Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 14, 2008

Tuesday Morning Garden Shots

This morning I escaped the sound of ongoing construction and took the dogs outside on our usual garden stroll with the camera. Some of these were taken at Walli’s house, where I wandered across the alley to see what she had blooming. The one above is from her house.

The Lambs Ear below is in my back garden. I love this particular plant. Children like to touch its soft leaves.

I love how these flowers look “folded up” like an umbrella. Then open up. She has given me a start of this beautiful flowering plant. The following photos are from her gardens.

See the bee going up inside the next flower?

The following photos were from my yard. My new Bee Balm is starting to bloom!

See the bee? It’s almost the same color as the background it is clinging to.

This is the brick wall that as of right now we’re planning to put a French door in the center of. That’s if everything goes well on the inside. See the fan palm? It is getting so big I can barely walk around it down the pathways. Does anyone know if it’s possible to move this big plant? And what the steps would be to help ensure survival?

My Sedum Autumn Joy is starting to bloom. That is lemon balm beside it.

Abi sitting on my lap as I rest by the pond.

I just can’t get over how much I love this Foxglove. Every day it looks different. Hope you’re not tired of seeing it!

Responses

  1. Very pretty pictures, seems so odd to see gorgeous flowers in October.Here in Timmins we only have dry yellowed crispy leaves rolling around , the flowers are all gone till spring.
    Diane

  2. I always enjoy your pictures Brenda! xo, suzy

  3. Hi, Brenda! Your blooms are still beautiful! You might just want to dig the palm out and water it thoroughly once transfered. Good luck!

    Can’t wait to see the new french doors…hopefully it’ll work out.

  4. Wow, what great close-ups! The dig looks terrific! I’m just now getting started reading blogs for the day!

  5. Your neighbor was most kind to give you a start from that lovely peach Brugsmansia. Foxglove is always beautiful. Being at home and having good neighbors are good things with which to be blessed.

  6. Brenda,
    Oh my,now I want Foxglove! I can see why you never tire of it!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  7. I love all your pretty blooms! I have an angels trumpet plant like that(-: They are so pretty(-:
    Looks like your home improvements will be wonderful too!!!

  8. Beautiful photos, Brenda! I guess this time of year would be great in your neck of the woods for new blooms. All the color hear is in the form or red and gold leaves 🙂

  9. Such lovely photos! You are lucky to have such a pretty garden.


Leave a Reply

Categories

