Posted by: Brenda Kula | January 6, 2009

Life’s Passages

img_9163

A long time ago, many moons ago, I knew I had to do something symbolic. So I purchased a bunch of balloons. I drove to an open field.

img_9158

I tied my bruised feelings to the strings. I took a deep breath, and released them. They bobbed and danced through the blue of the landscape until I could see the balloons no more.

img_9145

And I walked away.

img_9173

Sometimes in order to move on, we have to give ourselves a symbol.

img_9154

Life is a journey. I’ve learned that we have to find and experience the beauty when and where we can.

img_91421

But when life cuts you deep, allow yourself to fully feel it.

img_9129

For my friend who is hurting today, know that there is a time for everything. When it hurts to say goodbye, hit pause. Take the time to let yourself grieve.

img_9164

Learn what you can from the experience. Put the memory in a special place. If the tears form, go ahead and let them fall.

img_9161

Release it, finally. And let it go.

Responses

  1. Beautiful Brenda

  2. Brenda…tears welled up reading your balloon statement: “A long time ago, many moons ago, I knew I had to do something symbolic. So I purchased a bunch of balloons. I drove to an open field.” I appreciate all your posts, and especially this one today. It really spoke to me. Thank you for being you and thank you for your amazing caring heart you have.
    *hugs*

  3. This post and the post on New Years were two of my very favorite that you have written in these many months that I’ve known you. Beautifully written.

    hugs,
    rue

  4. Wonderful post. I just read a very similar post on Weeping Sore’s blog Grow this. A coincidence? Maybe we bloggers are feeling a bit melancholy with the winter blahs. Maybe not but it is so nice to symbolically let it all go. Thanks.

  5. Brenda, this is quite beautiful. I hope your friend is doing well.

  6. such a beautiful post — gorgeous sentiment.

    i love the dew drops on the flower.

    xo

  7. Brenda,

    What beautiful words you write.

    How is Nola?

    Gretchen

  8. You are such a deep sincere person and I just love the way your express your feelings …. very moving
    HUgs
    Linda

  9. Brenda,
    That is a very moving post. You are a talented writer and photographer!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  10. What a beautiful post Brenda! Hope you don’t mind but I will share the url with a few friends who will appreciate this as much as I do.

  11. Thank you Brenda, it was just what I needed to hear. too.

    gail

  12. Thanks Brenda, Maybe when it’s all over, I can release balloons, or find something symbolic to help let go. Know that all of your kind words have lightened my burdens…

  13. Darling friend, you state the truth so very beautifully. It has taken me a long time to be brave enough to feel pain. Learning to let go. I have sometimes wrote my feelings on paper, then burned them in a crystal dish.

    Sending hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  14. Brenda, what a beautiful post and what a beautiful friend you are…. and a very wise one too.

    xo,
    Kim

  15. Great idea and advice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

