Posted by: Brenda Kula | January 1, 2009

Change Of Plans

img_8915

Sorry about the seemingly endless photos of pansies, but that’s about all she wrote in the gardens right now.

img_8940

There’s been a change of plans in the remodeling schedule. The garden room, where I typically use the computer and spend most of my time when inside, was not on the list of rooms to remodel at first. Now Mr. Robert and I are discussing what changes to make in that room. Remember, it was once an outdoor patio. It still has outdoor siding and a gravel and concrete floor. Charlie Ross has decided he likes to chew little rocks out of that floor. So Robert is going to put down flooring.

He asked if there was anything else I wanted done, as he preferred to do the flooring last. Which is the opposite of what happened in the dining room. So…we thought up a few things. Decided to add drywall to the siding. He’s thinking maybe he’ll find a stopping place above the doors, and add some molding or something to break up the look. Then add shelves at that height all the way around.

He asked what furniture I really wanted to come back into the room. Well, there’s the couch, the bookshelves, and the aquarium (boy, won’t that be fun to move?). My computer desk, of course.

We’re going to leave the one brick wall. Because it lends character.

img_8972

So I’m really excited about doing this room. Robert sat staring at the room yesterday, sketching on paper, and designing in his head. Everyone needs a Mr. Robert to call on. He can come up with so many ideas it is almost scary.

Today he took my three piece glass desk apart (which took some doing), and put the portion that contains the computer and printer on the other side of the wall, which is the bedroom. A temporary setup while he tackles the garden room. But first, of course, he has to finish painting the exterior of the two walls of French doors in the dining room. Poor Robert has been around my house for months now. With no end in sight. So, no ladies, you may not steal him away right now!

I am really enjoying my new dining room where I can sit and watch the birds.

img_8973

I perused this publication last night while many of you were celebrating New Year’s Eve.

img_8992

If you’re looking for good ideas for your studio/creative room, I suggest you go to the bookstore and pick up your own copy. And then find your own Mr. Robert to help you create your dream room.

Responses

  1. What fun!!! You are so lucky. I wish I had the money to do what I want to a room(-: Enjoy your renovations(-: The bird viewing sounds wonderful!!!!

  2. Happy New Year Brenda!! I wish you lots of remodeling good karma this year! I’m already looking forward to your 2009 gardens. xo, suzy

  3. Hi Brenda, my goodness you are keeping Robert busy, good for him and good for you getting those jobs done. Happy new year!
    Frances

  4. Your plans sound wonderful, Brenda!

    Happy 2009!

  5. Very exciting to get your garden room up and going. It will be fun! Have a super nice 2009-sounds like it will bring lots of nice changes for you.

  6. Your so damn lucky to have a Mr Roberts!!!
    I want him too, would he come to Canada???
    Diane

  7. You are lucky to have a Mr. Robert to make your dreams come true in your garden home. Not anything blooming here except the pansies Brenda. January will be our coldest month but February should have some early bloomers to look forward to. Can’t wait to see what your handy-man does with your garden room.

  8. Hi Brenda, You can show pansies all you want. I love looking at your garden this time of the year when we don’t have one.

    Congrats on your 1 year anniversary too!! Isn’t it exciting?

  9. Oh, renovations are soooo exciting! Happy New Year to you and yours from all of us at Darvonda 🙂

  10. Watching your renovations is fascinating. It’s like watching HGTV. I suddenly saw your Mr. Robert in the light of Jeeves, of Jeeves and Wooster fame– Mr. Robert’s work being a house craftsman. I am currently in mad love with Jeeves.

    Sending hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  11. Your photo of the Cardinal is wonderful (and so is that magazine!)

    Happy New Year, Brenda!

  12. Happy New Year Brenda! I love your pansies. I never did get around to planting pansies in my bicycle baskets this Fall to have a pretty display come the Spring. But I did use some dried pressed pansies I had in some journals I am making. xo Lynn

  13. Your Robert sounds like a dream!

    My pansies are the only flower that made it through the snow and cold. I’ve got lots of wilted and dead stuff out there – it’s time to do a little weeding!

  14. I so want to get the magazine…I liked the book of a similar name.

    Your garden photos are always so inspiring.

    Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

