Posted by: Brenda Kula | August 16, 2008

Where Bloggers Create

Img_2759

This is where I blog. Yeah, I know it’s cluttered. Needs some work. But remember, it is a garden room with outdoor siding on the walls! I need to move those boxes of fabric down below. You can see the pillow under my computer desk where Abigail and Charlie Ross snooze while Mama’s blogging and reading blogs. And there’s usually a cat up there scattering cat hair. (Clyde likes to get right smack in front of the computer screen and sit there, so I can’t see anything.) But it’s "my" main space. And it ain’t supposed to be perfect.

Img_2758

I can hide a little more stuff with the chair in front of it, I just realized! There’s ugly indoor/outdoor carpet on much of the floor. The rest is cement. This will be the last room to fix up though. So it’s love it or leave it!

Img_2760

"Where Women Create" by Jo Packham is a phenomenal book. I’ve gone through it numerous times, ogling all those beautiful spaces. (I just know they got those rooms clean as a whistle before they took those photos!). And now Stampington & Company is coming out with a "Where Women Create" publication that will be available in November, featuring all kinds of wonderful artists’ creative spaces along with their stories. I’ll be getting my copy, for sure!

But for some time I’ve been pondering the idea of: "Where Bloggers Create." Women like you and me. So I want to have an online tour. (Haven’t done this before; bear with me now.) For the next week, starting today, Saturday, August 16 and ending Saturday, August 23, I want to find out who wants to be part of the "Where Bloggers Create" tour. The following day, Sunday, I will write a post on "Where Bloggers Create," hopefully showcasing some of your spaces. And I will link to your blog, where you can continue the tour. If you just want me to link to your blog and you’ll show your own photos, that’s fine.

It doesn’t matter if you work on a laptop and sit out on the screened-in porch, or you have a tiny spot on the kitchen counter amongst all the family’s homework and lunch boxes. Or if you have a room or office that is all yours. Maybe you have a studio, as many of you are also artists and crafters of every variety. Wherever it happens to be, it’s still "your blogging space."

So send me those pics, and/or tell me if you want to participate. (Remember to size those photos properly, as we all know that’s not one of my strong points!) Drop me a line (my email is up on the left-hand sidebar), or leave me a comment here. I’ll try to get them organized and put on a tour Sunday, August 24. Write a post on that Sunday about your blogging space, and add some of your photos. I’ll lead and you can take off with it.

Between now and then, I’ll try and dust off some surfaces, move the cat and the boxes of fabric. (The cat will probably come back though.) And make mine a little more presentable! I will so enjoy being able to visualize where my blogging friends are sitting when they blog!

Responses

  1. Of course, I want to participate! What size do the photos need to be? And be forewarned, I’m NOT dusting or removing all the cat hair (like I really could?). Do you want descriptions, or will you be providing the narrative? Ooooh, I can’t wait, I love it…

  2. Sounds like fun to me! I’m in! (Though you might have to jog my memory!)

  3. Sounds like fun peeking into other bloggers personal space. I’ll do a post with photos on my blog and you can link to me.

  4. What a cute idea I love it.!!!
    I would have to tidy up tho ,my little corner of the world is just that a little corner of the world but its mine dammit!! And as I look around I realize its so crammed with stuff, all of it priceless of course LOL(( to me))it looks stuffed and crammed,makes me see it in a different way now… hummmmm
    Diane

  5. Hi Brenda,

    I love the book Where Women Create.
    Can’t wait for the new one. I just love books period.

    I hope you are feeling better now.

    big hug,
    Barb

  6. Great idea! I would love to participate too. Do you want me to just email you a picture of my “creative space” and a short narrative? Sounds like fun! 🙂

  7. Hi Brenda
    I have that book too. Freddy Moran, a quilter featured in the book was who inspired me to take up quilting. I was lucky enough to take a week long workshop with her this year. Her studio is my ideal sewing studio!
    That is a neat idea featuring where we blog. We have a laptop so I don’t have any consistent spot. I might participate though. I’ll get back to you and let you know for sure.
    Hugs, Rhondi

  8. Hi Brenda,
    Your blogging corner looks great to me!

    I once had a desk sign that read something like this…’an empty desk is the sign of an empty mind’ so don’t apologize for all your ‘stuff’!

    I would like to do this. I’ll email you a picture and I’ll post on my own site too…one day this week would be good for me.
    Diane

  9. Sounds like fun. Count me in. And I am going to post the photos, or you are. totally untouched. I will not be straightening up a thing. 🙂 Lately I have been telling Bobby G. how much I want to pretty up my studio since I am down here from 8 am to 8 pm and more. He thinks it’s silly…what do guys know? I have been looking for a huge (cheap) armoire to store odds and ends in. (white of course)so I can get rid of my ugly metal cabinet. What I need is for someone to come here and jump start me….you know ..to get me going. Didn’t me to write a book. xo Lynn

  10. OK, I need a reason to get “meself” downstairs and tidy up the joint! I will do a post that day (next Sunday?) and link it to yours. Will you send us reminders or further updates! Sounds verrrrry interestiing. I can hardly wait to see where Lynn creates!

