Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 22, 2008

Saturday Nature Bits

img_73932

Today I was walking down the garden path. I almost didn’t see this red rosebud. Seems a near miracle after the 30 degree low nightly temperature we just had. But there it is.

img_74001

Pansies are so cheerful. I just smile every time I see them.

If someone knows, and I’m sure someone does, please tell me why some of these berries on the plants below are black and some are green. Do they change from green to black? And isn’t this liriope? Not sure. I didn’t plant it. Someone educate me.

jpeg2

jpeg-11

img_7411

img_7387

I have this one Shasta daisy budding below.

img_7394

Surprisingly, this jasmine vine is blooming despite the cold. Look at the yellow blooms in contrast to the red holly berries.

img_7431

img_7430

I love the different shades of purple below.

img_7425

Despite the fact that my yard is all jumbled up due to the renovation of the dining room, I can still enjoy the various blooms. Not much is still in its rightful place right now. Chairs are scattered to and fro about the gardens. But I know soon things will be back to normal. And I can put my gardens back together in a pleasing arrangement. Can’t wait to show you those photos!

img_7405

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda, I’m doing some catching up with your posts. I so love visiting and seeing your beautiful garden. Your house project is coming along. If you are like me I hate the mess and want it done quickly. I’m so impatient thougth.

  2. Beautiful photos! I went outside today and was so surprised to see my azalea is starting to bloom again!

    I came by to say thanks for your very kind words you left about my article! That was so nice of you!!!

  3. Oh how I envy you and your beauty in the garden….. I would love to spend more time in the garden…. sigh… maybe someday… I really love that blue gazing ball…. all your flowers look so lovely

    HUgs
    Linda

  4. Hi Brenda! Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting…

    yep, that is liriope. The white tiny berries are less ripe is all.

    Your flower selection is beautiful, I esp love the scabiosa… and i’ve planted pansies too, they’re the best part of fall and winter, I agree they do make you smile.

    Cheers!
    Anne

  5. The French door project is so neat and well organized. Your home and garden is so charming, Brenda.
    Donna

  6. Your pictures are awesome! I love coming to visit your site and rambling around the garden, it’s very peaceful.

  7. It’s amazing all the things blooming in spite of the cold! Where do you have the jasmine? Is it on the front gate?

  8. Beautiful red rose bud! Looks like you have diehards lingering in your garden too Brenda. That is definitely Lirope, the green berries age to black as they mature.

  9. Everything looks so pretty you would never know it was December(-: Happy Thanksgiving(-:

  10. My goodness, you still have so many beautiful flowers in your garden! I had to finally call it a season and winterize my pots today. Now my patio is so bare! At least I still have your lovely garden to enjoy. Thanks! xo, suzy

  11. Wow, you have some beautiful blooms happening your way! I have had scabiosa. I love that! shade of lavender. We had a lovely day at the Renfest. It was nice and cool! I hope to post some picts. soon!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  12. Worth grabbing the camera if only for the rose bud photo, Brenda!

  13. Hi Brenda, that is definitely liriope, it self sows from the berries via birds or the wind, watch out for it or you will have many of them in the future. The berries do go from green to black, like Racquel said. You must be so excited for your dining room to get done, or at least the french doors. Hope you have a comfy chair for there so you can sit and contemplate the garden while looking out. Something I spend lots of time doing. It helps you think out the design too. You have so much still going on, love it all.
    Frances

  14. Love the pansies! I don’t think mine look very good. Maybe they just need to settle in! šŸ™‚

  15. Those pictures are breathtakingly beautiful. I love your photos of your garden and your pets… your home is also lovely.
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    XOXOXOXO
    Angie

  16. The rosebud is simply beautiful! I noticed yesterday that my neighbor’s roses are blooming proficiently, despite the cold we’ve had this past week.

  17. As always, your photos are spectacular! I can’t tell you how much I enjoy “walking” through your garden with you! The rosebud is amazing! Patti

  18. You still have such wonderful color in your garden, Brenda! Though I love the snow, I’m just a teeny bit envious. šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

