Posted by: Brenda Kula | January 22, 2009

Blogging Buddy Fun

img_9594

Yep, this is me and Nola of Alamo North. She finally got to visit today! We were both as excited as young girls who’ve been longtime pen pals. Remember pen pals? WAY before the internet!

Isn’t she pretty? Boy, what I would give to be that photogenic.

img_9616

We had so much fun getting to know one another in person at my house in Tyler this morning. She met Robert. He and I were standing on the back curb, waiting for her. And I suppose I was yakking to him, for I missed her entirely. Robert had gone in and came out with the phone. She’s calling from my front door! How on earth had I missed her driving right past me? She got to know “the pups” which means putting up with lots of energetic pup love and barking. Then we drove to Edom to have lunch and visit “the bird man.”

img_9607

We’re talking really expensive birdhouses. So we didn’t come home with any. Just little stuff.

img_96021

img_9610

img_9603

Lots of artsy stuff!

Then we walked across the street for lunch.

img_9612

We gabbed like old friends. But then we are old friends! It’s just that we didn’t meet in person until now.

img_95971

Then we headed down the country road to Blue Moon Gardens.

img_9625

My very favorite place to shop for my garden. It is the most tranquil place.

img_9613

Fairy gardens, for which they’re famous…

img_9617

She’s being shy.

img_9624

img_9620

img_9619

I could spend some serious money at this place.

img_9618

In a house on the property, they sell all sorts of neat and interesting things. Like this chicken. It’s made out of beads!

img_9621

See?

img_9622

Why is it I can’t manage to be smiling when Robert takes our picture together this morning?

img_9595

When I dropped her off at her car in Chandler, I was so sad. I found myself practically crying on the way home. I already miss her so much. I so wish we lived right next door to one another. She’d better be back next month for my birthday!

Oh, and Nola, my neighbor Liane called me on the way home. We barely missed her. She’d made chocolate chip cookies with egg whites and Splenda for us to feast on! Next time, we’ll head down to her house a few doors down. You’ll love her house. She’s an artist.

I truly enjoyed our visit. I’ve looked forward to this day for so long. Nola is just as great in person as she is online and on the phone. We talk almost every day now. I’m so glad we found one another. You’re welcome anytime, Nola. One of these days we’ll have ourselves a little slumber party!

And for all you gals who’ve been dying to go to Blue Moon Nursery, let’s all get together at my house in about a month or so, when the nursery is filled to bursting with spring blooms, and go there together. I have three rows of seats in the Pathfinder. I’ll make us some coffee, show you around my garden. Which is right behind Nola and I in the above photo. (We’re standing in the new dining room Robert has finished.) And hopefully by then he’ll be done with the garden room.

We’ll have ourselves a bloggers garden party! Who wants to go? Sign up girls!

Responses

  1. That looks like a fun outing, and I know from experience that meeting fellow garden bloggers is a delightful thing, like meeting an old friend after many years apart.

  2. I was just over at Nola’s and read all about your visit. How great that the two of you had a chance to meet in person…I have been lucky enough to meet a few of my blogging friends too.

  3. I am sooo glad the two of you had fun and it was a great day with lots of fun!!
    You both look genuinely happy to be together!!!
    I love the photos !!!
    So happy you meet each other finally!!
    Diane

  4. It looks like you two had a great time. If only it could be summer all year long………I would live in my garden! Does “The Bird Man” have a blog or website? I’d love to see more of his work, it’s amazing! :+)

  5. How delishishly FUN! I am glad you got to meet your blogging buddie.
    It is amazing how the internet has connected us with so many wonderful people.
    It looks like some fun shopping happened. The bird houses are charming:)

  6. Oh, you took more photos than me, and yours are waaaaay better. I’ll have to look at your camera closer next time. The weather will be warm the next 2 days, so I’ll be out planting! I can’t wait till that purple oxalis perks up! Yippee, and thanks again. Email me those pix of us together, please.

  7. I’m so glad she was road tripping with you! I just thought today that Nola hadn’t posted in a few days. It shows that you had so much fun!

  8. Hi Brenda,
    It looks like ya’ll had a great time! I REALLY want to go to Blue Moon Nursery!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  9. What a super, super sweet thing! To meet a fellow blogger and feel as though you’ve known her forever! What a joy! Both of you look very happy and photogenic.

  10. How fun for you both!! I would love to visit that nursery too! Is that a white Christmas Cactus? I just received a yellow one from Hirts Gardens. I can’t wait to see it bloom next year(-:

  11. So glad to see Nola out and about. Y’all should both come to the spring seminar in Kaufman. I will email info.

  12. Ok–you know that would be ME!! I have always wanted to go to Blue Moon. I am so glad you and Nola got to have such a wonderful day!

  13. Brenda,

    I am so happy that the two of you finally got together. You are both cute as a button. I don’t know what you are talking about.

    I so badly want to make a reservation for Nola’s return visit but I’ll probably be using a walker for my knee replacement by then.

    Next time, give each other a hug from me.

    Gretchen

  14. What love! And what fun! Good for you and her, taken a day to play:)

  15. Looks like you two had a wonderful time! Sign me up for the next trip (and hope my schedule will allow me to make it!)

  16. How fun…. that is such a treat to meet blog friends…. I thought that looked like Edom….. one of these days I am going to buy one of those birdhouse…. they are beyond compare. When I started Blue Gate I wanted to be just like Blue Moon Gardens….. but I am glad I do NOT have a store…. and really no one could be like them they are the BEST….
    HUgs
    Linda

  17. Are you kidding a trip to Blue Moon with blog friends…. sign me up
    Linda

  18. HA Brenda, Robert had you mesmerized as always so you missed Nola’s arrival, that is too funny! She is quite a lovely lady and you two must have had such a great day. Those birdhouses! I gasped when I saw them, Oh to be rich! But we are rich with the friendships we have made through our blogging efforts, aren’t we? 🙂
    Frances

  19. Wonderful way to take a blog relationship to the next level. We really have been fortunate to find some kindred spirits….and by the way, I love that beaded rooster. Don’t see many of them too often.
    ♥, Susan

  20. Sounds like a lot of fun!
    It’s my first visit and was fun to see you met a blogging buddy. I just had the same experience. I met Katherine from Yellow Rose Arbor in FL while visiting there. So much fun.
    Looks like a fun nursery you have.

  21. I was just at Nola’s and read about your visit. What fun for the both of you! 🙂

  22. Don’t you just love a fun girl day?? How fun for the two of you.

  23. Thanks for sharing the gift of your day, Brenda! Like beautiful flowers, friends sustain us 🙂

  24. I’m so happy for you both. Thanks for sharing the day, and giving me a big smile. Your pics have so much color– eye candy.
    xxxooo

  25. How fun! Sounds like one of those perfect snippets of time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

