Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 11, 2008

Six Quirky Facts

img_6280_1

I’ve been tagged to state six quirky facts about myself by Michelle over at Sleepy Cat Hollow. I am sort of a quirky person, so that won’t be hard to do.

img_6570

1. I am a T-shirt and casual sports pant/shorts type of woman. I don’t like buttons, zippers, or snaps. So if I’m just hanging out at home or shopping casually in town, that’s what you will likely find me wearing. I will wear jeans or cropped pants on occasion, but not on a day to day basis. I’m all for comfort. So I’ll either have tennis shoes on my feet, or bike shoes. Recently I went through my closets and took most of what I owned to The Salvation Army. I figured, it’s just collecting dust around here. I know there must be women who could be using this clothing and shoes and such. Some had never been worn. Sometimes you just have to divide and conquer!

img_65101

2. I do not go to parties. I am not one who is willing to stand around with drink in hand and do the chit-chat thing. Besides, I would probably not be invited back a second time. If you ask me a question, I will answer it honestly. Too honestly most of the time. My daughter says I am brutally honest. I would hate to think I’m mean about it. I just feel an obligation to not lie. Therefore I am not party material. I belong outside in a yard with gardens to tend to like some people belong in a barn. You get the picture.

img_6209

3. I don’t go to church. Once again, not a social animal. I commune with nature in my own spiritual way outside. The last time I was in a church was my youngest daughter’s wedding in July 2002. Before that it was when I attended quilting bees in the mid 1990s and sat around with all the women with quilting needle in hand. Focused on a quilt strapped into a wooden frame. All of us working on our own segment. Meeting up and switching direction. Traversing the patchwork like a highway with hills and valleys in between.

img_6514

4. I read voraciously. Magazines, books, online information. Every night I take my shower after supper and lie down on the bed with the pets and happily read my way to bedtime. It is calming. It helps a person transition from daytime activity to slumber. It is my “in between” time.

img_6528

5. I can stitch up tiny squares or applique tiny flowers onto fabric. But I’m like a bull in a china shop when it comes to painting or taking down wall paper. Yesterday I got fired from my volunteer position as Robert’s assistant. If I don’t totally concentrate on what I’m doing, my mind roams. And before I know it, I have stripped pieces of wallpaper that were connected to the surface of the ceiling and pulled the whole shooting match down. Robert is over there, hands on his hips, surveying the damage. I keep telling him to just spit it out and say what’s on his mind. He is a calm sort, and takes it in stride. And tells me to go do something away from his work area. I keep reminding him that I have the best of intentions.
img_65362

6. I am compulsive about time. If I say I will be somewhere, I will be there fifteen minutes early. If you don’t want me there early, set the time for fifteen minutes later. It is the way I keep order in my life. If I were late, I would feel as though I was wasting someone’s time. Against the code of honor that was bestowed upon me somewhere in time.

I could go on and on with this inane trivia about myself. But I would bore you to tears. I eat mostly the same thing over and over. I hardly ever go out after dark. Thus when I do drive, I can’t remember how the lights in the car go on. My life would probably seem dull to most. I don’t like to travel; don’t like to go to movies. As a child I would read the dictionary. I am an odd duck and at the same time quite ordinary, and have simple needs. Of course everyone being different is what makes the world go round.

If you enjoyed this exercise, pass it on.

Responses

  1. Brenda
    You are so honest I give you 5 gold stars for telling the truth!
    You are a quiet low key person, and guess what its ok!!
    I have a girlfriend who is just like you, hates to dress up hates parties or get togethers loves reading and has pets, she is one of the sweetest persons I know, I worked with her for 20 years,we don’t see each other often because she lives in the next town now but I adore her because she is HER!!
    I enjoy you very much or else I would not come back, your a sweet person Brenda who tells the truth!!
    *****
    Diane

  2. Hi Brenda,
    Thanks for sharing. I always like to learn things about people I like. I’m with you on the socializing at parties… especially work ones 😦 – not my work, my hubby’s!

