Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 4, 2008

A Woman’s Loss

img_58681

For those of you who read Connie’s blog, Casa Maria she has some sad news. Her partner, Joe, has succumbed to cancer. She is from the Philippines, and our bond has been this fan palm in my yard. I thought the palm fronds overlapping symbolized the holding of hands.

img_62371

We as a blogging community rise to the task at hand when one of our own is imperiled in some way. Connie, we are here for you. Your memories are the scrapbook that you will revisit again and again. We wish for you serenity and peace during this difficult time.

img_6226

“And the tear that we shed, though in secret it rolls, shall long keep his memory green in our souls.” – Thomas Moore

Responses

  1. What a wonderful quote, Brenda. I went over to send my condolences, too.
    I have been TRYING to navigate around at Blotanical today, but it’s hard learning the ropes! I signed up a while back, but never had any time to devote to it. Maybe I should wait till winter, when I’m stuck inside for an extended period.
    Talk to you later, Nola

  2. So sad.

  3. I am so sorry for this great loss.

  4. THANK YOU, Brenda! Thanks everyone! I am so broken-hearted and yet at the same time relieved that he’s now pain-free. What an uphill battle it was for Joe as the pain was just so unbearable and he fought so hard till the end.
    Cancer is such a terrible, terrible disease!

    Once again…thanks for all your kind words and thoughts! I have friends checking on me all the time. I just wish my whole family is here!

  5. My deepest condolences.

  6. Brenda,

    My heart is tender today as I too lost my aunt and then to learn of Connie’s makes one realize her blessings. I really liked your sybolism of the palm fronds overlapping and holding hands. Beautifully written!

    My sympathy and heart goes out to Connie.

    Beth

  7. Oh, I am so sorry for what she has been through. Beautiful quote, Brenda, by Thomas Moore. I hope she will find comfort here among friends.

  8. That is so sweet Brenda. Connie is a wonderful person. I am so sad for her.

  9. Brenda, what a beautiful blog and tribute to Connie. My heart is aching for her loss. 😦 You are a good friend to hold her tight at this moment.

  10. I am sorry to hear of her loss.

  11. Wonderful tribute, Brenda. I’m always so sorry to hear such sad life stories… 😦

  12. I feel a bond with all bloggers, even if I have never visited them. I am so sorry to hear of her loss.

  13. Please accept my sympathies. Thinking of your friend and her family.

    Susan
    xo

  14. My prayers are with the family.

  15. I will be keeping Connie in my thoughts and prayers. May her partner finallly be at peace and pain free.

    Gretchen

  16. Hi Brenda,
    I will keep your friend, Connie in my thoughts and prayers.

    I read her comment above and feel for her with all my heart. It is not easy seeing someone you love so much go through all that pain. She is correct, he’s without pain now… sometimes hard to remember… I give her so much credit with being real with that now so soon after his passing. What a good soul.

    You’re a true friend, Brenda – always doing something thoughtful. It’s a pleasure to know you.
    xo~Tracie


Leave a Reply

Categories

