Posted by: Brenda Kula | December 8, 2008

Cleaning Up Outside

img_7950

It is late Sunday. I am worn out from raking leaves and gathering up fallen pine tree needles. So tired I just had a bowl of cereal for supper. My aching back is ready for a nice soothing shower.

img_8043

I lost some plants to the frost this past week. But as you can see, still others are hanging on and bringing me joy.

img_8016

I’m  hoping that by the end of the week, I will have more photos of the dining room project with the French doors. With the weather we’ve been having, the work has been slowed down a bit.

Today we shopped for a small table and chairs to go in that room. I’m so excited about decorating it!

img_8038

img_8027

img_8018

img_8030

I found the following photo interesting. As it shows both my yellow vine blooming close to my shatter-proof ornaments on the holly trees. I liked the contrast of blooms with the idea of the thought of the “wintry” Christmas season.

img_80461

And then of course I consider the holly berries a special addition to my red ornaments.

img_8048

Responses

  1. What kind of nandina is that in the second shot? I love the color!
    Can’t wait to see the room completed and decorated.

  2. Your garden still looks beautiful. I’m anxious to see your project and how it has come along. I bet it is looking pretty.

  3. Still shoveling snow here, your pictures are a constant reminder what I will see again in 5-6 months.

  4. Your pond area is wonderful! Can I come sit and have a cup of coffee there? : )

  5. me too me too, coffee at Brenda’s.

    Okay, that was a little internet creepy. This is me internet backing off:)

  6. Isn’t it a great feeling to be exhausted from the work that brings you joy? Cereal for supper is the icing on the cake! Make mine raisin bran.

    I’m at my dad’s now near Austin…you should see his Christmas cactus in full bloom. It’s beautiful.

  7. Decorating is so fun, almost as fun as planting! My family and I were in a salt water aquarium store this weekend. All I could think of was your pretty fish. They were way cool in person!

  8. I am dying to see the french door project! Love your holly berries!

  9. Lovely. I really liked the first photo. I’m sorry you lost a few things to frost. I guess it was inevitable. I like your ornaments too. Shatter proof is great. One year, I bought regular small ornaments. Needless to say, a mighty wind, and you know the rest . . . .

  10. Brenda you still have some beautiful flowers, even with the frost.

    I’m anxiously awaiting the unveiling of your new room. The round table will look great in there.

    Gretchen

  11. Hi Brenda, I am so enjoying your larger photos! And furniture shopping, my very second favorite type after plant shopping. You must be having a ball, with blooming plants, Christmas cheer and a new dining room just over the horizon!

    Frances


Leave a Reply

Categories

