Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 16, 2008

ABC’s Of Homemaking

ABC’s of Homemaking…..

A ~Aprons–y/n If y, what does your favorite look like?
No apron. If I had them I would likely forget to put one on until after the spill, as I’m rather clumsy and forgetful!

B ~ Baking–Favorite thing to bake?
Probably cakes. Which isn’t often anymore. I usually eat the Weight Watchers individual double fudge cakes, and they’re quite good.

C ~ Clothes line?
Don’t have one. And don’t have enough room for one.

D ~ Donuts–Have you ever made them?
I seem to recall that when my kids were little, something came out called a donut-maker, and I believe I did try it a time or two, and declared it an unmitigated disaster. Can’t remember when last I had a donut. I may sneak small bits of chocolate all day long. But for some reason every time I see a donut in a store, I feel the guilt emerging!

E ~ Everyday–One homemaking thing you do everyday?
Well, I’m a bit anal. I meander through the house every time I get up and do something. I may tell myself I’m getting up from the computer to go to the bathroom. But then I throw in a load of clothes or end up vacuuming.

F ~ Freezer–Do you have a separate deep freeze?
Nope, never had a separate deep freeze. But I do have an extra refrigerator out in the garage hooked up for extras.

G ~ Garbage Disposer?
Yes, I have one. And I end up with mangled silverware every now and then too!

H ~ Handbook–What is your favorite homemaking resource?
My own compulsiveness.

I ~ Ironing–Love it or Hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
Hate it. When I wash the dust ruffle from the beds or something, I call Walli who lives behind me and say, “Walli, could you iron this thing for me? You know how I get it all wrinkled.” I get by with this because once she looked at one I’d just ironed and declared her displeasure at my lack of ironing skills. She has more patience for such things.

J ~ Junk Drawer–y/n? Where is it?
I don’t have a declared “junk drawer.” I use to before I had the kitchen remodeled. But now there’s a place for everything. (But my linen closet is another thing altogether. I have got to stop cramming things in there whenever I’m in doubt about where to put stuff!)

K ~ Kitchen–color and decorating scheme.
Yellow walls, because there’s no window in my garden home kitchen, and it’s kind of dark. So I thought that would make it more cheerful. I would say it’s a little bit country, a little vintage, and a little “Brenda.”

L ~ Love–what is your favorite part of homemaking?
Getting up and knowing I will do what needs to be done, but on my own schedule. Kids are grown, so it’s quiet. My time now. I like to keep things neat. But if pinned down, I would say just keeping order overall.

M ~ Mop–y/n?
Now that there will be no carpets, (Thank goodness! Allergy relief!) there will most assuredly be a lot of mopping going on.

N ~ Nylons, machine or hand wash?
I would not even consider nylons, if this is referring to the variety we use to wear on our legs. Not that fancy. Nor that masochistic! I don’t hand wash anything.

O ~ Oven–do you use the window or open the oven to check?
Open the oven. I don’t trust the window by itself and have to see “the real deal!”

P ~ Pizza–What do you put on yours?
Most of the time just mushrooms. Occasionally add black olives.

Q ~ Quiet–What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
I make sure most of my day is quiet. (Yes, I’m lucky that way.) I get online and read, open a book or magazine and read (nightly ritual before bed), or I’m out in the garden.

R ~ Recipe Card Box–y/n? What does it look like?
Haven’t even looked in it for months. No, I don’t cook much anymore. Once again, too busy puttering in the garden. Mine is just plain old cheap black plastic. And somewhere in the kitchen cabinets…

S ~ Style of house–What style is your house?
One story garden home; three bedrooms, two baths. About 27 years old. And changing all the time with all this work being done!

T ~Tablecloths or Place mats?
If I had a preference it would be place mats. But now that it’s usually just me, I eat on the glass table or standing up at the kitchen counter. (I know, bad for weight gain.) But I’m always in a hurry. (I know, once again, bad for packing on the pounds!)

U ~ Under the kitchen sink–organized or toxic wasteland?
Organized. As soon as I had a new “under the sink” I kept it organized. When I had the old one and it was so dismal and ugly, I tried not to look. Just crammed stuff in and hoped for the best.

V ~ Vacuum–How many times per week?
Probably about two times. I’m allergic to dust and get a horrid headache when I vacuum. So I try to limit that chore.

W ~ Wash–How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
I’d estimate five or six loads per week. I have a huge washing machine (the kind without an agitator, if that’s what it’s called, in the middle). So I can do big loads.

X’s–Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
No. It’s in my head.

Y ~ Yard–y/n? Who does what?
Alfonzo the yard man does the front and west side, as it has to be mowed and edged. I take care of the gardens on the east side, which is a fairly big spot.

ZZZ’s ~ what is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
I usually fold laundry. I have a dryer that is strangely vented into the garage. So I often do the washing and drying at night when it’s cooler.

I saw this at Diane’s Crafty Passions, who saw it at That British Woman, who saw it at Niki’s Rural Writings, who saw it at Pieces from Me, who saw it at Coffee Time At Home. Please play along on your blog! Let me know if you do, so I can visit.

Responses

  1. After reading this list, I’m glad I cleaned out my closet today! Because my “homemaking” skills seem pretty limited lately. I used to love to bake when my daughter was home. But since it’s just the hub and me, I’m afraid I’d eat all of whatever I baked (he doesn’t really like desserts). πŸ™‚ As for ironing, I like to iron pillowcases and tea towels- there seems to be something very zen-like about it. But I hate ironing everything else, especially men’s shirts! πŸ™‚

  2. That is a neat set of ABC’s. I wanted to say that I love that quote up in the right corner. That is kind of where my priorities these days!

  3. great info about you(-:

  4. Good morning Brenda πŸ™‚

    You are a very complex person, so I love learning more about you. My guess is that in real life, not many do. It’s like you’re letting us into your head πŸ™‚

    Oh and I love ironing, but there nothing to iron anymore except the placemats on the holidays.

    For some reason I can’t seem to get your pictures to come up, so I’ll have to come back to see them.

    hugs,
    rue

  5. Brenda, fun reading about you! I found the list online too and posted it on my blog. It’s really going the rounds! πŸ™‚

    Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

