Posted by: Brenda Kula | January 11, 2009

Rearranging The Yard & Good Buys

img_9308

This is the only sun I saw today in my yard. And I bought it at a nursery in town this afternoon. Cost: $39.99.

img_9307

I did some “rearranging” of the yard/garden today. I moved this table and gathered all the black wrought-iron chairs around it. The yellow sun hangs on the brick wall that belongs to my neighbor’s garden home above the table.

Which entailed my moving this wooden arbor across to the opposite wall. A little tricky by myself. But I managed. Which entailed moving some of the stack of bricks leftover from Robert’s dining room remodel/French doors. And moving some concrete blocks. Oh, my aching back…

img_93101

Do you like the old plant stand? I bought it for $45 yesterday at an antique store in a little town close by. Mineola, Texas.

img_9303

img_9288

And had some truly mouth-watering burgers.

img_9289

Then shopped a bit. It was cold yesterday. And windy!

There was a woman from the Dallas area in one store with her sweet little dog, Cocoa. Isn’t it precious in its stroller? So well-behaved! Not at all like my little heathens.

img_9291

And it was only two years old. Boy, I wish she’d come train my two.

img_9295

Isn’t this lamp shabby-vintage perfection?

img_9297

img_9301

img_9302

img_9306

And Michaels has these quick-to-assemble storage units on sale for 40% off. I already had a few. But bought seven more. Which brings my total to twelve. Which means I can configure a wall in my craft area/office to look something like this…

img_93151

I’m so excited. Robert starts on this room tomorrow. I will soon have level floors with no drain hole in the middle! I won’t have to put coins underneath the furniture so it doesn’t tilt to the front! I will have new walls and more room! I will have a space for everything “crafty” and everything will be in its place!

Responses

  1. Oh, I wish I could have come along on that little trip! Great PHOTOS!

  2. Your sun looks great there! And that looks like a wonderful place to shop.

  3. Your going to be so organized Brenda!!!
    I am green with envy!!!
    Wish I could come for a little ride with you to see these antique stores.
    Diane

  4. Great finds on your shopping trip Brenda. I love that town with all the architectural interest on those old buildings. Very quaint! Congrats on soon having a new & organized craft room.

  5. The new arrangements look spectacular and yes, you do have a great eye for things that will look amazing in the garden. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see your new craft room!

  6. I just Mineloa…. it is such a pretty little town …. we have eaten at that burger place….. yummmy.. love you suns…
    HUgs
    Linda

  7. Sounds like you had a great day. I like your rearranged back area. The sun looks perfect above the table.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  8. Hi Brenda,
    Mineola looks like a wonderful place! Be careful moving all your yard furniture etc. Don’t hurt yourself! This weekend, I made about a dozen trips up and down the ladder to the attic bringing the Christmas boxes down. After undecorating, I waited until my guys could help me put them back!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  9. Wow you did good this weekend. I love the sun face! I worked in the yard all weekend. I got a lot done but I am hurting. Tomorrow will be an advil day for sure. It was about 80 degrees here this weekend! Unbelieveable Spring like weather! I decided to start raking! I almost finished all the beds and grass areas. I still have one side of the house to finish and then I can start pruning the roses. Have a great week!

  10. It was fun experiencing your fun day. The storage is going to be so nice. Good ideas! I may have to purchase a sun for those rainy days. πŸ˜‰

  11. Your garden ornaments are just right.

    Mineola looks like a lot of fun. Don’t think I’ve been through there.

  12. I like your sun.

    I enjoyed the tour. Looks like a place we would like to visit.

  13. I love coming here and looking at your pictures. Great plant stand and sun! Wish I had some sun instead of 2 feet of snow on the ground.

  14. I saw those storage units yesterday, and was surprised that I’d never seen them before, but they’re in an obscure corner of the store so maybe that’s why. Anyway, they’re perfect! I was desperately in need of a studio-reorganisation, and these units fit the bill exactly right.

  15. That was such a fun tour! I loved that lamp, what a nice combination of antique ornate base with the wicker shade — just my style!

    I always love rearranging things and it was fun to see what you did. Love that antique plant stand!

  16. It looks like you had lots of fun Brenda. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  17. You have so many beautiful items on your blog today, but I have to say, I want a dog like yours. Please tell me they don’t shed ? Every cute dog I see has that problem, but they are such good pals.

  18. ooh how exciting, I wish I could get my craft area together!

    love the shabby lamp, I’d love to find one of those

    Sarah

  19. p.s. sorry I’ve not been by, got my mum here so not too much time

    x

  20. Brenda,

    I love your sun you got and isn’t it fun when you can even reorganize your outdoor rooms.

    Those containers look like a great idea. I can’t wait to see what Robert is going to be doing in that room.

    Gretchen

  21. Brenda,

    I love all the quaint places in your photos today! Yeah, for the remodeling! How exciting!

  22. Oh, honey, you are such a clever, creative woman. And I recognized Mineola! Bigstreetrod and I go right through there on our way to Mobile. We just about always stop down the road at the uhmmm…Kidd something-or-other gas station. See you post the pictures made me feel as if I were a sort of neighbor. πŸ™‚ I do wish each time that I could stop and shop, but we are always hurrying through.
    xxxooo
    CurtissAnn

  23. We used to buy (cut down) our Christmas tree by Mineola, then eat hamburgers at this same place! Love what you did in the garden!

  24. you are both such busy bees — what a great storage unit! can’t wait to see it finished!

    love those suns!
    xo

  25. woohoo for you! I know your excited! I love your suns and the plant rack (it’s actually big enough to hold REAL size pots:)

  26. Love the sun. Did you know that there is a Mineola on long Island in NY? You are getting so organized. I am impressed.
    β™₯, Susan

  27. Brenda, That dog MUST be on drugs; I can’t see Chili EVER behaving like that!
    Thank you for your love and support the past few weeks!

  28. I love yur sun Brenda ! I have a thing for sun and moon treasures. What a nice plant stand too !
    I would love to go shopping with you since you are a magnet for great bargains girl ! LOL

  29. You inspired me to move my sunface into the sun! It use to be on the front porch where you only saw it when you came to the front door. So now hopefully I can see it when I am out in the yard! My sunface looks almost just like yours(-: I pruned trees after school today and I am beat! That is a lot of work! I got almost all the crepe myrtles done and a lot of the roses !!


Leave a Reply

Categories