    I so loved your idea about letting my kitties whack around some pink sponge rollers the next time they need a little Razzle-Dazzle. I’m marching right over to The Bag of Tricks and tossing in a handfull of those sponge beauties–RIGHT NOW! Great suggestion! 🙂

  11. Hello,
    Actually these people who dress up are all doing this on their own,as incentive they do have prizes given away and costume contests, Honestly on the sunny days you cannot count all the people who dress up its just wonderful to see them all.Some of course are in special plays you can see on street corners for free etc..its really a special place to see during this celebration.This year is the 400th anniversary of Champlain naming and discovering Quebec, back then they called it Kebec its an Indian word for the water that narrows.Interesting eh!

  12. Ok, so I have a question. (send me a e-mail with your answer). Do you want a pic of where we blog? Or do you want a pic of our studios/crafting room? xoxo, Joanna

  13. I just brand new to this blogging thing so I’m not so sure I qualify. How would I go about sending you a picture? Can I email it to you?

  14. I love the idea..I would love to participate! Would it be okay if I did it on my holiday blog instead of my gardening blog? It would tie into my room redecor theme I have for this month.
    Thanks for suggesting this. It is a great idea!

  15. Brenda !! .. this is such a great idea .. I want to be in it too ? August 24 ..that is next weekend right ? .. that is how ditzy I am right now .. so we just do what ? send you photos or link to our space and name that day “where women create” post ? and post our space on our blog with an explanation ? .. sorry .. I’m in “DUH?” mode .. haha
    Joy

  16. Brenda, that’s a grand idea. Mine is not perfect either. It’s actually in the basement and I’m sharing it with Joe and his music stuff.

    I also have a copy of JO Packham’s book. Looking forward to Stampinton’s copy.

    I’m not sure if I can join on this tour. It is very unsightly down there.

  17. I do so want to take part in the fun! I’m not certain I understand, though. I will re-read your instructions. Sometimes my brain just switches off with instructions. 🙂 I love seeing where other bloggers and artists create, and this sort of thing encourages me to find other bloggers, too.
    xxxooo

  18. Brenda,

    I LOVE this idea! I have this book and have poured over the details of women’s work spaces. Unfortunately, I literally just gave my creative room (sewing, scrapping, painting, and so on) for my husband to move his business office to the house. I will follow this fun tour though!

    Your space looks great, and like mine, filled with different interests!

    The white flower sure does look like my jasmine, but the night bloom of your plant is throwing me. Is it fragrant?

  19. I am alway taken aback when I see your little cat. Almost identical to my little Mesha.

    I don’t have a special spot. I craft all over the place. Before Katrina, I had this old ranchstyle, 1950 trailer that I used as a combination pottery shed, and crafting area. It was big enough to do woodworking, sewing and whatever. I miss it. No special area now.

  20. It’s funny, but I’ve been trying to keep my studio clean so I can take photos of it for my blog. It’s hopeless, though! So far I’ve got pictures of only one side. Your post on where we create will be just the motivation I need! Count me in! (I love “Where Women Create”, too – and I’m looking forward to the Somerset publication).

  21. Well, it serves me right for taking a few days off! I have no idea if I could get a “space” ready by then. I’ve been sewing everywhere ….. outside on the porch when it is nice …… inside the great room when it’s hot but I don’t feel like being by myself …. and in the lower level where I am supposed to sew ….. not to mention, my room above the garage which was supposed to be my grand studio (13×23) that has become a “grand” storage room. If I think I can swing it, I’d love to play along. I’ll have to let you know Friday!

  22. Well, it serves me right for taking a few days off! I have no idea if I could get a “space” ready by then. I’ve been sewing everywhere ….. outside on the porch when it is nice …… inside the great room when it’s hot but I don’t feel like being by myself …. and in the lower level where I am supposed to sew ….. not to mention, my room above the garage which was supposed to be my grand studio (13×23) that has become a “grand” storage room. If I think I can swing it, I’d love to play along. I’ll have to let you know Friday!

  23. Well, it serves me right for taking a few days off! I have no idea if I could get a “space” ready by then. I’ve been sewing everywhere ….. outside on the porch when it is nice …… inside the great room when it’s hot but I don’t feel like being by myself …. and in the lower level where I am supposed to sew ….. not to mention, my room above the garage which was supposed to be my grand studio (13×23) that has become a “grand” storage room. If I think I can swing it, I’d love to play along. I’ll have to let you know Friday!

  24. Hi Brenda,
    I’m going to do my best, after all school started yesterday!
    I just ordered that book last week and have only read the first 3 entries of creating spaces – they’re beautiful. I will get back to you by tomorrow with my answer. Sounds like a lot of fun 😉
    Come back by my blog if you get a chance, I’ve got some pictures of Zeke & my rant for the day.
    xoxo~Tracie

  25. humm – I’ll have to see how far along I am on my little room by the weekend! It is sort of getting an overhaul at the moment. I was planning on 3 days – we are 2 days shy of two weeks at the moment!

  26. Good morning Brenda 🙂

    I’ll do it! I need to clean this place up anyway. Go ahead and link me 🙂

    off to read your other posts….


Leave a Reply

Categories

