Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 3, 2009

Warm Feelings On A Cool Morning

IMG_2826

It is that in between time of year when spring has come with its multitude of flowers, yet the nights are cool and lingering.

IMG_2833

I found a spot in the dining room, below, for my prints from the antique mall excursion.

IMG_2827

Pepper’s Garden is almost covering the steel sign I had custom made to memorialize my beloved dog, dead three years now. Butterflies will flock to the butterfly bush, bees to the bee balm. Pepper will be joined by nature friends. Oh, how I miss that dog. You can barely see his name through the leaves.

IMG_2835

Making me cherish Abi and Charlie all the more, of course. Goof balls that they are. Running about the house playing hide and seek and barking wildly as I write this. Suddenly overcome with endless dog energy. Their feet trying to gain a steady foot hold on the hardwood floors. They make me laugh with their antics.

IMG_2831

Here is what I had in mind for the white pitcher and blue mug I bought the other day. They will hold things on my desk and be organizers.

IMG_2845

I love this bowl. I bought it at an estate sale for $12 last year. I am drawn to the texture and design of the leaves. To the way it shines when the light hits it just right, here in my little patchwork kitchen.

IMG_2851

Responses

  1. The colors are just stunning! Reading your blog is always a pleasure and a hint of what I will be seeing in my own garden shorly. Have a wonderful weekend.
    ♥, Susan

  2. Gorgeous photo’s !!
    Diane

  3. Love everything; fruit in the sunlight, red white and blue. You rock.
    I didn’t realize those pictures were so big. They look great with the clock.

  4. I’m jealous! I want warm weather so badly. Driving back to Michigan tomorrow and the forecast has snow showers for 3 days next week! Can you believe that? This winter and thus far spring has been the pits.

  5. Beautiful photos, Brenda! I especially like the first one!

  6. I love what you did with your flea market finds Brenda! The memorial garden area for your dog Pepper is so sweet. We lost our dog “Pepper” 1 1/2 years ago and I want to do the same thing for him in my garden. He loved my garden so much and so it would be nice to bury his ashes back there and put up some kind of plaque or stone.

  7. Brenda, What a wonderful memorial garden. We love our sweet companions and they Our pets are important members of the family…The garden marker is perfect. gail

  8. Beautiful, bright colours, Brenda! I absolutely adore that red vase! I love red in just about anything. I really enjoyed all the colour in this post — your home looks so cozy and inviting. 🙂

  9. I love everything. You have such beautiful things. I know how you feel about your dog. I still miss my first dog and she has been gone for almost 25 years! What a wonderful memorial garden for Pepper!

  10. Wow! Pepper would be proud of your ‘brilliant’ post, Brenda … a beautiful memorial for ALL who have gone before us … hugs 🙂

  11. Lemons are sweet, and the tulip is divine. It’s good to remember those who gave us so much love. It helps in the letting go.

  12. Beautiful pictures. The last picture of the bowl–is that sitting on a log cabin quilt?

  13. Brenda, you are so talented in your use of color. That tulip photo with the one raindrop almost made me cry.~~Dee

  14. brenda, You have the most colorful blog. I really love that red and yellow tulip ! Did you ever take photography lessons ? I think I better as mine seem so blah, at times.
    As far as space, I agree, we do need a place all our own. I had a tree house when I was growing up, and now I have the whole house.
    Somewhere there is a happy medium.
    Isn’t it fun to create things ?


Leave a Reply

Categories

