Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 23, 2008

Good Easy Recipe; Nice Weather

img_7541

For lunch I made No Peekie Stew. I will tell you how to cook this very easy recipe. It only has a few ingredients. It’s good for leftovers, if you only have a few people eating, and it smells heavenly while it’s cooking.

No Peekie Stew

2 pounds boneless beef stew meat, cut in 1 & 1/2 inch cubes
Can of cream of mushroom soup
1 pkg. onion soup mix
1 cup water
6-8 oz. wide noodles (Or whatever size you want. I don’t look at the size when buying.)
2 tbsp. butter

Heat oven to 350 degrees. In 3 quart casserole, combine stew meat, mushroom soup, onion soup mix, and water. Mix well. Cover. Bake for three hours. (I stir every hour or so.) Prepare noodles according to package directions. Drain and toss with butter to serve. Spread noodles on a large serving plate. Top with meat stew. Serves 4-6.

img_7437

img_7545

img_7546

It was cold yesterday, but today I’m back to wearing shorts. Temperature outside will be in the mid-sixties.

Watch silly Clyde out by the pond. He is watching a bug or something.

img_7459

He doesn’t realize his huge tail is dangling in the water. But quickly he realizes something is amiss. I believe he thinks something has hold of his tail.

img_7460

So he is about to jump whatever it is. But it is just heavy from being wet. He can’t figure it out!

Clyde and I go for a walk. He walks beside you wherever you go as if he was a dog. Here we find a bug. To my eyes it is a very interesting bug. It has a pretty pattern to it. Very intricate. As far as bugs go.

img_7493

So then we stroll down the street, Clyde and I, toward the cul-de-sac. The dogs are yipping their displeasure behind the gate. Someone else isn’t happy either, I can hear from somewhere above us in the trees.

img_7526

Mr. Squirrel tells Clyde to get out of his street and go home. Quite loudly. So we continue on down the street.

img_7518

We see beautiful skies and fluffy clouds.

A big bird’s nest…

img_7520

Red-tinged leaves…

img_75231

Gold-tinged leaves…

img_7519

I pick up some sticks in the street, thinking about a potential craft project. Clyde wants to play with said stick, and is being playful now that the dogs are safely tucked inside the fence. Big baby.

img_75241

We round the circle and come home to cook noodles for our noon meal. I serve with tiny English peas and corn with wheat rolls. Yum! I will have leftovers for days.

img_7512

Responses

  1. Your pictures and the recipe are great. It’s a beautiful day here too – in the 60s. However, no shorts – the wind is sweeping down the plains!!

    I think my computer is getting better. Older son installed a program that is blocking the pop ups but I can’t get blogger to load. One step at a time…

  2. That is my kind of meal. Easy fast and leftovers!! I love cooking meals on the weekend and enjoying leftovers during the week after work when I’m too tired to cook. I really enjoyed the walk. I love your kitty!!

  3. That looks quite yummy, Brenda. It’s almost the same way I make my version of beef tips and rice.

    I put my stew meat into the crockpot with about 2 cups of water (I don’t measure), and a package of dried onion soup.
    After it’s cooked until near tender, I add 2-3 cans of cream of mushroom soup, and cook another hour or so.
    When it’s done, I serve it over rice.

    When my mom makes it, she puts the soups in at the same time as the meat, so really, either way works fine. Also, my mom uses 1 can cr. of mushroom soup, 1 can cream of chicken soup, 1 can cream of celery soup, and 1 can of french onion soup (no dried soup). Her’s tastes great, also.

    Obviously, this is a very versatile, but EASY dish!

  4. The stew sounds yummy! Thanks for the recipe! I will have to try that! Loved the photos of your walk, especially the cute squirrel! Patti

  5. Brenda .. it just struck me how much Clyde reminds me of Emma .. they both have the same kind of fur texture .. with gray and white. Emma truly fetches like a dog for us to play with her .. cat springs and cloth toys. Maybe they are both of the same element ? dog-like but very much CAT ? LOL
    Recipe sounds and looks great … writing it down ! Thanks !

  6. What a sweet kitty, and the garden too. Love it.

  7. Oooooh, the no peeky stew sounds great; it’s made with BEEF, so my guys should like it!
    I see pine needles stacking up on your roof; there’s another task to put on the “to do” list.
    I have ribs in the slow cooker. Been outside pulling up 3 miscanthus in the front north corner of the house, replacing with three yellow lantanas. Tomorrow lantana goes in on the south front corner! Today, my back is give out!!!

  8. Hi Brenda, what lovely pansies at the beginning. There is no pansy that is not enchanting. I love Clyde, how wonderful that you can go for walks together. Both of our cats got out today and the squirrels were scolding like crazy very loudly. I don’t even wear shorts in the summer outside, LOL, mosquitoes! Your stew sounds perfect. The picture looks good enough to eat!
    Frances

  9. Sounds like a nice day…and you have made my very hungry! I love these nice fall days. I like to walk, and I could walk forever on a day like today.

  10. Hi Brenda…Clyde looks like he’s having a good time. And that bug is kinda cool..almost didn’t see the little thing at first…pretty colors for a bug. πŸ™‚

    Thank you for stopping by. *hugs*

  11. Thanks for the recipe. I think I will give it a try Wednesday when Manly Man is off work.

  12. That Clyde is just too funny!

    And by the way, I envy you and your Bluebirds! πŸ™‚

  13. Your stew looks delicious, Brenda, and just the thing for our recent wintry days here in NS. I make something similar to that using tomato soup. I’ll be trying this one. Those pink pansies are gorgeous – I’m not used to seeing them in such a delicate color.

  14. Gorgeous pansy photo. Looks so professional.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  15. Sounds like a great recipe Brenda. I love leftovers like that on a cold day. Warms your bones! πŸ˜‰ Clyde is a funny dude, my cat Mooch is the same way. He’ll follow us like a dog when we take walks.

  16. Sounds delicious and so does your walk with Clyde.
    Gail

  17. That oven stew sounds fantastic. I’ll have to make it right away.
    I love the shot of the squirrel looking at the camera. “I’m ready for my close-up.”
    Now, that bug freaks me out. I wonder what it is.

  18. Your recipe looks yummy. I wonder if my picky ole’ children will eat it. πŸ™‚ I’ll report back to you. xoxo, Joanna

  19. Yummy stew! I just bought stew meat to try a new recipe, but yours sounds delish! Love the kitty, too.

  20. Clyde is just adorable. Mr. Cheddar and Ms. Mitz second that motion! I loved the pic with his tail dangling in the water. Toooo cute. Hugs, G

  21. What a lovely walk and all the pretty things you saw. Your Clyde looks like he’s got some Turkish Van in him – long silky fur, dog-like behavior…. is he a cuddler?

  22. You go, girlfriend, making a healthy lunch for yourself! I long ago formed the habit of cooking good stuff for lunch, even if it is just me. What wonderful photographs. What a blessing your Clyde is. We had a cat who used to follow us on walks, too. Sadly, he left us this year.

    xxxooo
    CurtissAnn

  23. My kitties like to go walking with me too. When we lived in the country we went exploring often, me, cats and dogs. They are funny!


Leave a Reply

Categories

