Posted by: Brenda Kula | October 7, 2008

Cloudy Tuesday

We had thunderstorms last night. This morning I’m doing chores and spending time inside.

I love the combination of blue and white together. There’s just something calming about it. Like the sea and clouds.

This is an old dresser I picked up at a garage sale many years ago. It has traveled with me from Oklahoma and west to east across Texas. A few years ago I decoupaged it with all these colorful bits of paper. It got bumped from a guest bedroom. I considered putting it at the curb. Then I chickened out at the last minute. Hey, everyone needs more drawers somewhere. It ended up yesterday in my garden room, repository of all things destined for the trash. And grabbed back at the last moment. I shall store old linens and fabric in it most likely. And it’s a good spot for the indoor plants up away from the pets!

The morning dishes are washed. Laundry has been folded. I think I shall light a candle and enjoy the solitude.

Responses

  1. Don’t you dare trash that dresser; when you get tired of it, I will come and take it away to be loved and cherised all over!
    Weren’t the thunderstorms great?
    I will call you later and tell you the latest episode fo “Nola vs the crapenter” BTW, I did not mis spell it, he is crap!

  2. Brenda, I just love to look at your pictures. I’m a Texas girl living in Oklahoma. Met my husband when I was teaching in Centerville, TX..ever heard of it? Population 900ish. Located off of I45 between Buffalo and Huntsville. I love east Texas. We call it God’s Country.

  3. I love your QUILT! That looks stunning on the wall πŸ™‚

  4. I love the blue and white on that brown couch! Cozy and uplifting. How smart decorate up you dresser, and the plants on the glass top!!

  5. It’s cloudy in Missouri today, too!

    Brenda I love these photos. Your home is beautiful.

    I have a question about your blog. Have you always used wordpress? I can’t remember what your other address was. Just curious, since I am considering some changes. Thinking of changing from blogspot.

  6. I LOVE the dresser. How fun and really lovely.

  7. Love that dresser.

    I like your new blog home, it suits you.

  8. So glad you didn’t toss that old dresser!! And that quilt…BIG quilt…very beautiful. I hope you found solitude today with your candle. πŸ™‚ *hugs*

  9. oooh Brenda, love the new blog, sorry it took me a while to get to you, I have the kids on hols, say no more!

    now I love the couch so much, gorgeous, the arms, to die for the THE QUILT of my gawd sweetie that is gorgeous, did you maket that?? I soooo want a nice quilt…

    Sarah

  10. Brenda, the new blog looks really nice. I believe I have said it before, I really love that blue quilt.

  11. Brenda,

    Those quilts are gorgeous! What a warm comfy room to spend time in. Your house is really looking great!

    Gretchen

  12. My first impression as I visit your blog for the very first time: Ahhhh, home, and how lovely it is! I’ll be visiting again. The atmosphere is very nice here Brenda. πŸ™‚

  13. Brenda,
    I wish you could send some t-storms our way. It is dry in the Texas Crossroads. Your quilt is lovely. I would love to settle into that sofa with a good book or some needlework!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  14. I think that is an awesome dresser! Glad you didn’t throw it out as it fits your garden room.

  15. Oh, thank goodness…I found you. All the beautiful Brendaness in a new place. The quilt on the wall over the sofa is homey and lovely and at the same time very graphic. Just a wonderful spot and looks to be very comfortable as well. Susan

  16. Blue and white is so crisp and clean — I love that postage stamp quilt on the wall…did you make it? Love that dresser, too. πŸ™‚

  17. I like blue & white together as well. Although, the only item I have is a precious teacup & saucer that my MIL gave to me for Christmas one year. She informed me that it once belonged to her grandmother. My MILs plan was to give me a piece of the blue & white china every Christmas. But she passed away 8 month later. So my single blue & white Teacup/Saucer sit alone.

    I wonder if my FIL would sell it to me before he remarries? πŸ™‚ Wouldn’t that be wonderful! xoxo, Joanna

  18. Hi Brenda πŸ™‚

    It seems like everyone is changing their blog home these days. Yours looks great, but I’m too chicken to try something new just yet.

    I love that dresser and I’m so glad you didn’t get rid of it πŸ™‚

    hugs,
    rue

  19. I love the new blog. Thanks for sharing your photographs, they are just beautiful.

  20. The new blog looks wonderful! I am in love with your linens!

  21. It has taken me a little longer to get over here than I inteded. Like your new blog. You did a nice job on the dresser and I want to know what that pink flower is on the post above this one. I hope October finds you well. I am fighting a bit of a cold and a little fall blues. Other than that I’m holding my own. Take care and come calling when you can. Susan in Kansas aka Sweetpea Sue


Leave a Reply

Categories

