Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 3, 2008

Reflections

I love how Walli’s fence reflects in the shallow basin of her birdbath. I’m sort of into the subtleties of photography at the moment. The things I might not have even seen a few months ago are appearing right in front of me. As though by magic.

She and I went to Hughes Nursery down the road yesterday and picked up some flats of pansies, alyssum, and snapdragons. And I got this yucca, which I was very taken with for some reason. The pansies are all such fun colors. Somehow reminds me of the tie-dye era of the seventies.

When you look around you, scrutinize a little harder. See the little things. Like the reflection of a terra cotta pot and the landscape in the shiny surface of a gazing ball. Don’t just take time to smell the roses. Really look intently at their texture. The individual uniqueness and thinly etched veins of each leaf. Before you know it, your cares will melt away. Nature is its own brand of medicine. The best kind there is.

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda, thanks for slowing us down. I agree completely that we need to really look at things. There is beauty everywhere and it is good for what ails us.

    Frances
    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/

  2. Nice!

  3. I’m VERY impressed at how clean both of these birdbaths are. Ours is full of algae & mosquito larvae – I have to constantly remind myself to clean it.

    🙂 Debi

  4. You certainly seem to be in a reflective mood, and your pictures show that. The pansies are lovely, especially the blue ones. I am sure that once you get them planted they will brighten your garden.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  5. Wow, that yucca looks positively artificial. Of course, I love the pansies. Where are the snaps hiding? I don’t see them in the photo. They are one of my “must have” plants; you get a lot of bloom for your buck, and they aren’t difficult to grow.

  6. Very nice pictures to yes, make us look closely at things.

  7. As always, beautiful pictures!!!
    Check out my blog for your award!
    xoxoxoxox
    Angie

  8. I have enjoyed looking closely at this post. Your photos are quite nice and hold to things that are true and good! You notice the little things and that brings comfort to others.
    We are at the end of our growing season….and even though there are pansy’s available..they just don’t do well unless protected from the rain. Do enjoy yours!!
    Aren’t the alpaca’s something!! What a dream that day was to visit White Oak farm! There are so many wonderful people to share with in the world!!

  9. Brenda Nature certainly soothes the soul regardeless the season. Lovely images.

  10. I like the pebbles in that birdbath, they are so colorful. That’s what I’ve been trying to do lately Brenda, really study the plants. It does bring a special peace to the soul.

  11. Good morning Brenda 🙂

    I do that quite often. I think I’m slightly odd for noticing the things I see, but I’m glad to know I’m not alone and that there is another person (or people) out there that see it too 🙂

    I really enjoyed catching up with you and I giggled while reading about your furry babies getting more kerchiefs and poor Clyde trying to sharpen his claws. I am sorry about the poison all over you though. I hope it’s getting better and better.

    hugs,
    rue

  12. Your photography just keeps getting better and better! Susan

  13. Very nice post!

    Big sigh…our bird bath is frozen at the moment, I hope my husband adds warm water to it before he leaves for work (it was still dark out when I left!).

    Thank you for visiting my blog ~ I feel the same, Brenda! Gardening, Books, Quilting, Photography…we can’t go wrong, eh?!

    Now…hate to do this so soon ~ but…You’ve been tagged to reveal 6 quirky things about yourself! Check my blog!

  14. Thanks for the reminder, and I love the first picture of the birdbath.

  15. Beautiful photos, thanks for sharing.

  16. I love Walli’s bird bath. Is it something I could order online? It wouldn’t matter if the water froze in it since it’s metal. I think it’s metal. You two have the coolest garden things.

    My son is coming tomorrow to build my entrance to the new walkway.

    Gretchen

  17. What a great bunch of photos. I love the water dripping from the rose leaves.

  18. This post is stunningly beautiful! The water reflections are serene and comforting.

    Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

