Posted by: Brenda Kula | April 1, 2009

Backyard Bluebirds

IMG_2768

Isn’t this blue bird just stunning? I took a photo of two yesterday, right outside what is designated “the bluebird house.” They were about a foot apart on the fence top.

The one below does not have the brilliant colors of the first one. See…

IMG_2773

Do you think one is a male and one a female? Does anyone know any pertinent facts about Eastern bluebirds? I’d love some information, as they nest here in the corner birdhouse every year.

Responses

  1. I don’t know for sure but with most birds the male is the pretty one and the female is not as colorful. That is so cool they are nesting at your house(-: They are so pretty!

  2. I love bluebirds! We had them when we lived in TN…We have not seen any here in NC but I know that they do dwell here. I believe the more colorful one is the male…

  3. What a great photo!!!
    Diane

  4. I know nothing about them, but they are cheerful looking, beautiful birds!

  5. You lucky girl! We see them around here some but I don’t have a house. Need to work on that.

  6. Wow, what a vibrant blue! It is lovely. I don’t know anything about bluebirds, we don’t have them around here.

  7. Oh, these photographs are brilliant. I love the bluebird and that first one is gorgeous. I don’t see them often here, how blessed you are to have them appear in your backyard.
    Karen

  8. I wish we had bluebirds here. They are just the prettiest things–and you get the best pictures!!

  9. I hate to admit it, but the males of most species are more attractive/vibrant (don’t tell my husband I said that! 🙂 Your photography skills are terrific.

  10. Brenda, I see from your previous post and photos that you have a talent for creating places of comfort.

    And I’m so jealous of your bluebirds…and you are absolutely right! They are probably a mating pair…romance on the garden fence. My bird book says you can watch for a nest in an old woodpecker hole or natural tree cavity. They will normally have 4-6 pale blue eggs!

    Do keep your eyes open! (Thanks for visiting my blog!)

  11. Good mercy, stunning photos! Stunning birds! Thank you sooo much. I love seeing them. They look similar to the finches I saw at Petsmart today.

    xxxooo

  12. Oh, I just read Deborah’s comment. How lovely, and thanks to her!

  13. I know nothing about them, but these photos are STUNNING, Brenda!

  14. Dang ….. you are master picture taker…… I adore bluebirds they have the sweetest songs….. and yes the first is the male……. have you ever seen their eggs…… sweet blue….
    HUgs
    Linda

  15. How cute.

  16. I’ve never gotten to see bluebirds in person; that’s really cool that they were in your yard. Great pics!

  17. Hi Brenda, you captured some great shots of your bluebirds! Isn’t it amazing just seeing their gorgeous colors? I have 2 bluebird boxes but they’ve never used them…they nest someplace else down the road, but come here to eat and drink!! I once saw them bring their 3 babies to the feeder and give them seeds, believe it or not. I didn’t have my camera at that time, unfortunately:-(
    I should know something about these lovely birds but I’m no expert. I always refer to my bird books and to online info…and there is LOTS out there if you just ‘google’ bluebirds, you can find out just about anything you want to know!
    Looking at your photos, I agree that you have a male & a female there. The females have blue but are not as brilliant as the males. I have photos of them in various parts of my blog in case you haven’t seen them before. I just love them! Have a great spring!

  18. They are totally stunningly beautiful. what great photos! I will ask my son Kevin about them. One of his minors was ornithology in college.
    Thank you for your sweet comment. I am trying to think positive thoughts.
    Hugs to you my friend.

  19. Hi Brenda,
    I wish I knew more about Blue Birds. The only thing that sticks with me is the old Shirley Temple movie where she finds out the Blue Bird of Happiness lives in her own backyard. That’s stuck with me since I was a little girl and always tried to remember it when feeling a little “blue” myself. Always wonderful to view your photos. xo~Tracie

  20. I would think so, Brenda, but not sure. One thing I am sure of … you must frame those striking bluebird photos! April hugs.

  21. Dear Brenda…thank you for leaving a comment on my blog. the bird on my sidebar is our native robin…a very cheeky little chap…..he visits my shed and takes the seed for himself….

    Your bluebirds are so delightful…..we do not have them here….
    I am not an expert, but it would never surprise me if one was the male and one the female…….

    Have a fun day……

  22. Yes, the brightly colored one is the male and the other the female. We had a pair in our house last summer that had 3 sets of babies. They mate for life so you can have the same pair returning each year. They are very territorial so you have to make sure that you don’t place another box too close.

  23. I bet they are a mating pair! The male birds are so much more colorful from what I’ve seen in the bird kingdom. That’s cool that they nest in your bluebird box each spring. I’ve got one in my yard hoping to attract them as well.

  24. Fantastic photos! I’ll bet they’re a pair. I’ve heard they have the prettiest eggs (I’ve never seen them in person), so perhaps you’ll have a chance to find their nest and take more photos. All very discreetly, of course!

  25. I know Wills Point is the bluebird capital, and they have a bluebird festival each year. AND that you are VERY blessed to have some in your yard.
    Does that help any?
    Great shot Brenda!

  26. I’m adding my two cents in here, they are definitely a male and a female, the male is the bright colored one. You can observe their nesting activities fairly closely if you follow the guidelines laid out by the people at Cornell Univesity Nestwatch. http://watch.birds.cornell.edu/nest/home/index

  27. these photos are gorgeous

  28. Brenda, You definitely have to send that bluebird photo into the Birds and Bees magazine. WOW!


Leave a Reply

Categories

