Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 5, 2009

When Daisies Were Magical

IMG_2923

When I was a child, daisies were my absolute favorite flowers. I loved the beaded look of the yellow center. The way the white petals opened up so invitingly. Come up close and look at the magic within, they called out to me.

IMG_2866

I don’t have a favorite flower anymore. I like them all in some fashion.

IMG_2932

Now I appreciate all the shades of greens that the leaves bring to the overall picture. The way texture plays out across the garden in many shapes and sizes.

IMG_2930

I like to mix sedums with tulips, just for fun.

IMG_2927

I like how the small pond beckons creatures, big and small, to drink from the water.

IMG_2961

This sedum has tiny yellow flowers that look so pretty alongside any plant.

IMG_2875

I think Clyde’s favorite place is just a resting spot where he can escape the dogs and relax in the early days of spring time.

IMG_2874

Responses

  1. Love the pictures so peaceful so pretty.
    Daisy’s are my MIL fav flower
    No here flowers yet! Ha…. maybe in July
    Diane

  2. I have to agree…all flowers are special in some way, including daisies!

    I usually say ‘one’ of my favorites cause I have so many.

    Beautiful photos!

  3. Daisies and Indian Paintbrushes and Dandelions all held special magical powers when I was a child. Simple times — lovely memories!

  4. So pretty. Your pictures of Clyde make me miss my Fluffy. He didn’t come home.

  5. Good afternoon, sweet Brenda. SO loving your garden. I have daisies and tulips in mine as well, and will soon miss them when I move away. Alas, I will have to start a NEW garden and my new home. 🙂 I also LOVE your pond…so soothing!

    **hugs**

  6. Brenda your words surely ring true this wonderful spring. I like daisies alot too. How would we ever know if he ‘loved us’ without their wonderful petals? And the beads are sweet too. Your sedum/tulip combo is wonderful.

  7. Daisies were childhood friends of mine too, along with other field flowers and tiny share blooms that hid in the woods. As usual the feast of color on your blog feeds my spirit. What a happy place!

  8. PS That should say “Tiny shy blooms” not “share blooms.” *giggle*

  9. Daisies were always my favorite flower too…because they are the happy flower. Rudbeckia is my favorite now, but isn’t it just a yellow daisy after all? 🙂

  10. Gorgeous photos, Brenda!! I love the closeup of the daisy!

  11. Brenda, that sedum with the tulips is magical. I still love the daisies in the summer. They look so fresh and so cool, when it is so hot here.~~Dee

  12. Love your post, Brenda! Indeed, great minds think alike 😉

  13. Brenda,
    Your flowers are all beautiful. I am also partial to Daisies. My Mom always had a bed of daisies.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  14. Your pictures always look like something from a magazine. I love visiting your blog!
    My daughters favorite flower is the daisy! I love when they bloom too!
    I hope you have a great monday!!!

  15. Nice photos, Brenda. You capture the magic of early spring in your garden.

  16. I love that tiny baby sedum with the tulips! Clyde looks quite content as he rules his kingdom.

  17. I kinda wish that I was hanging out with Clyde over there today…it is much nicer than the dreary rain here. The daisies made me smile too.
    ♥, Susan

  18. What a magical garden, these photos are breathtaking Brenda. What a lucky lady you are!

    Hugs, G

  19. Brenda, Beautiful photos and I love the easy prose…it has a pleasant rhythm that is relaxing…I would love to be sitting in your garden today. gail

  20. How beautiful spring looks in your garden! 🙂

  21. All the flowers make your garden magical…… and you are the wizard that make it come to life ….. just glorious…
    HUgs
    Linda

  22. Hi Brenda ~ thanks so much for stoppiong by! LOVE YOUR PHOTOS ~ Beautiful COLOR!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

