Posted by: Brenda Kula | September 28, 2008

Sprucing Up The Courtyard Gazebo


Yesterday I got out in the courtyard and started giving the gazebo a fall decorating redo.

These old vintage tablecloths were in the linen closet. I was tired of the upholstery on the chairs and loveseat. So I started “tucking.”

I was pretty pleased with the results. It cost nothing. And the old muslin is soft to sit on.

Below is the view from my front door.

The lamps are plugged in to electricity. But they’re also solar. So I get a nice soft glow at night.

More courtyard photos…

I love to decorate my old red wagon for the seasons.

Nothing terribly exciting is blooming right now in the gardens.

I’m so looking forward to seeing some pansies in the nurseries and stores to liven up this tired bunch around here.

Responses

  1. Good afternoon, Brenda. Loved your blog. Your gazebo area looks lovely and relaxing! And I really like the “wish – dream – believe” sign. 🙂

  2. What a gorgeous sanctuary! I love your “tucking” and your Fall decorating. 🙂 Rosie

  3. Everything looks so nice. A great spot to sit and have a cup of tea on a cool afternoon. We’ll get cool afternoons really soon I hope! 🙂

  4. Oh, you crafty little tucker, you! I love the chairs.
    I’m ready for the pansies, too! How much longer?????

  5. g’day Brenda

    it all looks so lovely, a little place to relax, isn’t it amazing what a little tucking and playing around can do for a space. I love to do this if I have some time, not fun if you try and do it in a rush

    the vintage tablecloths look great, so nice to have a stash of them to play with isn’t it?

    the ferns are gorgeous, I like them the most, I really have to get the greenery sorted out on my deck, plants tho are the one thing that I cannot thrift and they seem to be pretty expensive, I am working on a potting bench and am taking some cuttings, but of course that is the slow route…your pics have inspired me to have a look at ferns today, I’d love a hanging one

    great post, I really enjoy coming over to your blog, with a nice cup of tea 😉

    Sarah

  6. What a beautiful little garden you have!

    Thank you for visiting my blog…you say you just found me, which of course makes me curious, how? 🙂

  7. What a beautiful little garden you have!

    Thank you for visiting my blog…you say you just found me, which of course makes me curious, how? 🙂

  8. A super great spot to sit and ponder the changing of the seasons.

  9. I love what you did with the lovely vintage fabric-fabulous-I am jealous that you get to have pansies at this time of the year. I love them but they just don’t last very long here so I don’t usually get them. Enjoy your beautiful gazebo!

  10. What a cozy spot to take a nap or read a book. Your sprucing up looks great Brenda.

  11. Lookin’ good Brenda! I am so ready for some violas in the garden, something fresh and different! xo, suzy

  12. It really turned out great! I am green with envy with your “embroidered” cushions. Enjoy the season, Brenda!

  13. Hi Brenda,
    The courtyard looks wonderful. I would imagine that I would want to spend lots of time there.

    I’m like you…anxious for the pansies, violas, etc.
    Diane

  14. Looks great!!! I have a black cat that lights up and looks like yours(-:

  15. Looks great!!! I have a black cat that lights up and looks like yours(-:

  16. Very pretty Brenda. I am so stealing some of you decorating ideas.

  17. I love the table cloths! I couldn’t do that here as teenaged boys and big dogs do not mix well with vintage or white! I’ll settle for admiring it at your house. 🙂

  18. What beautiful enbroidery work. Grandmother’s flower basket. That same pattern has been around a long time. I may even have it in my collection. I love those old threadbare, soft linens.
    You have a lovely, I think, boston fern. I don’t have much luck with ferns. Boston Ferns and roses just do not grow well for me.

  19. It looks great!!! What a great place to sit and relax!!!

  20. You certainly have a way of artfully arranging things, Brenda. It looks like a very inviting place to sit and visit, or even to just sit.

  21. I agree, wonderfully relaxing!

  22. Hi Brenda,

    I really like your blog and your pictures.

    I love the idea of a gazebo or summerhouse, the possibility to create different rooms and spaces in the garden.

    I’ve actually designed a gazebo of my own, based on a steel structure. You can find some images on the link.

    I should also start a blog to share more ideas and pictures from my garden!

    Best regards from Sweden,

    Mia

  23. Hi Brenda, I tried to comment last night, but typepad wouldn’t let me. I don’t know what I think about the economy. I’ve seen stuff like this come and go. I think I’ll just keep praying on it and let God be in charge.

    If I think about it too much, I worry and get scared, and scared never did anything.~~Dee

  24. Hi Brenda, I tried to comment last night, but typepad wouldn’t let me. I don’t know what I think about the economy. I’ve seen stuff like this come and go. I think I’ll just keep praying on it and let God be in charge.

    If I think about it too much, I worry and get scared, and scared never did anything.~~Dee

  25. Brenda, I was just wandering around a bit and stopped in. I love your courtyard. Nice site.

  26. Very cute! I love the “tucking” that you did. 🙂 What a great idea. Everything came together so nicely. Now, you just need to sit back & relax. xoxo, Joanna

  27. I always love “strolling” through you garden, Brenda! It’s always so relaxing! I love the creative way you used your vintage tablecloths. That’s such a pretty flower basket design! Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos with us. Patti


Leave a Reply

Categories

