Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 9, 2009

Birds In The Rain

img_0653

It’s raining outside, but the birds are fluttering around the feeders.

I looked this one up in Texas Birds, but am unsure as to what it is. Is it some sort of finch? Or a yellow warbler?

img_0661

Bewick’s wren…

img_0646

Some sort of wren below? I can’t find one in this little fold-out that has the yellow over the eye.

img_0637

Female cardinal…

img_0662

img_0658

The two mourning doves are back this morning.

img_0615

img_0640

Responses

  1. They do love the rain, don’t they? They just play and flutter around.

    We saw a group of bluebirds this morning on our work. It’s not real common to see them so it was exciting. They were flirting. Spring is coming!

  2. Yes, I can see the birds in my neighbor’s yard from the corner bedroom; they seem so happy just dancing in the rain! I wish you could get a shot of the male cardinal on that new cobalt blue birdbath, that would be some spectacular color!

  3. What a delight! I love watching the birds, even though I cannot get very close for photos. Can’t take them through the windows because of built-in blinds. But I can watch! And enjoy your photos. As Stacey says: Spring is coming! We got such a luscious rain last night.
    xxxooo

  4. I’ve got another couple of months before I see birds splashing in the water. How hot does during the summer where you live?

  5. The first mystery bird looks a bit more like a warbler than finch. And thanks for identifying the wrens, many of those wrens I have no idea what kind they are.

  6. I love watching the birds at our feeder too. It always amazes me that they don’t mind being in the rain. Great pictures!

  7. Love your birds!!! Sooo pretty !!
    No birds here only snow flies !! LOL !!
    Diane

  8. That looks like the yellow finches I have–they just have on their winter coat. If they stay long enough you can watch them go back to yellow, but mine usually leave me before that happens.

  9. Wow, you got some great shots! I wonder if we have such a wide variety of birds around here. I’m guessing we do but I’m always too busy to notice!

  10. Brenda, isn’t it nice to have the birds in your winter garden? When it is cold and dreary outside, they really do brighten up the place. I just love watching the birds at our house, but I never seem to get the great photos you do.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  11. What a collection of beautiful bird photos Brenda, I really enjoyed these. Hugs, G 🙂

  12. Like someone else stated, I have a hunch that’s a goldfinch which hasn’t fully brightened up yet….though it does bear a striking resemblance to a Verdin.

    Granted, the tilted up tail of the second mystery bird does look like a wren, but the head and body are a spitting image of a white throated sparrow. That would be my guess.

  13. Hi Brenda…I’m almost certain the 2nd bird you asked about is a sparrow…the beak is different than that of a wren. I do think it’s a white throated sparrow, although there are several other types that bear a striking similarity! The first one, I don’t think it’s a finch. Again, the beak is different. It totally looks like a warbler (Pine warbler?). I’m certain it’s not a finch, actually. I get finches daily and that beak isn’t in the finch family. Love all the birds you get…isn’t it a blast to watch them? And to get them to come in the first place–that’s a huge joy for me too:)

  14. I think they’re lovin’ it!
    Diane

  15. Thanks for the compliment on the quilt, I am really enjoying making it.Your right tho it is hard on the hands, wow at first I was all gungho making them then the next day I noticed my hands and fingers esp were so stiff.I can do about 5 or 6 a day, then I must put the needle down.Slow but surely it will get done,I will put it on the bed and see when I feel I have enough,that’s a good idea,and I will put a border around it might be green cuz its a garden after all or I might go black I dont know yet..I will name it after my mother, she loved flowers.
    Its going to rain here for 3 days then freeze up again, makes our lives a living hell …so dangerous to walk and drive.Always fun living this far North!!
    Diane

  16. Hi Brenda,
    Love your bird photos. Is the first bird with the cardinal a Chipping Sparrow? I think the bird with the yellow in front of the eye is a White-Throated Sparrow. The other bird is difficult. It does look a lot like an American Goldfinch in its winter plummage, but the beak doesn’t look thick enough. I’m pretty sure it is not a yellow warbler. Yellow warbler females show a white eye ring in my book and no wing bars like in your photo. I do agree that it looks much like a Pine Warbler. Is the bird on the right side of the tube feeder a house finch?
    My favorite bird book is the Smithsonian Handbooks Birds of Texas (Fred J. Alsop III) because it has the photo of the male and female on the same page as the info. It also includes some info on winter and juvenile plummage along with the typical flight pattern and seasonal maps.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  17. I love your birds; they seem happy to be there and loving the rain! I also try to identify any I don’t know…It’s not always easy. Mine are teasing me…everytime I look out the window they are happy and visiting…when i turn and get the ca,era they disappear! They are having too much fun! gail

  18. Such pretty birds…. that one almost looks green…. I have never seen him before…… of course you get different birds than I do…… you are a true East Texan…… I am on the border…
    HUgs
    Linda

  19. I have a wonderful cordyline outside my door, it catches the raindrops beautifull, I thought of you today when it rained and they sat there so prettily…

    I love the bird photos, just so calming in a way

    Sarah

  20. Good reasons to smile on a rainy day.
    ♥, Susan

  21. Beautiful photos, Brenda. I especially love the dove, I can almost hear it cooing in your garden. It looks as all the birds are well fed and happy that you keep their feeders stocked. What a sweetie you are!
    xo~Tracie

  22. Hey! Your blog finally loaded properly for me! Whoo Hoo!
    How lucky you are to have such a pretty variety of birds to watch.
    I love your pictures. . .

  23. Loved all your bird pictures. They have so much vibrant color. Aren’t they fun to watch?


Leave a Reply

Categories

