Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 19, 2008

Morning Chain Saw Massacre

img_7057

The morning started out innocent enough. I even took a photo of my cereal and fruit, which looked so pretty to my eyes. Sort of a patriotic display, isn’t it? Fresh bananas, strawberries and blueberries.

I gave Abi her medication, did my inside chores, and we went out to feed the pond fish and take photos, our usual ritual. The pansies got pretty cold last night. Under 40 degrees. So they’re not looking perky and happy yet.

img_7093

I was standing there caught by the beauty of this pincushion flower with water droplets still clinging to it that is about to bloom…

img_7062

Enjoying myself in the calm, nippy air. My train of thought on automatic pilot as I snapped away.

img_7095

I was out near the pond when I heard some commotion. All of a sudden the back gate opensΒ  and in walks Robert carrying a running chain saw. The dogs went berserk. Thank goodness the camera was looped around my neck, or I’d surely have dropped it.

I did not know this was on the schedule for today.

img_7073

Lordy, lordy…

img_7072

Remember that ugly slanted thorn tree that will be in full view of my glassed-in wall that will replace this brick wall in your far left view? I guess Robert had decided he didn’t want to look at it while he worked on the wall. He brought a friend along to help. I put the dogs in the house, where they barked relentlessly.

img_7080

img_7112

img_7081

Ugly slanted thorn tree is no more…

img_7111

Changing the subject for a moment, look at the reflection of this steel sculpture on the wood and glass rock. Doesn’t it make an interesting pattern?

img_7124

No telling what my house will look like by the end of the day. I’m likely to be looking from the kitchen out into the yard. I don’t even want to think about the temperature tonight, as Robert has hauled in three sets of French doors. And he plans to tear them apart and build them back. Lordy, lordy, I wonder how long such a thing will take??? I asked him why he buys three sets of what looks to me like perfectly fine French doors and takes them apart. Seems he doesn’t think they’re constructed as well as he can rebuild them. So of course Walli, having wandered over, asked why he buys them in the first place. His answer: Because it would cost about the same for him to buy the materials and start from scratch. So he just buys them already built, with the blinds inside, and tears them up. And builds them his way.

Lordy, lordy… Somebody send some tranquilizers to this neck of the piney woods.

img_7117

I just took the dogs out and walked down the path and saw this…

img_7138

Which will likely be the last you see of this wall. A good thing I took my blood pressure medicine this morning.

Responses

  1. Hooray, the moment I’ve been waiting for! Bring down that wall! How did they get the stump out? I am so excited, you’d think it was my wall (which you know I want french doors on). Do you think Robert would come and work up here? Ask him for tips on how to find the RIGHT contractor, since I have NO luck!! I am sooooooo jealous!

  2. I’m with Nola, what is up with being upset? Robert is doing all the work:) And what a bunch of work it is!

  3. What a fun experience though. Just think how beautiful it will be when it’s all done. I can hardly wait for pictures. And your garden is beautiful as usual.

  4. I can’t wait to see the end result!
    Nola I am jealous too!!
    Brenda its not a knot in a rope I need its a whole floatation device to keep my head above water, its unreal here with my MIL, she has so lost it she is like a child now,an 88 year old child.Her glucose levels are uppppp and downnnnnnn so I made an app to have her reasessed for her insuling I was up till midnight taking her sugars and feeding her it had dipped so low.Its rediculous.Plus it makes me angry and antsy all at once.
    God I am going to need one severe holiday some day!!

  5. Bye-Bye tree! Another project done and over with. Can’t beat a good contractor for making these tasks possible. πŸ™‚

  6. It’s always sad to see trees come down but sometimes it is necessary. Sounds like you took the right route and headed off for a walk.

    Wishing you a wonderful Wed. πŸ™‚

    Hugs, G

  7. Brenda, even thought this will be a mess for a while, imagine the lovely finished product. Robert sounds like a gem. Willing and able to do a good job. Can’t wait for pictures when its finished.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  8. Oh my gosh! I probably would have jumped in the pond with the fish!
    It sounds like Robert has a wonderful vision and knows how to accomplish it!
    When the whole appears…Try and Stay warm!
    Beth ~β™₯

  9. I don’t deal well with upheaval either, Brenda, so I understand how you feel. Yeah, it’s great to get things accomplished, but wouldn’t it be divine if we could simply wave a magic fairy wand and have everything instantly completed to perfection without all the fuss, muss and noise?! I’m sure at the end of the day, however, you will be pleased with the results of everything your mister Robert is doing for you. πŸ˜€

  10. Oh dear! 😦

  11. oooh I bet it will be gorgeous when it’s done, I feel your pain tho, the upheaval not nice

    mmmm Robert sounds good, what a shame things are so badly made these days that he buys them for the materials…it’s a funny old world

    Sarah

  12. Hi Brenda,
    EEE Yikes! Things all out of place is a bit disconcerting, but wow, what a wonderful new view you will have.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  13. Renovations are SUCH a challenge. Good luck with that πŸ™‚

  14. When Roberts finished could you send him or his clone to Nashville. He is a treasure…It’s hard to come by carpenters with his ‘I will rebuilt it right’ thinking. The view will make the hassle disappear soon! gail

  15. You are as busy as a bee my friend. Everything is going to look glorious! Now go take a nap.

    Susan
    xo

  16. Brenda,

    At least the work is now happening more outside than inside. I just can’t wait for the transition from windows to doors. You are really going to be happy you got rid of that thorny tree too. I hate anything with thorns. That’s why I don’t grow roses.

    Just remember to take your medication and keep that blood pressure down while all the fun begins.

    Gretchen

  17. Oh Brenda… just you wait! It’s going to be wonderful and so worth it. I can’t wait to see it finished πŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful time with your furry babies on Thanksgiving and be thankful you won’t have to get on a plane this week LOL

    big warm hugs and love,
    rue

  18. Okay. I’m crazy about this reflection photo also. Girl! I need to check up on you daily. I am falling behind. But this reflection photo is similar to some paper I’m using in my collage/book thingy. When it’s done & posted on my blog, you’ll see what I mean.

    Debi


Leave a Reply

Categories

