Posted by: Brenda Kula | December 11, 2008

Thursday Dining Room Doors Progress

img_8329

We’re almost there, as you can see. The room hasn’t been painted. The trim work is not all done. But it resembles a room. This is the first night I get to not have a tarp over the view!

I took this next photo a few minutes ago. Naturally I didn’t notice the dogs fussing with one another until just now…

This is the north facing view.

img_8330

This is the east facing view.

img_8331

Robert is oblivious to me, thinking what he might need to pick up for tomorrow. We have to buy a white door for the back door that goes into the garage. Doesn’t look too good with that beat-up black one you see there.

img_8335

Still haven’t moved that fan palm…

img_8333

We’ve already ordered a small table and four chairs with a buffet for this room. We didn’t get the hutch. Trying to buy cheap and keep the cost down. Also I wanted room over the buffet for old family photos. And that is the only wall to hang them on. We managed to find a table, four chairs, and matching hutch. Paid a total of around $700 for: tax, having it put together, and delivery charge. It should arrive sometime around Christmas.

Here is what my garden looked like this morning.

Ice everywhere!

img_8315

Not accustomed to this! I’m ready for warm weather again.

I’ve decided to treat myself to a massage tomorrow, as I have a six hour drive to Oklahoma in six days. Arthritis has reared its ugly head in this wet, cold weather. I believe this is probably the third one I’ve ever had in my nearly 52 years. I imagine there’s some body parts that could use some loosening up!

img_8320

img_8322

img_8326

img_8327

img_8316

Responses

  1. Ohmygoodness! Wow! Bee–uuu-t-ful! You and Robert are very gooood designers. Thanks for sharing.
    xxxooo
    CA

  2. Brenda,
    The “new” room is looking great. Do the new doors have the blinds in the windows? It looks like they do. That is what I want to use to replace my current back door. We had our first hard freeze. Not much ice though. My morning Pre-k students did find a frozen puddle on one of the slides this morning. That was very exciting.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  3. Hi Brenda. I heard that you all were getting weather. It just by-passed us…too far east.

    Your room is terrific! It seems much bigger with the open windows doesn’t it?

    Enjoy your massage. 😉

  4. I am so jealous!! It will be soo gorgeous Brenda!!!
    ICE????? What the heck???? I didn’t know you guys got ice… should see my yard ha… were buried now… I will take yard pics soon to show you, ya won’t believe it.
    Got up at 5.30 to pick up hubby he had a sleep lab night for his apnea and it was a blizzard out there , took me 10 min to wipe the car down enough to be able to see to drive and in one minute we were back to square one, its unreal living here in winter… everything takes twice as long outdoors,plus our nights now are 32% Brrrrrr!!!
    Diane

  5. Fantastic doors into your garden…you are going to love, love, love them! gail

  6. Brenda,
    I am so excited for your new view! It will be so nice when it is all done and you will think the tarp was even worth it….perhaps?

    My husband is in Dallas this week and is freezing! Texas isn’t suppose to have that ice I see and snow ar you? We are getting a big storm this week end and I hope our newlyweds can make it to Butte, Montana alright. The mountain passes can be real beasty.

    Hugs, and hopes for a warm night for you,
    Beth

  7. Brenda,

    It looks great! Can’t believe how fast this is being completed. What a great room this will be with all the light. Is your husband for hire lol. Maybe he can re-design my family room.

    Enjoy that massage tomorrow, it will be wonderful.

  8. I can’t wait to see it in person! Tell Robert to “hurry up” so it will be finished when I visit!

  9. It is such a big change. I love it! A great view indeed and I bet I would stay there all the time.

  10. Brenda, that had to be the nicest sweetest invitation anyone has EVER given me aren’t you a doll!!!!
    How I would LOVE to go !!!!!!!!!!!
    Just rest and relaxaion, a few really good laughs with a good friend AND a Starbucks…. wow I don’t know if I could stand that much excitement!!!!(( I would try tho))
    I need a break so bad it hurts,usually I go escape to my daughter in Ottawa for a week but everyone’s health has been in the toilet, they need me here….sigh……I told hubby YOU better pray I don’t get sick cuz shit will hit the fan if I do…..
    LOL!!!~~~~ I just had a visual of what I just wrote…. hehehe!!! And I damn well would not clean it either!!!
    Diane

  11. Brenda, it is looking good. Stay warm.

    Deb.

  12. Wow… all of that natural light is going to be fantastic in there!

  13. Brenda, it looks wonderful! The doors look so good from the outside – as though they were designed to be there from the beginning.

  14. Wow, you are going to LOVE those doors! All that light, bringing all the outdoors in, I’d be in that room all the time.

  15. The room looks great! It will be such a happy spot with all those cheerful windows.

  16. That is going to be a beautiful room with all that light coming in!

    Enjoy your massage…big sigh.

  17. Oh Brenda…. you are going to LOVE those doors it looks great and it will really bring your glorious outdoors inside…. I was wondering how it was going looks great
    HUgs
    Linda

  18. Brenda .. this is going to be such a beautiful haven for you and the little ones ! .. I would love something like this myself : )
    Hope the massage helps .. hey .. we are both the same age girl ! LOL .. and yes, I have bouts of some awful “body going downhill VERY quickly” routines … haha

  19. Love it.
    Those doors really open the place up.

  20. Brenda, this room is going to be where you find yourself living!!! It’s incredible!
    Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

