Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 17, 2008

Monday’s Garden Chores

img_7023

This morning I cleaned the pond and refilled it with water. A monthly chore. There were lots of leaves and debris from the high winds that blew through the other day. It has actually been cool enough here for the heater to be turned on. Still, I wear shorts as I work.

My Shasta daisies look ready to bloom. Only the one bud so far.

img_7011

The bees are still here feeding on the pincushion flowers.

img_7013

I am gaining pleasure from the sturdy succulents and sedums scattered about the yard.

img_7031

img_7032

Sage never disappoints. Herbs are always a favorite of mine. They tolerate drought-like conditions, poor soil, and repel many undesirable insects.

img_7012

The various colored pansies fill the landscape with color.

img_70331

The hollyhock seems to be healthy. Can’t wait to see how big it gets and the potential blooms that await.

img_6968

And sweet alyssum fills the air with perfume.

img_6964

Responses

  1. Brenda, my husband was in his waders in our pond again yesterday. It needed work! We’ve had a really hard time keeping the moss under control inspite of chemicals, barley bags, bio filter, etc. Oh well, it’s still beautiful. πŸ™‚

  2. It seems a little like early summer there, not the end of fall. I wish I had a few succulents in my yard for their stature. I had some spikey grass, but that’s about as far as it got. Have you read Pam’s Digging? She loves Agaves, and she does them so well.~~Dee

  3. Brenda,
    These pictures are amazing!! I can’t believe you still have so much in bloom. Here it’s more snow!! I checked the 10 day forecast for San Antonio and it’s suppose to be quite warm when we’re there next week. Can’t wait!

  4. Simply Beautiful! I missed having as many bees this year. I love that photo…Actually I enjoy each and every one of your photos. Our weather is so pleasant right now, but we expect snow Thanksgiving time.
    Enjoy your week!

  5. Brenda, you have so many bright green things and blooming flowers in your garden. It always brightens my day just to see your pictures.

    We’ve got so many leaves coming down we can barely keep up with them. And it’s been cold here for this time of year. Of course last year I was inside working all day, instead of trying to work outside. Maybe that’s the difference.

    Gretchen

  6. Brenda,
    I have missed so much! I’m beginning to wonder where I have been! It’s almost as if I have been incarcerated by the bars of children. Your pictures/your garden are always so uplifting to look at! It would be wonderful to be surrounded by that much beauty every day.
    Well, I am off to catch up on all of your posts that I have missed! And I am on a mission to get back to stopping by more regularly!
    -Cinderella:)

  7. Brenda, beautiful photos as always. It’s such a treat to come to your blog and wander through your lovely garden.

  8. Very beautiful! I’ve been working out in my little garden too!

  9. Hi Brenda…the picture of the bee on the pincussion flower is absolutely stunning! Seriously! And I really like the orange pansy…I wish I had all the beauty that’s in your yard surrounding my house. πŸ™‚

    Hope you’re doing well. I had a fairly decent weekend and I took some new DIVA pictures for Sheila! hee hee

    **big hugs**

  10. Pretty! And pretty yard working weather today! Gotta love East Texas:)

  11. You drain and clean your pond monthly? That is a lot of chores, hats off to you Brenda! Love those succulents too.

  12. Wow your hollyhocks are big! I need to go check mine. Sounds like you got alot done today! Good Monday! πŸ™‚

  13. This is how good your weather has been?! You wear shorts still?! Wow you are a lucky lady. Enjoy the garden for me, will you?

  14. Succulents! And to think that only a year or so ago I wasn’t even certain what they were. Now I adore them. πŸ™‚ How much better far south living is! Hubby returned today from St. Louis. He says it is too cold up there. LOL!

    xxxooo

  15. ooh yeah I want some succulents, hmmm, everytime I come here you inspire me to buy something else for the garden

    I’m with you on the herbs, I think we must be kindred spirits, I love sage, but can you believe I haven’t got it in my herb garden yet?!! I lurve it stuffed under the skin of a roasted chicken, stinks up the house beautifully

    gardening = happy days eh? apart from the pond chores! lol!

    Sarah

  16. Your flowers are such a welcome respite from the gray/brown surrounding me.
    And nothing says “hopeful” like a bud.

  17. Your sage looks great; it’s a fav of mine, too, the texture and scent are wonderful. Wont the hollyhocks die back in the winter? They do here. I’ll have to go check mine and see if the first freeze nipped them back.

  18. I was thinking the same thing Dee said…it does look like summer…lovely!

  19. It all looks lovely Brenda. I really need to get out in my garden and clean up. At least I got some pansies planted in the front beds.

  20. Hello, Brenda…. it’s been a loong time my friend! Thanks for checking on me from time to time and your comforting words meant so much to me during this most difficult time of my life. I am back to work since yesterday and was so glad to see everyone.

    It’s so nice to see that everything is still in bloom in Texas. We had a frost this morning… morning temp was @ 40’s… yikes!!!

    Not sure when I’ll be blogging again. Haven’t commented in awhile. Today is actually my first since who knows when…

    Keep posting those beautiful blooms…

    Love,
    CONNIE

  21. It’s fun to mix seasonal color with agaves and yuccas, and I’m happy to see that you’ve found some for your garden too, Brenda!

  22. I agree with the others, it doesn’t look like November in your garden Brenda!


Leave a Reply

Categories

