Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 11, 2008

Quilts I’ve Made

Some of you have asked me to photograph the quilts I’ve made over the years. I started sewing quilts around 1990. And my last one in 2005. I truly enjoyed sewing quilts. I have given some to my grown daughters and my grandson.

I have laid them out on my bed to show you. Don’t be surprised if you see Abigail and Charlie Ross in some shots, as it is virtually impossible to lay a quilt down and keep them from climbing on it! They love a soft spot.

Most of my quilts I just haphazardly sewed. I seldom followed any form of pattern. Just made it the way I wanted and stopped when I thought it was big enough. The one below I made from drawing out a star on folded paper to get both sides identical. Then made a template from that. I then appliqued the stars to the squares and then sewed the squares together. I chose to tie this quilt rather than hand quilt it.

This one is a scrap quilt, literally. I would put a basket of scraps at my feet and randomly pick up a piece of fabric. Sew it on, and keep right on going. I was just using up scraps of fabric I didn’t want to toss. It probably is not anywhere near exactly square. But that’s okay.

This one is one of my favorites, for some reason I can’t explain. I love all the colorful little squares. When I would have scraps of material, I would build up the stash and eventually sit down and cut out squares or some other shape to eventually make a quilt with. I think I have boxes of sewn pieces I should be working on!

This one is just patches of squares with muslin sewn between.

I don’t recall what you call this one. I think I saw the squares in a quilting magazine and copied off the templates. It is also tied rather than quilted. That’s why it doesn’t lay exactly flat.

Here is one reminiscent of old spools. You took a small square to start with, then sewed in the side pieces.

The one below is probably the one where I most closely followed an actual pattern. The Dresden Plate quilt, I believe it is called. You cut out circles from paper, then the spokes also. You actually basted the fabric onto the paper. Then you whip-stitched the pieces together. When you were done, you gently slipped the paper out from your seams. and appliqued this Dresden Plate onto the background muslin squares. I recall that I used 100% cotton batting for this one, which was a little more difficult to quilt through. It is a heavy quilt because of the batting.

Below is a wall-sized quilt. It is a nine-patch with alternate muslin squares of appliqued posy-type flowers. The flowers are edged with black embroidery floss in a blanket stitch, if I recall correctly.

So here they are, folded up at the end of the bed. Yes, I made the Pinwheel quilt on the wall also.

I showed you this one earlier this week that hangs above my couch. But I am adding it to the group today. It was one of my first quilts. Most of the quilts were hand-pieced as well as hand-quilted. Some toward the end were pieced on an antique sewing machine I picked up at a garage sale. I have never counted how many squares are in this particular quilt. I guess I’ll leave it to the imagination!

The small quilt on the back of the sofa is one I picked up at Marshalls last week.

This one is not in very good light. It is a miniature quilt. Those pieces you see are pretty small!

I have this one hanging over a tension rod between the kitchen and the garden room. So half of it is hanging over the other side.

This one is very small also. I don’t know how I ever had the patience to sew these tiny squares together!

Here are two small wall quilts I made early on. I drew the template of the cat and hearts, then appliqued it to the muslin.

This small bow-tie quilt is above my TV in the bedroom.

This is called a Crazy Quilt. You take a piece of fabric, say muslin, and start around the middle and put one usually three or five-sided piece of fabric down for a foundation piece. I used what I called “fancy” fabric in this one. I collected old prom dresses and ties and such from thrift stores and cut them up. They are therefore made of satin or velvet, etc. Then you lay the wrong side of the next piece up to one of the sides of your foundation piece, and sew it on. Then you embellish with beads and embroidery stitches. See the spider web in the bottom corner? That is made using metallic thread. The spider is made of beads, though you can’t see it.

Here is a close up of the pinwheel quilt above my bed. It is edged in muslin. Muslin is cheap and reminds me of old-fashioned quilts. I often used it to back my quilts with.

So that is my collection of quilts I’ve made over the years. Quilting is very relaxing and enjoyable. I would make more now, but I have arthritis in my thumbs from prior surgeries. I do cherish my quilts. I always envied those who inherited family quilts. I didn’t have family to inherit from. So now I have a collection to hand down to my family.

I have also made pillows out of patchwork and yo-yo’s. I will save that for another day.

Responses

  1. Oh Brenda! Those are beautiful! I love the fact that you didn’t use a specific pattern for some of them. I still have not started a quilt because, aside from the cost of the fabric, I still haven’t found a pattern I like and think I could do! Thanks for sharing yours. 🙂

  2. Your quilts are beautiful! I so want to learn to quilt. I adore quilts and they just scream home, cozy, welcome, and cuddle to me. They are so inviting and useful. I’m sorry to hear that you aren’t able to quilt any longer, but your family is truly blessed by the quilts that you have created.

