Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 27, 2008

Solitude And Thanks

img_7750

Today, Thanksgiving, I am thankful for so many things. For my sunny gardens, which have given me much joy all day as I worked quietly amongst the the plants and flowers. Arranging a space for my new birdbath. Potting plants. Feeling the sun warm on my shoulders. The dogs lying about the pathways, watching me, sleepy and content.

Here is the new birdbath seen from several different angles.

img_77781

img_7780

I am thankful for floors… And yes, the doggies who manage to always be in the photos.

img_7763

For the gorgeous fall season we have had here in East Texas, which brought us such colorful leaves.

img_7772

Here is a view of the back yard. You can see the big fan palm in the far left-hand corner. Look about the yard, will you, and give me suggestions on where it would look best. It just keeps getting bigger and bigger. So I want a backdrop that will allow it to grow freely without being crowded.

img_7761

I must add that I am grateful to have flowers still blooming. The Shasta daisy bloom is slowly opening.

img_7774

And how could I forget the ever present pansies. Such a bang for your buck!

img_7788

Charlie Ross is constantly nosing around the back of the pond. I see that he’s knocked a seashell into the water!

img_7767

Responses

  1. Such lovely photos. You certainly have much to be thankful for Brenda.

    Happy Thanksgiving and hugs, G πŸ™‚

  2. I am exhausted–it’s end of the day on Thanksgiving. What a treat to sit down and see your beautiful garden. Just what I needed! Thanks!

  3. It is hard to place the palm by looking at the photo, at least for me. Since it gets so large and appears to be somewhat evergreen? Might I suggest somewhere in the yard that you need shade? Somewhere it can be featured as a specimen all on its own? Sorry I can’t help more. I too have dogs that must always be in those pictures. What is it with them?

  4. I’m thankful for your lovely blog! πŸ™‚

  5. I echo Tabbie…you do have such a nice blog. I always forget that you are in Texas. I think of you as someone in Canada! I wonder why?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Your yard is always a sight to see. I’m just amazed that there is such a difference between Tyler and Oklahoma City…it’s not that far! Everything is frozen back here pretty much.

    Hope you had a wonderful day.

  7. Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. Hi Brenda!

    I hope your Thanksgiving was filled with happiness!!!

    I just love all of your great gardening photos—but I LOVE seeing all of the progress going on with your house! It looks like the project is coming so beatifully!!

    Dana

  9. What a peaceful Thanksgiving you have had. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Susan
    xo

  10. Happy Thanksgiving Brenda. I am thankful for good blogging friends like you.

  11. Brenda,

    Your garden is so beautiful. It is an inspiration to any of us who love to plant things in the eart and watch them take shape. I love the color, containers, and artistry of your garden. It seems to me that someone with a gentle heart tends to a garden patiently when the garden looks as yours does. Lovely! Also can’t resist your garden companions who seem to ramble in and our of your photos. I have always been a dog person and wish my area of the country was more kind to pets year round in the outdoors.

    Thank you, as always, for your generous comeents about my writing! Isn’t it amazing that we find such encouragement in the blog community? I never cease to be amazed at the lovely neighbors here!

  12. P.S. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  13. What a nice post of thanks! You garden shows the effects of loving hands.

  14. I wonder if it’s too late for me to buy some pansies and put in the bicycle baskets and urns outside? Time just sort of got away from me and I didn’t get around to it. I know they won’t do much now but come Spring they will be real pretty. Happy Happy Thanksgiving Brenda. I am a little late but it’s heartfelt. πŸ™‚ I am glad you have your charming garden to putter around in. ~ xo Lynn

  15. Your garden is beautiful…as well as you. I am thankful for you. Your friendship has gotten me through some tough times these last few months. *hugs*

  16. Thanks for sharing your beautiful garden with us Brenda.

  17. Brenda,
    Your garden is always so lovely! I still haven’t gotten around to getting any pansies, violas or snapdragons for some winter color!
    You have been tagged at Cackleberry Cottage!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  18. Happy Thanksgiving season to you and yours Brenda!

  19. Just looking at the sunshine on the porch made me relax and feel happy! What I wouldn’t give for a nice big coffee table book of your photos. Happy Thanksgiving my friend.
    β™₯, Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

