Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 20, 2008

Butterflies Are Free

This morning I saw this beauty out in my yard. It is feasting, along with all manner of bees, on the blossoms of this tree. No one around my neighborhood seems to know what this tree actually is. So if it looks familiar, please venture a guess.

Here is more of the actual tree in this photo. It is, I would say, a medium-sized tree, and the leaves are shiny. About eight to ten inches long and several inches wide.

Acorns have their own unique beauty. They resemble the knit caps I recall wearing as a child during blustery Oklahoma winters.

A bird’s nest high up in another tree at the back of the yard. I saw an Eastern bluebird sitting on the fence this morning, but they always nest in the corner birdhouse. There is a nest tucked neatly inside it now too.

The leaves that are perpetually falling are keeping me busy as I rake them up and bag them. Then there are the leaves of this oak tree, which are just starting to turn. Fall leaves have their own poetic symmetry, don’t they?

And the intrinsic beauty of gathered rocks on display. Just something I like to feast my eyes on.

Unless the dogs get up in the chairs next to this table and drag them all off. I’ve already found some and brought them back to put next to the pumpkins!

Responses

  1. Brenda gorgeous pictures as always !
    I look forward to your blog to see what you will show us today.
    I esp love the acorns,wish I had an oak tree like that in my yard.
    No idea what kind of tree that is your showing us, I am no help to you with this one.
    Take care
    Diane

  2. I can’t figure out what the tree is; try to post a photo of the whole tree sometime. The acorn shots are perfect! There’s nothing as beautiful as an oak tree when the seasons are changing!

  3. Brenda .. you have a mystery tree ! .. what stunning pictures you caught with the butterfly and acorns .. I love oak trees too : )
    Your naughty little ones have been helping you “arrange” stones and pumpkins ? .. LOL

  4. Everything is beautiful, but the pooch pics are always my favorite of all! šŸ˜‰

  5. Can’t help you with the tree though I should be able to. Darn! I thought those pumpkins were real at first. I was wondering how to get shiny ones like that. Gorgeous close ups of everything, especially that acorn.

  6. Is that last photo of Charlie Ross? I can never tell your dogs apart. Anyhow, he looks like a little ol’ man. His eyes seem almost human to me. Does that sound silly? he-he

    I’m liking your new look. And it seems like you are getting out more… or are you just writing about it more? Either way, I’m liking it. šŸ™‚ xoxo, Joanna

  7. I have no clue what the tree is either. I wish I did. The acorn shots were fab, and the dogs look so ornery they’re cute! My Mom bred Scotties, so I know all terriers are ornery customers. That’s why I love them.~~Dee

  8. Hi Brenda,
    Great photos. You definitely HAVE to find out the name of the mystery tree! The acorns are awesome and your doggies are so sweet!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  9. Brenda,
    I am so glad I found you again!
    I have missed your lovely posts!
    You answered my mystery. I took pictures while in Virginia of this simply wonderful vine with the sweetest purple blossoms on it that reminded me of sweet peas in away, but had these large gorgeous bean like purple pods…. You answered my question. HYACINTH BEAN PODS! I do hope they will grow in our area. They were so beautiful.
    It’s good to have you back on my daily searches.

    Beth

  10. I’ve noticed the butterflies. This is my favorite part of this season… the butterflies migrating south. We see so many of them here. It’s even better down in Austin.

  11. My word what beautiful photos you take…. the butterfly looks like a magazine picture….. maybe the furry friend has a place he is decorating….lol
    HUgs
    Linda

  12. What a pretty post! I love acorns – I remember collecting them from a stand of eucalyptus trees behind our house. They were bluish. As for butterflies – earlier this year I drove through a flock of them. It was amazing, seeing hundreds of them all around me!

  13. How beautiful! Autumn is a feast for the eyes and soul!

  14. Beautiful pictures!! I too love the acorns. As as for your little pups. . . well, I’m positive they think they are helping their mom with the yard work! lol

  15. Brenda,

    The last two photos are my faves today!

  16. Your pictures are beautiful.

    I picked up a bunch of acorns the other day on my son’s college campus. They are much bigger than the ones in my yard. A different type of oak, I think.

  17. Beautiful pictures. I love that you are out exploring your world. We all need to make the time to “stop and smell the roses” because beauty and serenity can be found all around us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

