Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 21, 2008

Friday Progress Report

img_73171

It is sunny yet cold here in Texas today. The plants seem to be a bit timid about opening their blooms.

img_7368

Fortunately the hardy pansies continue to show their beauty when most everything else is leaving us for the season.

The leaves are a plethora of phenomenal shades this year, unsurpassed in their rich beauty. I stand outside and just gaze at the trees, amazed at the gifts that nature gives us. Regardless of the season.

img_73571

The one below seems all bleached of color, yet is on the same tree as the ones above.

img_7363

This is what my house looks like today. It will remain this way through the cold weekend. Then the framing should start on Monday, barring rain. Which is in the forecast. The dining room is completely sealed off. No one can go in there unless they want to climb through the outside window. They hauled off the debris today.

Have a warm and cozy weekend!

img_7355

img_7356

Responses

  1. Just keep envisioning the end result!! It will be so nice. πŸ™‚

  2. Yipee, I’m getting more excited by the minute. Tell Robert you can get him all the work he wants if he’s willing to travel!

  3. I love love love the picture of the sunny leaves wow that is worthy of a frame!
    Diane

  4. It has been so much fun to follow this. I can’t wait to see it finished.

    Wishing a very Happy Thanksgiving!

    Nancy

  5. Brenda ~ I see your house changing face day to day and yet in the midst of turmoil, you manage to capture the beauty of each day. Like me, do you ever sleep? (Know we both have been caught with camera in hand in our jammies … sorry … me jammies … you in a more glamous nightgown πŸ™‚

  6. I can only imagine how nice it will be to have those french doors and glass looking out over your lovely backyard. πŸ™‚

    I e-mailed you a response to your post on my blog this evening, but it bounced back to me, so……

    (copying it here)

    Apparently it’s (Letterboxing) been around for over 150 years, originating over in England. I, too, am usually out of the loop on things. If my stepdd hadn’t told me about it, I’d still be ignorant of it.

    So you’re an Arkansonian..Arkansawyan…so you were born in Arkansas, huh? My hubby and I think it’s about the most beautiful state in regards to nature, second only to Colorado, maybe. We love to camp there, and have many times.

    Renna

  7. Brenda, I can’t wait to see the french doors when they are complete. I have an ugly sliding glass door that opens out onto our deck. I want to replace it with french doors. I hope to use your pictures to encourage my husband to take on the project.

    Debbi.

  8. Brenda my son is one of the sweetest most sentimental young men you could ever want to meet,he thinks with his heart a lot,next weekend he volunteered to take pictures for the Humane Society in a mall of people with pets sitting on Santa, the money all go to the Humane Society, he will do it for nothing of course and even will donate the CD’S for people to take home , he does this out of the goodness of his heart.
    He called the Society and asked if he could do this for them and they put an add in the paper to get the ball rolling.They need $$ so badly for the animals.
    And ~YES~ he feeds the pigeons every day starting in November until we see grass again sometime Mayishand he never misses a day not even Christmas.
    Not all men are the same ,I say it all depends how Mama raised them, I gave my two kids a conscience,my daughter complains it stops her many times from having real fun!!! LOL!!
    Diane

  9. When Robert is done, you’re going to have a brand new house.

    I’m anxious for the doors to be in and then see what happens in the garden. I’m going to actually try to plan ahead on what I want to do in the Spring.

    Gretchen

  10. “It’s always darkest before the dawn” or so they say.

    Reminds me of when you are organizing your space; you know that time when you have everything spread out all over the floor.

    It’s so wonderful to have something to look forward to in the end.

    Again…find your happy place, the dust will clear someday.

  11. Love your pictures, Pansies are my favorite winter flower. I love your posts because you always have the best pictures. You should be a photographer.
    Have a very blessed Thanksgiving!
    by the way, did you get rid of your poisen ivy??? hope so

  12. Brenda, your photos, as always are so beautiful! I especially love the pink pansy! Patti


Leave a Reply

Categories

