Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 15, 2009

Eastern Blue Bird Photos

img_0941

Finally, after weeks of trying to get this photo, I just now happened to get it! This is the beautiful orange and cobalt blue Eastern Bluebird at its favorite nesting house. They come here to this house every single year.

Aren’t they magnificent?

img_0942

About a minute later, I caught the other bird that has been eluding me for weeks, the Tufted Titmouse.

img_0945

Here is Clyde rolling in the sunshine. He’s a big handsome fella.

img_0904

img_0907

I bought this plant at Blue Moon about a month ago. Can’t recall what it is though. Anybody have the answer?

img_0913

Here is the bloom…

img_09141

I worked all afternoon digging the invasive liriope clumps out of the yard.

img_0910

img_0908

img_0909

Responses

  1. LOL about the liriope. I have it everywhere. I actually love it because it looks pretty and fills in the bare spots(-:
    Is the unknown plant some type of onion/chive? That is what comes to mind to me.
    Kitty looks mighty happy too(-:
    And of course I love the blue bird(-:

  2. I can’t believe you have a bluebird! I have never seen one here! So glad you were able to catch a picture. Last summer when we were camping in Colorado, we saw so many bluebirds. They are just the cutest things!
    Your plants look great! Wish I could pick that kitty up and give it a hug!

  3. Looking good Brenda. Your weeks of trying were well worth it!

  4. Oh, Brenda, those are my two favorite birds. The little bluebirds are so hard to catch. Your yard looks so inviting. I bet Pam from Digging could i.d. your plant for you. She’s into those low water plants.~~Dee

  5. Love the pictures of the birds Brenda! How wonderful that they come every year to nest with you. The garden looks so lovely, in contrast to my bare winter garden! xo, suzy

  6. Brenda, the blue bird is beautiful and the plant is bulbine.

  7. Oh, Brenda, I am so jealous. I wish I had Eastern Bluebirds and a Tufted Titmouse in my yard! I have bulbine in my yard. Mine blooms orange. I had some that bloomed yellow at one time.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  8. Deb is right. That’s a bulbine you bought at Blue Moon.

    I’m envious that you have bluebirds nesting in your yard. They’re beautiful.

  9. goodness brenda, I am jealous too! like Lorilee

    I miss birds, there aren’t the same birds in Australia, that might sound funny to you but I know of an English girl who couldn’t settle and one of the things she didn’t like is the birds here, very different and the tweeting isn’t like ‘English’ tweeting roflomao!!!!!

    anyway loved coming by here and seeing that photo, you are too good with these natural photos, *you should be the one doing a book *smile

    S
    x

  10. You are so lucky to get those Eastern Bluebirds, all I ever see is the mean old Bluejays in my area.

  11. Hi Brenda, what a treat to be able to work outside all day. We have had a few days like that, but now it is cold again. Your new flower is wonderful, and if it is a bulbine, well, that is my favorite flower that will not grow here. Pam at Digging shows it on occasion and the color and form are dreamy. I love your bluebird shots, can’t get enough of them!
    Frances

  12. The bird photos are gorgeous! Almost like paintings…

  13. I have been looking for the bluebirds and now I can look no further as this is a great picture. They are one of nature’s true gifts aren’t they! Great shot. Your mystery plant is unfamiliar to this New England gardener but I now know what a bulbine is even if I can’t grow it. You learn something new every day.

  14. I think your plant is a bulbine, you are truly blessed to have blue birds, AND such great shots of them at that!!

  15. My gosh, the photos are great, as usual. I love the blue bird.

  16. Hi Brenda! Lovely photos.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  17. The picture of the bluebird is stunning. You make me itch for springtime!!! I can’t wait to get out in the garden. I will just have to enjoy your photos until then.
    ♥, Susan

  18. Love the bluebird shots. We have some around here, but we don’t have a birdhouse up for them. I am going to have to get one for next year.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  19. Hi Brenda, Congrat’s on capturing the bluebirds! I have literally been blessed with them over the past couple of years. I have no idea why they started showing up and staying, but I’ve loved every minute of them & have some wonderful photos. Only problem is, they have NOT used my 2 blue bird nest boxes!! After they eat and drink at my place, they fly off to another yard, or the woods or someplace–I guess my place is just the ‘pub’ for them!! Also, I really like all of the plants in the pots all over the place. I just bought several pots to start putting perennials in. I destroyed my neck and back by all the digging I have done, so I’m thinking that pots all over the place will be much easier!!

  20. Hi Brenda!
    What beautiful birds, glad you were finally able to get pictures… your persistence sure paid off for everyone – thank you! Love that Clyde rolling around in the sunshine… hey Clyde, send a little of it our way, okay?
    Happy day!
    xo~Tracie

  21. I do wish I could catch a photo like that. I don’t have any bluebird boxes up for fear of all the cats that roam around here. But I do see bluebirds in my backyard occasionally. Do you have any issues with cats and the bluebirds?

  22. That photo was worth the wait! Lovely!

  23. Looks like Pam beat me to it – you got a nice Bulbine plant. It will bloom either a mixture of orange and yellow, or all yellow, depending on which version you purchased. The blooms lean toward the sun, so keep that in mind when you plant it.

  24. Brenda, we have bluebirds here too, flocks of them sometimes bathing in the birdbath. Such fun to watch!
    Diane

  25. Congrats on getting such lovely photos of the bluebird! They are one of my favorites and I have yet to get a photo of them. We have them here, but a sighting has been rare at our house.


Leave a Reply

Categories

