Posted by: Brenda Kula | January 23, 2009

Serene Overcast Friday

img_9667

It is an overcast day. Quiet and peaceful. My neighbor Walli gave me the plant below yesterday. Does anyone know what it’s called? She said it was not a sun plant.

img_96601

The kind of day when you can design your own shapes out of the fluffy clouds.

img_9743

Phlox. Tiny and delicate bursts of color.

img_9673

Daisies…miniature sunbursts.

img_9674

Tulips stretching their way toward bloom time.

img_9684

Hen and chicks in the rock garden.

img_9689

Still, one lone Johnny Jump Up flowers in a pot full of reluctant performers.

img_9686

Lavender…

img_9692

A design of leaves against the weathered fence has its own form of beauty.

img_9741

Bonnie longingly stares outside. Yet, if she goes out, she seems afraid. A house cat. But always thinking the grass is greener on the other side. Of the glass, that is!

img_9713

Responses

  1. The plant is Mahonia. A lovey shrub for wildlife and shade in any garden. I too have a few. These are also known as Oregon Grapes. You have some pretty nice neighbors.

  2. I’ve been wracking my brain trying to remember what that mahonia was called!! I hate that my powers of recall don’t mind me! They get pretty little bluish purple berries on them.

  3. That first photo is ABSOLUTELY stunning to me! And I want to get lost in the sky above the tall trees…to fly far away…to find my own place to be happy for a change. 🙂

    Hope you had a good week. **hugs**

  4. I believe this is a picture of Hyacinths coming up not tulips….ya think?

  5. Brenda, Those look an awful like hyacinths to me.

  6. Meant to say they look an awful lot like hyacinths. Hate it when my fingers go faster than my mind:(

  7. Hi Brenda, I saw your comment at Tina’s and thought I would come over and have a look. Tina is right of course, mahonia and hyacinths. Now where did you plant those tulips? 🙂
    Frances

  8. Brenda, how nice that you got to finally meet Sweet Nola! What a wonderful day you had!

    The birdhouses – oh my!! Imagine the fun making those!

    And your flowers – I am always amazed at how much is always blooming at your house. We’re still buried under snow with more in the forecast tonight. Which is ok with me because it’s SO pretty, but as long as I don’t have to go anywhere. 🙂 I don’t like the cold.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. You’re right! Hubby and I don’t waste much stuff. We remake a lot of things. He’s very handy in putting into reality all of the ideas I throw at him. 🙂 Retirement rules! 🙂 Well, for him anyway…I’m still “officially” employed even though I work at home and CAN play hookey if I want to. 😉

    Diane

  9. Your flowers are always so beautiful. That was so nice of Walli. I am looking forward to the mystery plant blooming in all its glory.

    Have a Joyful weekend!

  10. It’s been a peaceful evening too. We’ve been sitting outside cooking hamburgers looking up at the night sky. So peaceful…till that north wind started to blow! Ugh..another cold front! 🙂

  11. I don’t know what that plant is.

    After seeing yours and Nola’s pictures yesterday, I want one of those fairy gardens in the tub. Next time you go there please take some very discreet pictures so I can copy it.

    Gretchen

  12. Love the first picture today! Beautiful!

  13. mahonia and hyacinths. like they said. Great pictures.

  14. Love the pictures !!
    I was looking again at those pictures of you and Nola then it hit me your only in a tshirt!!!
    Here I am in 4 layers of clothing and I am still cold, we had a blizzard today and tonight and we will wake up to minus 45 in the morning Brrrr!!
    There is no justice in this world I tell ya!!!
    Diane

  15. Oh, when I see your landscape, It makes me yearn to visit there. As I stare outside my window, I see lots and lots of snow and a cold day. Your flowers and cactus are stunning. I don’t know what your new plant is called, I think it should be named Joy.
    Karen

  16. Hyachinth, tulips, who cares! Your pictures are lovely today Brenda! I breath of spring to come. xo, suzy


Leave a Reply

Categories

