Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 23, 2008

Creating A Handy Coffee Bar

Now some of you will remember that earlier in the year I posted something about this. But then when I changed from Typepad to WordPress, I switched all my previous posts and photos over to WordPress. But somehow they managed to erase the photos anyway. So I’m redoing that entry, but this time I’m starting out with selecting the piece of furniture and getting the bar set up.

I bought this piece of furniture from JCPenneys and had it put together. It was around $150. I had a piece of table glass cut to fit the top. I think it was under $30.

You can use any piece of furniture you may already have that is close to counter height, so you don’t have to bend over.

There is adequate storage space for other things, like your coffee mugs, as you can see below.

Find a place to put your coffee bar where it will be most convenient. Mine is in a corner of the breakfast nook. It’s out of the way, yet not six feet from the kitchen sink.

Now start utilizing it as a coffee bar.

I have two coffee makers. One that will make ten cups. And another that I use when it’s just me that makes four cups. So I wanted them both on the coffee bar. I picked up a glass canister that has a tightly-sealed lid. Because I get my coffee ground at Starbucks, and I don’t want to lose any more flavor than I have to.

I added some glass containers for Splenda and Equal, which is what we use around here. You could have a sugar bowl of course. Whatever you use that doesn’t have to be refrigerated could be placed on your coffee bar, space allowing. Spoons, napkins, etc.

And you have a coffee bar! Or it could be a beverage bar, or tea bar. Whatever your tastes happen to be.

I used the room down below for other dishes, etc. And at the bottom I put large pots and pans that won’t fit anywhere else.

I like the concept of the coffee bar because it frees up valuable space on my counter tops, where a lot of folks put their coffee makers. And the paraphernalia that comes with it.


Responses

  1. Love, love, love this idea!!

  2. You don’t have any sugar out for me??? I only take real sugar, so when I come to visit, I’ll bring you some! Make sure the coffee isn’t decaf, I run on HIGH OCTANE! It really turned out nice. I have a baker’s rack I used to use for the same thing, and had all my teas, cocoas, and any sort of beverage you might want all in that one area.

  3. I have a capuchino/expresso machine as well as a coffee maker in the corner on top of the cupboards.No way do I have space for another piece of furniture just for the coffee machines altho I would LOVE to have a coffee bar,we drink a lot of coffee plus we have a lot of tea, but not your ordinary bag tea crap we like loose leaf and funky teas like Russian Caravan or Lapsang Souchon, not many like it, that’s a strong flavor.
    But when I come to your house Brenda I like Coffee Mate in my coffee because I am lactose intollerant or soy milk I enjoy also, and I don’t use sugar at all, no substitute either.I am an easy customer !! LOL!!!!
    Don’t know when I can make it to your house but you can be ready for me.LOL!!!!!!

  4. Ummmm coffee!!! I love the coffee bar–you make the coffee and I’ll bring the muffins! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Well isn’t that a cute idea…… love the piece of furniture…….l ots of nice storage….. wish my storage looked as neat and tidy as yours….
    LInda

  6. Great idea Brenda! We have coffee in J’s “lodge” every morning. He’s the brewer of excellent coffee. Everything is set up on the back bar. I love your coffee bar. I think I’ll set up something like this at the lake, because when the family is there, it really gets congested in our tiny kitchen during “coffee time”.

  7. Brenda,
    Beautiful! I love the idea. I wish I had room for one. We have our coffee maker on the counter near the sink. I also have a espresso/capuccino machine on a cart across from the sink. There was no other space for the cart! Lately, I ‘ve been making iced coffee to take to school with me.
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  8. So coffee’s at your place later? Those colors are so good looking together.

  9. Ummm…since I don’t drink coffee….can I make it a Cocoa Bar, please????? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I hope you’re having a good week. Thinking of you and sending lotsa hugs!

  10. This is a wonderful idea. I’m going to add this to my “must have” list for when we start attacking the kitchen area. I’m a coffee nut who also loves tea and this would be perfect for me. I do espresso and cappuccino and regular coffee and and and… I want me one of those!!!

  11. That is totally awesome. I love it. I love coffee and to have a special place would be wonderful. I love the extra storage place too. Can’t we all use that?

  12. I think this is a great idea. My ideal coffee bar would be a bedside table. That way I could get it all set the night before and when I woke up all I’d have to do is roll over… talk about heaven!
    So does your coffee bar always look that tidy? For the most part, I’m the only one who drinks coffee in my home. But all I have to do is go near the coffee counter in the kitchen and it immediately becomes a complete disaster area. I can get grounds, water and perked coffee all over the place in a blink of an eye!

  13. Brenda,

    I don’t drink coffee but I would if I had your cool coffee bar. That little cabinet is adorable and I love all the little shelves inside and on the bottom. I love that you had a piece of glass cut for on top of it too.

    Now that I’m even more of a homebody, I may need to make a tea and coffee bar. I’ve already had about 10 cups of tea this morning.

    I also love the color of your walls with the red paint and your great artwork.

    Gretchen

  14. love your coffee bar Brenda! It’s so warm and inviting. The colors are wonderful!

  15. This is so warm and inviting. Can I come for coffee AND the pines too!!! Hugs, G ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. Hi Brenda ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve wanted to do this in our kitchen for a while, but I need to find a cabinet that isn’t too wide (less than 12 inches) or my big ol’ butt will knock into it on the way to the fridge LOL I love the red!

    hugs,
    rue


Leave a Reply

Categories

