Posted by: Brenda Kula | September 13, 2008

Pounding Rain

I sure hope my little feathered friends have found a dry haven in one of my many birdhouses around the yard. For the rain is pounding down now.

I took these photos yesterday, knowing I probably wouldn’t get the chance today. So far we still have electricity, and it is almost noon here in East Texas. Hoping we keep it!

I’ve moved the aloe that’s about to blossom out into the corner of the front brick wall. It sticks up just a little bit above the top of the wall. I will be very disappointed if I lose that one bloom after all the photos I’ve taken of it’s emergence. But that plant is very heavy and very prickly. It’s difficult to move it far.

I know my poor flowers and plants are taking a pounding from Mother Nature. I hope they weather it. But then, nature has it’s own ways, doesn’t it?

I’m wondering what I will find tomorrow when I can get outside to check on things. If my little yellow miniature rose bloom will have succumbed to the winds.

Stay safe, my friends.

Responses

  1. Hope you are well and doing fine.

  2. I am thinking of you. Be safe.

    HUGS!

  3. I’m keeping you in my prayers.
    Stay safe and dry.
    Angie

  4. I hope Ike doesn’t cause any damage in your area. He missed us completely in Victoria. Boy is it dry here! My lawn crackles when I walk on it! I spent the morning with my son and his friend taking down the plywood and pulling stuff back out of the garden shed. I decided to wash the patio furniture and windows while I was at it!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  5. Just wondering how all you Texans are doing, this afternoon. Our thoughts are with you!

  6. How good to hear from you today! I watched the grim storm reports until midnight last night, and went to bed knowing the worst was yet to come. I am surprised you still have electrical power. This is going to take a long, long time to clean up and repair. Worldwide, it seems to be one catastrophe after another. More flooding under way in the U.S., but how wonderful that the sea wall at Port Arthur was not breached! Now, I am on to check on other bloggers in the path.

    Brenda, I know this is the least of your worries right now, but I am perplexed as to why I can’t find you on Blotanical. I clicked on ‘Search Blogs’, then clicked on ‘Search Bloggers by Name’. Then I scrolled through the list for Brenda’s Blog, The Brenda Blog, Snippets of Me… and none of those are in his list.

  7. How good to hear from you today! I watched the grim storm reports until midnight last night, and went to bed knowing the worst was yet to come. I am surprised you still have electrical power. This is going to take a long, long time to clean up and repair. Worldwide, it seems to be one catastrophe after another. More flooding under way in the U.S., but how wonderful that the sea wall at Port Arthur was not breached! Now, I am on to check on other bloggers in the path.

    Brenda, I know this is the least of your worries right now, but I am perplexed as to why I can’t find you on Blotanical. I clicked on ‘Search Blogs’, then clicked on ‘Search Bloggers by Name’. Then I scrolled through the list for Brenda’s Blog, The Brenda Blog, Snippets of Me… and none of those are in his list.

  8. How good to hear from you today! I watched the grim storm reports until midnight last night, and went to bed knowing the worst was yet to come. I am surprised you still have electrical power. This is going to take a long, long time to clean up and repair. Worldwide, it seems to be one catastrophe after another. More flooding under way in the U.S., but how wonderful that the sea wall at Port Arthur was not breached! Now, I am on to check on other bloggers in the path.

    Brenda, I know this is the least of your worries right now, but I am perplexed as to why I can’t find you on Blotanical. I clicked on ‘Search Blogs’, then clicked on ‘Search Bloggers by Name’. Then I scrolled through the list for Brenda’s Blog, The Brenda Blog, Snippets of Me… and none of those are in his list.

  9. We had non-stop rain for two days here. It has eased up some today. I hope you and yours are all safe and without any destruction in your part of the world. I’m thinking of you. Susan

  10. Hi brenda, it is about four o’clock and I think the worst of it is over for us. We did not get as much rain as it sounds like you are dealing with. We did lose one big tree branch. Stay safe.

    Deb.

  11. Hello. Your pics are wonderful. Nothing much in Dallas yet. Just a wet day, but hasn’t stopped us from going out. xoxo, Joanna

  12. Hi, Brenda

    I’ve been watching the Weather Channel today as I have family and friends in the Houston area.

    They mentioned the high winds in your city, so I wondered how you were faring. I pray there is no damage to your lovely yard and home.

    Denise, from Curtiss Ann’s blog.

  13. Hi Brenda: Hope this finds you “snug as a bug”—and with your power!
    We’ve had lots of rain here in KC,MO–last night several inches fell and there were tornados! Someone spotted a funnel aloft a few blocks from our home, but no touch down–thank goodness.
    Be safe! Dana

  14. oh i was wondering if you were near, be safe

    Sarah

  15. Hope all is still well with you guys there .. we just get the bits and pieces of rain and wind from those horrible hurricanes .. we are lucky. So I hope you have no problems at home Brenda .. hang on to something girl !
    PS .. such pretty pictures of your garden plants ! : )

  16. It is late Saturday now– take a day and a half away, and I’m behind on reading blogs. Can’t wait to see how y’all fared in the weather. Shall go check to see where the storm is now. I think it is going to completely miss us, passing on the east.

  17. Y-Ike-S! Thinking of you, dear Brenda, and hope all is well. Rain is pounding our heads and gardens crazy here also but for us, a gift (I spent the day photographing … not in jammies but from afar). Stay safe, dear one!

  18. Thinking of you and watching the weather and news channel.
    Keep Safe
    Diane

  19. I’m back, and we are okay. It sounds like ya’ll got it a little heavier than we did. I hope that little yellow rose isn’t damaged!

  20. Hope you & your garden fared well today, Brenda! You’ve been in my prayers, as they kept saying East TX would get it worse than us. It just rained on & off here & the high winds knocked over a fern on a stand near my front door, but that was it. Take care, friend! Patti

  21. Brenda, your photos are stunning! What beautiful flowers you have. I hope that this note finds you still dry and safe.

    *hugs*

  22. Your bloom photos are wonderful Brenda. I hope your garden doesn’t substain any major damage.

  23. Thinking of you Brenda!!
    Hope you are safe and snug as a bug in your beautiful nest.

    xo,
    Kim

  24. Hi Brenda,
    You and all the others affected by Ike are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Beautiful pictures!
    diane

  25. Hello Brenda!

    Hope all is well your way and your beautiful backyard is fine! You sure have a green thumb! I could learn a lot from you! Have a good week.

    Hugs,
    Maryjane

  26. Brenda,

    Please be safe. Leave it to you to be worrying about the birdies and you beautiful flowers. You take care of you.

    Gretchen

  27. Just looking in on you this morning Brenda. Hope all is well and good and you got to take your garden walk today. I didn’t know aloe’s bloomed. ~ Lynn


Leave a Reply

Categories

