Posted by: Brenda Kula | September 20, 2008

Cruising Country Roads

I drove out into the country today. Just for the heck of it, and to see the lay of the land.

There is the typical cactus growing on the side of the road.


We don’t get vastly different seasonal changes around here. Not like when I lived in Oklahoma anyway, where you see the deep leaf changes on the trees. Our weather is more a slight shifting from one season to the next.

But as I love scenery, it is worth the effort to occasionally take a leisurely drive through the countryside.

Lidy, over at French Garden House has been generous enough to match, and therefore double, my giveaway gift certificate celebrating my 200th blog post that I wrote last week. (Thanks, Lidy!) So now the gift is for $100 at her boutique for whoever wins the drawing. Those of you who haven’t shopped at her wonderfully charming boutique drop over there and look at all the romantic decor she carries.

She also writes at the French Garden House blog. Lidy is very charitable, and she designates a percentage of proceeds to go to very worthy causes. I love to shop at a place where the proprietors want to help the less fortunate. That tells me they have real class and character.

You  have until Wednesday to sign up for the drawing by leaving a comment on this blog. Good luck to all!

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda, I just visited Lidy and saw she was matching your giveaway. How awesome it that? I’ really excited now and I really want to win now..

  2. That is sooooo cool and she has so many amazing things! How will the winnder decided???

  3. Will you look at that cactus !!! Wow!!!
    I have never seen one bigger than an inch high!
    Is that ever sweet of Lidy to match your give away.
    Love the scenery in your neck of the woods, its just gorgeous!
    Diane

  4. Hi Brenda … soon we will take a drive in our surrounding country side to see the fabulous colour changes. Our area is called the “Thousand Lake Area” .. I think hubby has visited quite a few while fishing !
    When we lived in Holland the leaves changed to a yellow gold .. no striking crimson or reds like we have here .. I missed that .. so I have to take some pictures to post in the next few weeks.
    Nice drive in the country ! Thanks !

  5. Thanks for letting me ride along to the Texas countryside. I haven’t been there since I was a little girl. The old buildings, fences and wild flowers are so beautiful to see.

    Gretchen

  6. Great rural shots. For a minute I thought you’d bought a farm and I was gonna have to get you the theme song from “Green Acres” to play on your blog! haha

  7. Great rural shots. For a minute I thought you’d bought a farm and I was gonna have to get you the theme song from “Green Acres” to play on your blog! haha

  8. Hello Brenda!
    I love your blog! Congrat’s on your 200th post! Loved your stories about family and Oklahoma since, I’m an Oklahoma girl also! Please include me in your wonderful giveaway! Thank you!

  9. Hi Brenda,
    I love driving country roads with someone and seeing the sights around where they live – really, really nice – thanks for taking me along.
    Wow, I can’t believe you’re done 200 posts already, time does fly. I saw below where you’re talking about things you may do to your garden next Spring. I really do not know how you could improve it at all, but additions to the garden are always very nice 😉
    I’m off to catch up and see what you’ve been up to the last week. I’ve missed you, so I’ll catch up now!
    xo~Tracie

  10. Hi Brenda…thank you for stopping by. I loved your pictures you took…especially the old barn…I love old barns. 🙂 I never though the general anesthetic would still be causing me issues. I plan to visit with my medical doctor again this week just to check my incision and stomach over to make sure the healing process is still going OK.

    *hugs*

  11. Hi Brenda! Your pics were wonderful! It looks like a really nice drive you took today. Sometimes my sister Nan and I take little rides just out of town. I miss being able to go as often with the gas being so expensive. That used to be the family activity together-Sunday rides. I hope all is going well for you and yours.

  12. Just popped in to say hello. I love your pictures. My husband and I took a drive through the country Thursday, and it was beautiful.

  13. The pictures are lovely, Brenda. Is that body of water behind the trees a lake or a river?

  14. I really liked the pics of the countryside… especially the cactus growing on the side of the road-definitely not something you see up here in Maine! geez, I would hate to fall on it though, would be very painful I’m sure. Thanks for sharing pics of the beautiful countryside-I hope to get back to TX some day, was recently in San Antonio for a few days but didn’t have time to explore more. micaela6955 at msn dot com

  15. Your pictures remind me of the rural area near our home except for the “usual cactus”. We don’t have those growing out in the country.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  16. I love your Country Side Pictures…I too like drives and taking in the views….so much out there to see.

  17. I love your Country Side Pictures…I too like drives and taking in the views….so much out there to see.

  18. What a treat! A giveaway! I’m a HUGE fan and actually my dh recently purchased a wonderful horseshoe necklace for me from Lidy – I love it! Maybe I’ll be fortunate enough to win the prize and treat myself to an accessory to my new necklace! My fingers are crossed. And congrats on the 200th post! A real milestone here in blog – land!

  19. I’m lovin’ your pics… esp. the barn. How very nice of Lidy to double your gift! What a wonderful giveaway!!! Thank you. 🙂 xoxo, Joanna

  20. I have really enjoyed reading your blog. We have alot in common. I enjoy Blue Moon and loved your photos. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

