You’ve truly created all that you dreamed as a little girl. Wishing you and your family a Happy Easter.

  6. Dreams do come true! Your home is beautiful Brenda!!

    Happy Easter!

  7. Oh how I love this post! I had the same dreams too. Isn’t it fun to be able to create the home of your dreams… Yours is beautiful!
    Happy Easter!

  8. Beautiful post, home and garden. What a beautiful dream you have made come true.

  9. What a perfect way to say that dreams come true! Your home is so beautiful- every little bit of it. I am so enjoying getting to know your wonderful blog. Happy Easter and have a great weeken!

  10. Your home is just beautiful! You did full fill your dreams and are living it the way you wanted so much as a child. That is wonderful! When I was a little girl I use to want to have a family of my own. All I ever dreamed of was a family with kids and pets and a husband who would come home everyday from work. That is the only thing I ever wanted as a child(-: I just wanted someone to love me and someone I could love back! I wanted children I could love with all my heart and take care of and watch grow up. So I know how important childhood memories can be. It is so wonderful when they can come true!

  11. What a lovely post Brenda! I dreamed of my own house when I was a little girl too, and it is so wonderful now to have it isn’t it?

  12. Brenda, your post is gorgeous and really sat me back for a minute. I’m not sure what all I dreamed of as a child, other than having animals around me. For you to see your dreams come true is a wonderful piece of gratitude offered to all of us to see. Now you’re making me ponder! Great photos, and beautiful thoughts. Thanks.

  13. I love seeing your home. It is truly beautiful — happy and colorful.

    Dawn

  14. Your pictures and words describe my dreams, too. I didn’t fully know this until lately. Now, with the new house, I feel I am coming home at last.


Leave a Reply

Categories

