Posted by: Brenda Kula | January 9, 2009

Our Friend’s Loss

img_9237

This morning I awoke about 5:30. Within an hour or so, I was out in the garden. By the back gate, I noticed that this plant had grown back and was thriving. An axalis, renewed and blooming after the last frost. It has been dormant for several months.

img_9244

Our dear blogging friend Nola, of Alamo North, has lost her father. He died in her home around 7:30 this morning.

Nola dearly loves this plant. I can’t help but think there was a reason I discovered it blooming on this Friday morning.

He died peacefully, in her care. She was there for him until the very end. And I hope that gave her some measure of comfort.

img_9247

We are all here for you, Nola. I shall divide this plant for you to add to your garden. It’s here when you want to come visit. And so am I, always, here for you.

“Hope” is the thing with feathers

That perches in the soul.

And sings the tune without the words,

And never stops-

At all.”

-Emily Dickinson

Responses

  1. Poor Nola I have been thinking about her so much, its a sad blessing.
    Diane

  2. You are a wonderful friend. Being a Christian, I can’t thinking of God works in mysterious way. I hope the rebirth and blooming of this small flower will bring her peace during the coming days.

    ♥♥♥

  3. Dearest Brenda– you are such a gifted, loving friend. You teach others. No, I don’t believe it is any coincidence that the plant bloomed this morning. Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  4. So sad. My deepest sympathy Nola.

  5. What a sweet post to dear Nola. Sharing the oxalis is such a sweet gesture.

  6. What a special post Brenda. I am so sorry for Nola. I hope you will let her know she is in our our thoughts and prayers.

  7. How sad. I am going over to her blog now. Thanks for letting me know.
    Penny

  8. Brenda,
    What a dear friend you are to Nola. She so much appriciates you, as do I. Thanks for being there for her.
    Your Friend,
    Angie

  9. What a lovely gesture to divide the plant for her….

    I’ve always liked that Emily Dickenson piece.

  10. I’m sorry to hear of Nola’s loss. She is in my thoughts…

  11. Brenda, Thank you so much for your support. I will need your shoulder to cry on in the future. I’ll be talking you to soon.

  12. Brenda,

    Thank you so much for letting me know about Nola’s father. I will be thinking of her and knowing she is lucky to have a great friend like you.

    Gretchen

  13. Hi Brenda, what a touching thing to give the beloved plant to your dear friend. My sympathies go to her and her family in this sad time. The Emily Dickenson quote has to be my favorite of all. I painted it on the wall in the bathroom of my first TN house and never tired of reading it.
    Frances

  14. Bless her heart, it’s hard to lose a loved one even when they’ve been ill for quite some time. Hopefully he’s at peace now & pain free. You are q good friend Brenda & she’s lucky to have you in her life. 🙂

  15. Brenda,

    It is a friend like you that carries one through her losses. Thinking of Nola!


Leave a Reply

Categories

