Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 10, 2008

More Construction Begins

Yesterday was spent with the guy who’s putting down the rest of the floors and painting the remaining walls. I picked out a nice warm neutral that leans toward a buttery cream shade for the living room, small dining room and entryway. He’s already taken up the tired parquet flooring in the entryway, and the concrete floors await him. Along with 25 boxes (over $1800 worth) of flooring stacked in the living room.

I mentioned that I really want those dining room windows out (the ones Charlie Ross bangs and breaks with his head when squirrels come calling). I want a set of French doors put in where the big window is. By the time the discussion was finalized, he’d talked me into also taking out some of the north brick wall (adjacent to and faces the east) where there currently are no windows. (As I’ve explained before, we are a dark garden home dungeon. Hence all the lamps you see in my house!) He wants to also add a set of French doors there. Aside from bringing in a lot more natural light, the best thing is that I would finally be able to view my gardens and pond from inside the house. The gardener in me leaped with joy!

The guy likes to design, so I’m sort of setting him loose outdoors once the indoors is finished. He wants to take the flagstone I already have, plus add some more, and lay it in concrete. He has shown me his work at a local restaurant, and I was impressed. I’m having a heck of a time cleaning what’s out there, since it’s just flagstone in the ground, with Mondo grass in little pockets amongst the rock. He has plans for curving pathways, and flagstone surfacing outside the two sets of French doors. The wooden pathways have about had it. So he would take that up and create pathways with flagstone and rock. I’m also considering a small porch roof out over one set of French doors. (I like to sit outside and listen to the rain.) He will wrap the surface around the house so it will come on over to my back door and then down along the brick wall that is the garage in a curving pattern. He is very conscientious about blending materials into what’s already there, so nothing looks like it was “added.”

I have looked at it and pondered just what to do out there. I’m not that good with the “bare bones” stuff. I’m better once the framework is set, and I can decorate with that in mind. So we shall see where we are in a few months time. First, getting something on the concrete floors inside! And seeing if there’s any money left over after the essentials.

You gardeners know how exciting it is to envision beautifying your garden spaces. And blending them into your living spaces and creating outdoor rooms. It’s bouncing around in my head, all these ideas and concepts. I feel like a kid awaiting Santa!

I haven’t shown photos yet of the finished guest bathroom, because I’ve been waiting a month for the paintings to be framed. Yesterday I picked them up. (A border and framing was over $350 for two paintings! But one was rather large.) So over the weekend they will be hung and I shall take photos to show you.

Thank goodness the kitchen and two bathrooms are finished. (Sigh of relief.) The “most costly” rooms to renovate.

On another note, remember the red chair I bought at the consignment shop for reading a few months back? I sold my pair of recliners and bought this red chair. Well, Bonnie and Clyde rarely move out of it. Just to eat, drink, and wander. So now it is the “cat chair.” Have you seen two more blissful, contented cats? What a life.

Responses

  1. Yes, yes, yes to the french doors! The more, the better; I am green with envy! And yes to any kind of porch, small or large, you will live out there! Go out now and get the “before” shots of everything!

  2. Can’t wait to see the updated look! Definitely yes on the french doors!

    Have a great weekend, Brenda!

  3. You are certainly busy! Just get everything done before Winter so you can curl up in front of your French doors and watch the weather!

  4. Oh, those cats are just hilarious! Hope the garden plans go well. There’s nothing like a wonderful garden view!

  5. It’s sounds like it will be awesome!

    I love french doors, but have never had them. We’re building a house, and don’t have a lot of windows, so I’m having them in the dining room going to the back porch, and in the bedroom, going to the front porch.

    You will have so much fun with the planning, enjoy!

  6. Brenda,

    Your house is going to be so pretty and so comfy. Obviously the kitties like the red chair too. Now where are you going to sit?

    I love french doors and I think you’ll really enjoy having them. To me anything that lets in more light is good.

    My new sidewalk is going to have curves in it too. I can’t wait for the rain to stop and the contractor started so I can start planning the landscape.

    Gretchen


Leave a Reply

Categories

