Posted by: Brenda Kula | November 1, 2008

Autumn In Earnest

It was a quiet Halloween night for me and the pets. Not one trick-or-treater seems to venture to our cul-de-sac. I relished the silence and read. Still scratching. Now the rash is mostly just bright, large blotchy red areas underneath my skin. Most of the sores have cleared up.

Dee over at Red Dirt Ramblings emailed that she suffered through it a solid month. Two series of steroids. She said, “I weep for you.” I’m two weeks in. I wash with Aveeno powder and wear thin loose clothing.

And try to distract myself wandering the yard, taking idle photos of whatever…

Enjoying the cool breeze against my skin. Watching the bees on what we have now ascertained (or rather you all did) is a loquat tree.

Still seeing an occasional butterfly that has not gone south yet. Wondering how they got so swept up in the scenery that they haven’t started their journey.

Already thinking about the spring gardens. And what I shall plant, and how I will weave my dreams through the pathways that lead to my pond.

Responses

  1. Yes, Brenda, winter is one of my favorite gardening seasons; all the planning and searching for items for next year’s gardens. Oh, the anticipation is half the fun!

  2. Oh, Brenda that Poison Ivy really got you bad. I am so sorry. I hope that all symptoms are gone soon. I am enjoying your beautiful photos as usual:)

  3. Good morning, Brenda. So sorry to hear that you are still dealing with your rash. Hopefully, it will be gone before you know it! And I’ve never heard of a loquat tree before. But, your pictures are ever so beautiful, as always! đŸ™‚

    *hugs*

  4. Glad you are on the mend finally! Poor Dee-two whole months? What a pain.

  5. I hope you don’t have to suffer for 2 mos Brenda! Your photos today were lovely. I am looking forward to spring to and all the expectations of next year’s garden.

  6. I’m so glad you are doing better. Someday you will laugh about it…ok maybe a lot of somedays!!

  7. Fun photos, Brenda (I’m a bit partial to the leaf). Do hope your rash disappears soon. Anxious to see the color you choose. You’re wise to try different shades and watch the sun effect and how it looks at night. Good luck with all your issues!

  8. Love the acorn picture I sure wish I hadan oak tree in my yard I would give anything.
    We only had 8 kids last night it was pretty quiet, our street has no children, only working and retired people,plus were on a hill.Our friends had hundreds of kids just a few short blocks away.I love to see the little ones all dressed up.
    I hope you feel normal soon, someday you will laugh at all this …. just not any time soon……
    Diane

  9. I was wondering how the poison ivy was going. Sorry to hear you are still suffering. You did take some nice pictures – esp. the birdhouses. Hope you are better soon.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  10. Your photos are wonderful! I’m happy to say that we still have some beautiful leaves on the trees here in BC as well. Winter has not quite arrived yet.

  11. We’ve had some frost now and I still have yard work to be done.

    I think I’ve asked Nola this before, but do you have a Gardener’s Journal that you keep? I think I need to do more planning over the winter.

    Gretchen

  12. It’s good to hear you are feeling a tad better, Brenda.

    I am visiting this morning, still catching up from our road trip. I had my laptop, but it would not accept the connection in our cabin. I went to the registration building a couple times for wireless. That’s where I wrote my Greetings post.

    We had under 30 trick or treaters, with long intervals between. Made for a slow and boring night! Thought we would have more, because it stayed daylight longer and the weather was spectacular.

    Have a great week!

  13. We have a great neighborhood. Goblins come between 6:30 and 8:30. Then it is over. Hope you are well soon.
    Donna

  14. Yes, poison ivy was pure hell. I wrote about it on my blog too last summer. It only lasted one month total, but eek! It sounds like you’re on the mend. Once the sores dry up, it’s only a matter of time.

    I, too, love this time of year. I worked in a bed all day, and I’m so happy. I understand your dreams of spring.~~Dee


Leave a Reply

Categories

