Posted by: Brenda Kula | September 18, 2008

An Extra Special Thankful Thursday

Another Thankful Thursday is here. And I have much to be thankful for.

I am thankful that I have a home, and nature to gaze at all around me.

I am thankful I get to witness the arrival of the new shoots coming up from the Sago Palms in the yard.

The ever-ripening bloom on the aloe…



So many people have lost their homes. Be thankful if you still have yours.

For the flowers that come into your garden and bring you such happiness.

Little Charlie Ross is 2 years old on this day. And so it was also the birthday of my best friend, who died in May 2006. I went to pick up Charlie Ross in Quinlin, on a farm full of turkeys.

I was there to pick out a male puppy, because I wanted to give him a special name. For someone who had been very special to me, and who I had just lost.

Just before I left with him, I asked the woman what day he was born on. She told me that September 18 was the date of his birth. I sat there before her and cried. I had just lost my beloved friend months before. And now they were handing me this cute puppy who shared that birthday. And was being named for her. Like a gift from her to me, telling me not to feel lonely. Every time Charlie Ross’s big brown eyes gaze up at me, I am given that gift anew. So if you ever wonder why I always refer to him as “Charlie Ross,” it is because “Ross” was her maiden name. And her first name was Charlyce. Her father’s name had been Charlie. So the two names together are very precious to me.

As are you, Abigail. My precious babies. I’m so thankful you’re part of my everyday world. You give me joy in abundance.


Responses

  1. You have so much around you that gives you precious joy and happiness,its no wonder your thankful.Charlie Ross and Abigail are adorable!
    Diane

  2. I’m thankful they finally got typepad up and going b4 I went to bed so I could see my favorite plant! Happy birthday to Charlie Ross, hugs and kisses from Auntie Nola.

  3. What sweet babies!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  4. Oh, your babies are precious! And they are still puppies! Gifts from God, dogs are. While I love and appreciate my cats, I do want another dog.

  5. The babies are SO adorable! I wish you many blessings! *hugs*

  6. What a lovely post Brenda.

  7. I’m so glad you found them and they found you. I know they light up your morning each day.

    Gretchen

  8. The story about Charlie Ross is very neat. Definitely a sign! Love the photos of the garden. šŸ™‚ xoxo, Joanna

  9. That was such a touching story! My son was born an hour after my grandmother died so it really touched me.

  10. That is two very precious little faces.

  11. Always a delight seeing those two furry buggers. I’m sure they are as thankful having you as a great part of their everyday doggy life. Thanks for sharing the story of Charlie Ross with us.

  12. I’m a couple of days late, but Happy Birthday, Charlie Ross! So adorable! And so is Abi! And what a sweet, touching story… Hugs, Patti

  13. Your story about Charlie Ross and your friend brought tears to my eyes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

