Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 2, 2008

The Garden Room

Now I’m looking at a house that seems to be coming into its own. Finally. Most of the floors are done. Just a few boards in one bedroom remains.

This is my garden room. I bought a new 8 x 12 rug for under $100 last week that replaced the old one. Doesn’t cover as much of the gravel/cement floor, but it is thicker. I have a braided rug layered on top to anchor the couch. No money in the budget to give this room a brand new floor. That’s okay. We’ll manage to be fine with one floor that is basically cement…

So adding the new rug caused me to look at the room overall. Sometimes I just get the urge to do things to a room. Spruce it up, give it some shine.

I’m big on everything being in order and the books being even on the shelves…

Sometimes I miss seeing my old linens I’ve collected. So I get them out and hang them somewhere so I can look at them.

Give everything a little dusting and rearranging…

“Home” is where my heart is, along with my gardens, so it has to be colorful and cozy…

Obviously the color blue in various shades is comforting to me.

I had this coffee table in another room in a closet. It was really in need of some conditioning. So last week I got out the scratch cover and Old English and went to work.

This dish shelf is a little dated. But I bought it many years ago at a garage sale for $2 and somehow it has just stayed with me. Of course once I added a bright splash of red paint a few years ago, I liked it even better.

Photos of family members and pets have to be close by. Things I like to collect.

I’m not into expensive furnishings, or rare. I like what I like and if it appeals to me, it has intrinsic worth.

Here’s most of the gang, taking a break outside, getting some fresh air. Knowing our little room awaits us.

Responses

  1. I enjoy cleaning and ordering also. It’s much more enjoyable that way. I love your linens.

  2. Hi Brenda, I love your home, it looks so cozy and inviting. I love to putter and put things where they belong too. I’m looking for a new bookcase, I have books all over that don’t fit in my other one. It’s driving me crazy.

  3. That’s a really cosy looking room Brenda I can see why you love it, I would enjoy spending time in there too!
    Diane

  4. Hey, you missed Bonnie, I don’t see her photo! Where does she hang out? I love your room! All your lamps provide such a warm glow, and I love all the things you have displayed on the wall.

  5. Say Brenda…if I take pictures of my rooms and send them to you, will you provide me some deco tips???? 🙂 Your room looks great! My favorite pieces are the large quilt, the fishy tank and the two large book shelves. I hope you had a good weekend. I know I’m not looking forward to a new work week. ha! *hugs*

    PS I just posted a video of me singing on my blog. =-O

    Love ya!

  6. You have a cozy home Brenda. I used to have the color blue throughout my house too, now my new favorite color for home decor is red.

  7. I love your room Brenda! These pictures make me want to sit and relax–it is so pretty and cozy. You have so many precious things. I love your quilts!

  8. Love the room. It is warm and cozy without being cluttered (my biggest problem).

  9. Brenda,
    Your garden room is lovely. I especially like your linen displays!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  10. It’s simply beautiful, Brenda!

  11. Hi Brenda, ooh it looks lovely and cosy and I love that shelf (of course I’d paint it white haha!), the loveheart is gorgeous, very Shaker, in fact I am looking out for one, but any I have seen have been too expensive…so if I found one thrifting I’d be well happy!

    love the rug and the sofa and the fish tank, I really want to get a fish tank for the cottage, so calming I think and homey

    I don’t think I need to tell you that I love the old linens…

    Sarah

    p.s. hope that rash is clearing up?

  12. I agree with everyone else that you have made that room so cozy and inviting. I can just imagine sitting there with a cup of tea. How’s the poison ivy? I hope the rash is better.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  13. Brenda,

    That sofa looks so comfy for napping or reading and I love how you hung your linens. Everything is so neat and aligned perfectly. I also covet those little benches. The red one and the blue one.

    Gretchen

  14. I love this room. It’s where I’d be all day.

  15. What an enchanting home you have Brenda, based on these photos. I love your eclectic style, so homey and welcoming.

    Hugs, G 🙂

  16. Reading your post makes me want to go home & re-arrange my house! Thanks Brenda. 🙂 LOL xoxo, Joanna

  17. Love your garden room…very cozy!

  18. Your home is so cozy, warm, and friendly Brenda. I love all the thoughtful little touches all over, and all the sentimental stuff you’ve saved and display. That’s my kind of decorating, where everything has meaning and memories.

    p.s. I forgot to mention – those dolls you made are adorable! What fun your granddaughter will have playing with them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