  3. I’m so glad I found your blog today: what a beautiful collection of quilts.

  4. Amazing and beautiful. You’ve created a treasure with each quilt you’ve sewn.

  5. That is ALOT of quilts! I have always admired people who can create such beautiful and useful things. Pieces of our history too.

  6. I’m not quite sure how I stumbled on to your blog, but I’ve been following it for a while & really enjoy it.

    I was so surprised when I just checked it as I too have recently done a post about quilting. Yours are beautiful! I love the old quilt patterns & bright colors.

    Great job!

  7. Absolutely beautiful!!!! I am so impressed with your talent! I have made one little quilt–but I am proud of it. I love quilts–thanks so much for sharing yours. It makes me feel all warm inside just seeing what you have created! 🙂

  8. Love them all! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Holy Cow you have done a lot!!!! They are all beautiful!!!!! That is a lot of work. Absolutely wonderful!!!!

  10. The scrap quilt is my favorite, probably because it’s a lesson in frugality; nothing was wasted. As far as formal pattersn, the Dresden Plate has always been one of my favs!
    You have some beautiful handwork there Brenda!

  11. WOWIE! Brenda, you are an amazing quilter! I oohh’d and aahh’d on every single quilt you’ve made! I never quilted before and you really inspired me! The Dresden plates is one of my favs!

    Have a lovely Sunday!

  12. I made it!!!!!!!!!!
    Brenda you little crafty muffin you!!!
    I so love all those quilts !!! Wow they are wonderful !!!
    Your very talented !!! I have made 2 one for my daughter and one for my son, and they were made with love.I want to make more they are so relaxing to make, esp when time is not an issue.
    I like your new blog Brenda! Took me a while to get to it, I don’t know why it kept saying error,dosen’t matter anymore I made it here !!
    Diane

  13. Brenda,

    When you told me you used to make quilts, I had no idea you made so many quilts. I can’t even choose my favorite. I love them all. Wow, your lucky daughters got some too.

    Each one make the room look different too. Just the colors are so inspiring. I want to snuggle under them all.

    Gretchen

  14. Talented, talented you! I love this post because it shows another side of the creative pallet you work in. My favorite quilt was the one with the flowers and blanket hem stitch around their edges.

    I wonder if you consider yourself patient, because only a very patient person could take the time to make such painstaking works of art with thread! And isn’t gardening much like that? Years to really see what you have been sewing. I have planted many gardens only to move the year they really begin to show off!

    Thank you for insightful reply to my post, The Things I wish I Could Tell You. Your response was every bit as wrenching as the piece I wrote. And I know the same as you do, there are so many abandoned children who grow up stay silent, in secret shame, about the tragic loss of parents. And yes, because the pain is more than anyone can or should hold, I write. Hoping as I let go, others may find a place to speak into former silence and know they are heard.

    Thank you, Brenda, for a reply that tells me you have heard and you know the place from which I write…Thank you also for your generous comments about my words!

    xxAmy
    (Writing as Meredith T)

  15. *Love* the blue one behing the couch! Lovely…

  16. Your quilts are wonderful! I hope I have that many someday!
    Thanks for sharing.

  17. Oh my goodness, these are just gorgeous! I love them all and want them all too. 😉 Great work Brenda, glad I stopped in. G

  18. So beautiful…all of them. You should be proud. It’s not easy to finish a sewing project.

  19. Wow! Great collection of quilts that you’ve made!

    That blue patch quilt hanging behind the couch…are they 2″ squares?

  20. They’re all quite beautiful! I’ve just started making quilts, after all my years of sewing, and I really enjoy the process. I have two little ones out being quilted and I can’t wait to see how they look.

  21. OH MY GOODNESS Brenda, I just sat down here with a big cup of coffee this morning and was awestruck, from our email conversation I was not expecting to see anything like what you’ve made, i thought you dabbled in this skill!!! they are absolutley amazing, and if you didn’t get any tuition you are one talented gal. My favourite is the small squares, I really love that look, in fact you’ve made me re-think the quilt I am doing and I think I will actually turn that into cushion covers (it’s very small) and with the rest of the fabric starting cutting small squares, I love how it looks all done up. My second fave is the scrap one, it looks like a million dollars better than my scrap!! ha!

    sorry for the delay in getting here I had ‘aviewfromthepines’ not ‘viewfromthepines’ and couldn’t find you, duh!

    Sarah


Leave a Reply

Categories

