Posted by: Brenda Kula | February 3, 2009

Walking The Neighborhood

img_0286

A nice sunny Tuesday today. My neighbor Liane came down and we walked her regular four miles around the neighborhood. Did the same yesterday. Might become a ritual. She’s a retired school teacher, and someone who lost a lot of weight about four years ago. She’s a little thing now. And determined to keep the pounds off. That girl’s a real winner.

img_0353

img_0352

The lovelies are just out doing themselves. Barely missed a beat when the freezes have hit us hard.

img_0424

I don’t do anything special. I haven’t even fertilized them in months. Pure luck, I suppose.

img_0266_1

And I’ve been buying plants for the new dining room. Adds some color and helps take the toxins out of the air.

img_0318

img_0322_11

Fixed myself a second cup of coffee for the day. Perked me up a little after that fast pace she put me through, huffing and puffing.

img_0452

I’m just going to enjoy the quiet gorgeous day and relax now.

img_0455

img_0458

Responses

  1. My next door neighbor, Carolyn, and I walked about 4 today also. We’ve been going for years..whenever the cold Oklahoma winds will allow it. You will become addicted and it’s so good for you!

  2. Oh, Brenda, how I long for a WALK! It’s too snow-covered and cold here! I miss being outdoors so much!
    Diane

  3. I am so glad you are getting some good exercise by doing one of my favorites…walking. If some ice would melt…I would be too. I just got back from therapy in the pool for my silly back.
    I popped in to see your pretties. I can’t believe how everything is blooming there and so beautiful. Pansies are sure hardy.
    When the weather gets better I want to start walking 2 then three miles again. Four seems like a alot four me right now. I bet you needed the other cup of coffee:)
    Have a good evening!

  4. I love your pictures today your soooooo lucky to have flowers,what I would not give for a bit of green.
    I have plants in the house they are different vines,I have had them for years and years ,they just keep growing and a few African violets but not in flower at the moment.My dearest basket is full of vines etc.. Mom gave it to me several birthdays ago, its my most treasured one.That’s all I have in the green dept you lucky girl I so envy your garden you have no idea !
    Diane

  5. Walking a four mile trek through the neighborhood with a friend is perfect! Your friend does sound like a winner-I need to get walking too.

  6. 4 miles….. my goodness that is a long walk…. I walk 2 miles and think I have really done something…… maybe I should try and up the mileage…… I am so glad the weather is being so pretty……
    HUgs
    Linda

  7. Your pansies are looking amazing! Can’t be as cold as here if they still have blooms πŸ™‚

  8. Wasn’t it beautiful! We walk the parking lot at work twice a day–and I throughly enjoyed the walks on Tuesday. I am a walker anyway–I hope if I ever retire to do the 4 mile trips you are describing.
    Your dining room plants look wonderful. You have such a nice sunny spot for them. Makes me happy just looking at the picture! πŸ™‚

  9. So nice to see flowers and sunshine. Your photographs are beautiful. If I took you for a walk here, I am afraid all that we would see is snow, snow and more snow. Your post was like a breath of fresh air.
    Karen

  10. Thanks for sharing your photos of the flowers and plants. Picks me up it does. It’s only 25 degrees out right now. I don’t want to be out there. πŸ™‚
    xxxooo

  11. Hi Brenda, that is a work out! Good for her, and you for going along. I need to do that. Having a friend to chat with would make it so much nice too. I love that shot of the orange pansy, perfection!
    Frances

  12. You have started a good exercise regime, so try to keep it up! That’s exactly what I need to start doing. I think about it a lot…but thinking about it doesn’t do much:) Your photos are lovely, as are the flowers that sit within them! It’s so nice to see some color!

  13. “toxins out of the air”, that is my excuse, I mean REASON, for having plants inside:) Your ‘lovelies’ are lovely! Good for you going for a walk:) Good for you:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

