Posted by: Brenda Kula | September 29, 2008

Still Blue Skies

I just went outside to make sure. But the sky was not falling. I saw eerily blue skies, and the sun was shining through the tree branches.

My dear friend Charlyce, who’s been dead and gone now over two years, talked to me often about the Great Depression, which was a very frightening experience for a young child. With due respect, I listened to her tell me of witnessing, through a child’s eyes, people standing in lines at what she referred to as “soup kitchens.” But did I really understand the emotions beneath her words? Well, no. Not really. It seemed something that would have happened in a time far removed from me.

Bickering and finger pointing has been going on in political circles all day. The credit markets are tightly frozen. This is going to spread. And spread. Like a cancer that collides with a cell and divides it, then divides it again. Just how insidious will this crisis be, is the question everyone is asking?

This tall pine tree is something you see all over East Texas. And no telling when it was just a seedling. Many moons ago. Just when did the seedlings of this crisis begin in our country? That is up for debate. This is without doubt an historic day.

For now, the sun is still shining here in Texas. And I’ll go check in a little bit, but I’m reasonably sure that at the very least, the sky still won’t be falling.

What are your thoughts on the events of this momentous day?

Responses

  1. It’s kind of scary–everyone at work was talking doom and gloom. I would rather look at bloom and bloom! 🙂

  2. Brenda from where I sit the sky has fallen and the earth has stopped on its axis.Never in all my years did I ever think this day would happen.The repercussions of this day will be felt for years to come.
    I sold all my stocks today, some I have had for years and made good $$ with , my hubby sold his and my son did as well, but I don’t trust it anymore,and we live in Canada.
    I do feel like that little chicken that kept running around crying the sky has fallen , the sky has fallen.What to do? Where to go?Oh my…. the sky has fallen.
    You are seeing history being made today.The depression will seem like a picnic I think.
    My Grandmother use to tell me about it, she lived it,she use to tell me of whole families that would come to her house to beg because she had food,my grandfather use to sharpen big saw blades for the woodsmen and that is what kept them floating in a little money.She would make them some scrambled eggs and beans, she was kind to them I never knew why she was so tight fisted until I was more mature to understand.
    She had a reason to be frugal, and now we must learn ourselves why she did what she did.
    I dont think our world will ever be the same again.Its so sad there are no words.Its an eerie calm and I feel like crying.

  3. Oh, my goodness, just read Linda’s comment above– yes, I look at and do talk bloom and bloom! For blooming still goes on. Love your post– blue skies still go on, too. This, too, shall pass. And you have inspired me!

  4. Yes, it seems kind of gloom and doom. Blue skies here too. It will pass just a matter how long it takes.

  5. I’m still holding on to my stocks! We shall have to wait and see what’s in store for all of us….

  6. I guess time will tell. i haven’t looked at the news today but I had seen things on the internet. I think every generation has to endure hardship at some time in their life. This may be our time. We will see. I just take one day at a time and I am greatful for every day I have a roof over my head knowing that things change and things happen. I try not to take things for granted but I probably do. Thanks for your nice comments earlier.

  7. I have been asking the same question. It is very hard to know and I feel the need more than ever to focus on simple daily things — and hug my kids even tighter if that is possible.

    Susan
    xo

  8. I didn’t realize what was going on today until the 5 o’clock news this evening. All I could do was shake my head and wonder if there will be any money left in my son’s college fund to send him off in two years.

  9. Thank you Brenda, for this post. I was beginning to think that I was the only one who is being traumatized and horrified by what is happening today. I will be writing an entire post about this situation today. If ever I felt close to you, it is especially now..nice to know there are other grown ups writing blogs. Susan

  10. Thank you Brenda, for this post. I was beginning to think that I was the only one who is being traumatized and horrified by what is happening today. I will be writing an entire post about this situation today. If ever I felt close to you, it is especially now..nice to know there are other grown ups writing blogs. Susan

  11. Thank you Brenda, for this post. I was beginning to think that I was the only one who is being traumatized and horrified by what is happening today. I will be writing an entire post about this situation today. If ever I felt close to you, it is especially now..nice to know there are other grown ups writing blogs. Susan

  12. It just makes me sick! I don’t have actual money, but I have a 401K and a retirement pension I can’t touch for another 7 1/2 years… Will there be anything there to touch by then? I worked for 35 years (since I was 16), paying in to social security, and may never see any of that, either. The very saddest thing is that we brought it on ourselves; everyone running around buying what they can’t afford, pushing credit beyond it’s limits, electing officials into office who haven’t done the right things.
    My Dad lived through the Great Depression, it is sad to think he may live through another one!

  13. It is my nature to say ” all this will pass, as well”. In the meantime, we will tighten our budget, put off bigger expenditures that aren’t totally necessary and pray for all those who make the larger decisions for us.

    🙂 Rosie

  14. It is my nature to say ” all this will pass, as well”. In the meantime, we will tighten our budget, put off bigger expenditures that aren’t totally necessary and pray for all those who make the larger decisions for us.

    🙂 Rosie

  15. No new windows for us right now.

  16. I keep wondering if I should remove our money from the bank and hide it under the mattress or something! This is a historic time, and I believe the world has changed forever.

  17. I’m not a money worrier. That’s what I have Mr. Bird Nest for. He worries about it 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

    I didn’t sell any stock and I don’t plan to. I’m not planning to use it for a long time.

    I don’t know how any sigle parent could have lived any cheaper with two boys to raise and I survived and they survived. We don’t take expensive trips, or live in a McMansion.

    I’ll probably plant a big garden next year and do the same kinds of things my grandparents and parents did. I hate eating wild game but I guess I could do that again too. Taking care of my family comes first.

    Thanks for this post Brenda and making me see that even though I don’t think I worry, I do usually have a plan.

    Gretchen

  18. I have not been watching the news although I’ve seen a few headlines on the internet & read my daily paper. I do think it’s very bad but I also think the media blows things out of proportion.

    I also don’t think we can point to one certain time or person to blame this on. No one person has this much power to do this on their own. I think greed has been a big contributor too.

    If you’ve heard of Dave Ramsey, I read his suggestions today & thought they were good. I hope someone will listen to them. Here’s a link to his website if you want to read what he said. http://tinyurl.com/3jrp87

    I can say that we are one family who is very glad we didn’t fall into the trap of big debt. We bought our house in 1989 & paid it off in 1999. We paid the rest of our debt off a few years later & have determined we will not go into debt again if we can help it. We have about 5 acres so we can become pioneers if we can’t buy food but I really don’t think it will get that bad for most of us.

    The sun is still shining. It’s shining much clearer now because we can see what is really important now. Face the sun & let everything stay in the shadow. Jen


Leave a Reply

Categories

