Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 8, 2008

Too Much Energy

I wish I didn’t have so much expendable energy. Above is my little bench a few days ago. See all the shrubs and trees behind it?

This is what it looks like after I started pruning “just a few branches” earlier today.

I bought a Hollyhock plant last week at Blue Moon Gardens. And a Coneflower and Black-Eyed Susan. I don’t have a lot of sun in this side yard. I planted them behind the bench. So this morning I thought: well, I’ll just trim this tree and shrubs up a bit. Maybe then the plants will get more direct sun…

My neighbor Walli has these wonderful extension pruners that I’d borrowed. I gave them back to her later and told her to please hide them from me. (I know where she keeps them in her garage.) Once I get started, I don’t seem to know when to stop. But I’ve got more sun!

I took a few photos of her flowers when I walked over and took her pruners back.

Responses

  1. Brenda,

    I must have sent some of my energy your way. This is why it’s dangerous for me to prune. It does look really nice behind your bench though.

    It’s been raining here all day and of course today was the day I was going to try doing some things in the yard. I’ve got some Canna Lilies I want to move and I also have a Eucalyptus tree I need to move. It’s been planted in the same place for about 2 years and hasn’t grown even a foot.
    I don’t have a green thumb with all my plants.

    I love seeing Walli’s garden too.

    Gretchen

  2. That is why dh is not allowed to prune my wysteria. It does need to be pruned and I will do it, but last time I went out to give it a trim it was full of bees. I don’t do bees.

  3. You certainly do have a lot of energy! I adore the photos of your flowers — they always relax me so.

    Susan
    xo

  4. Ok–I need to know…is Blue Moon worth the drive from Dallas? I have been dying to go..I love nursery hoping , but it would be a bit of a drive for me I think.
    (can I please have some of your energy??) ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Yeah, send me some energy too. I love to prune! More sun is almost always good when you have tons of shade. Looks great.

  6. You made me giggle with your comment on the extension pruners…say…you wanna come prune my bushes?? ๐Ÿ˜› And I must say, you really are a good photographer. Your pictures are always stunning. **hugs** to you, sweet Brenda.

  7. I love your neighbor’s yellow flowers, the ones shown above the rose in the first photo.

  8. Please send energy to me…your pruning looks great and I love that bench!!!! I have some things that need pruning too but I tend to go crazy when I do it. Your neighbors yard is full of beautiful blooms too!!!!

  9. Tell Walli I am coveting her wagon with what I think is a sweet potato vine spilling out! I wish I had you two for neighbors!

  10. Please send me some of your energy too. Your garden is wonderful, and I loved looking at your beautiful photographs this morning. Karen

  11. Lookin good over there in Texas, it looks like spring still to me! xo, suzy

  12. Goodness, you’re a pruning maniac! Love the blog banner picture!

  13. You not only live in a garden home, but a garden neighborhood! I go nuts when I start pruning too. I either don’t prune, or prune too much:). I hope your new babies do well for you!

  14. Lovely garden pictures!

  15. I love pruning, Brenda. Your garden still looks so lush! I’m putting dear ones to bed … sad but necessary … with thought of a waking spring sustaining my dreams.


Leave a Reply

Categories