    Have a great day – love the photo of your kitty drinking water… why do they like the outside water better than anything indoors?
    xoxo~Tracie

  3. Brenda,
    I would love to see pictures of your quilts. I just love quilts!
    I am also obsessed with time and I think that is a good thing, not a quirk!
    Hav a great day!
    Angie

  4. You’re not odd you are just comfortable with who you are. That’s perfectly good. 🙂

  5. Brenda, I can’t imagine how you could sit still to quilt; you are always moving doing something! You are a wonderful person, quirks and all. We share some of the same quirks, that’s probably why I love you so!

  6. I enjoyed your list, Brenda.

    I see we are alike in clothing preference and driving at night. When I was finished with the tablesetting thing Saturday, it had grown dark. Took a minute for me to find the lights!! It was also a tad painful for me to speak in front of that group, Saturday. All lovely ladies, but very difficult for me, anyway. I am not one to go to parties either. My traveling consists of fairly short road trips. I am also a communer with nature.

    And I love that you call the evening meal supper. We do too!

  7. Brenda,
    It is nice to get to know you better! If we all liked the same thing, the world would be a dull place!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  8. Brenda,

    That was fun for me to read. I hate cocktail parties too. I just don’t feel like I have anything to add.

    I don’t often go to church. I spend so little time with Mr. Bird Nest during the week, I hate to take any of that time away on Sunday.

    Gretchen

  9. How nice to meet you! Your honesty and practical nature is very refreshing.

    The older I get, the more I value a comfortable pair of pants and shoes…it makes all the difference in my ability to get through the day.

    And I like to read myself to sleep at night too- in fact, it’s a must!

  10. Good evening, Brenda….Porgie is so adorable! 😉

    And are you sure you don’t like snaps at least??? 😛

    Thank you for so faithfully stopping by my blog. That means alot to me. You cracked me up with your comment on the blog I posted yesterday. And yes, I did just get a hair cut. Do you like it?? I posted a new (better quality) short video of me singing. =O

    I hope the rest of your week goes well. I think of you lots.

    love ya! xo

  11. Thanks for sharing. I loved reading about you and getting to know you better. I hate being late too and if I didn’t have to work I’d never get out of my sweats. I love comfortable. I don’t do parties either especially with people I work with. My god I see them all day!! Have a great wekend.

  12. I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t know how to turn on the lights in my car. Makes winter difficult sometimes, trying to be home before dark …. 6pm.

  13. Brenda, you and I could be twins as we match on all except number 5. I don’t sew unless tied down and forced or blackmailed.

  14. We have a lot of things in common, Brenda — I find my spirituality close to the Earth and Sky; neither am I a party animal by any stretch of the imagination. Peculiarly, I am obsessive about time as well — I cannot stand waiting and hate being late. 🙂 Small world.

  15. Odd duck? Maybe that is what I like best about you….or maybe it is that your soul comes through in your gardening and photography. Clearly, it is honest. Susan

  16. 🙂 Great list…I see a lot more in common with you, once again!

  17. Hi Brenda, I was going to comment on your new green walls, which are quite nice serene and how excited you must be about having the view to the outside too. But these quirky facts just crack me up. You are who you are and that is all there is to it! I especially like your fifteen minutes early bit. Now me, I try my hardest to hit the time right on the money. It is hard to do sometimes, waiting in the car to go inside. I think you would be a great next door neighbor!
    Frances

  18. Sounds like we have a lot in common Brenda. I am also not into idle chit-chat, I am (at times tooooo)honest and loathe liars, and I am all for comfort in clothing (good looking clothes dont have to be uncomfortable, do they?).

    Great post and wonderful pics.
    Hugs, G 🙂

  19. Hi, Brenda: I loved reading about you and getting to know you better. And once again, I love all your photos! Patti


Leave a Reply

Categories

