Posted by: Brenda Kula | August 13, 2008

Curious Cat Clyde Drama

Img_2665

This wild morning glory that’s blooming today has nothing whatsoever to do with this post. But I didn’t want to have out front and center another ugly bathroom photo. So I placed it here for no other purpose than to postpone the inevitable.

And now, on to the rest of the story, as they say.

Img_2653

Above is the guest bath. You can see it in all its plain, stripped, ugly glory. Next week it will be history. And they will start rebuilding it back into something I will show you when it is completed. But for now, I have a little event I want to share with you.

Last night, I’m lying on my bed, reading magazines. All is quiet. The dogs are sleeping next to me. Could have heard a pin drop. I’m getting the week’s political scoop and pundits’ views and who got caught doing what. (This week it happens to be former presidential wannabe John Edwards, who I knew in all his good-looking-smooth-as-honey-speaking Southern comfort had to be, down underneath all that prettiness; simply a man.)

And all of a sudden about 9:30 p.m., I hear this crashing sound from somewhere in the depths of the house. The dogs fly to the floor as if set off by explosives, barking and yipping their alarm. I lay my magazine down, scoot into my bright red house shoes, and go to investigate.

I don’t have the "has-somebody-broken-into-my-house" fear beating in my chest. I figure: this must be a mischievous, ornery cat somewhere at the core of this little drama. I open the door to the hallway and am met with the above sight. (Ain’t too pretty, is it?)

Now the carpenter just took off a door and a drawer front during the afternoon, in order to use it to match the new vanity he’s building. So you know how cats are… Sneak a look up above at the first ugly bathroom photo at the top missing drawer front.

And now look a little closer…

Img_2651

And look what all excitement Mr. Clyde has managed to bring upon himself, by being nosy about those missing drawer and door fronts.

Img_2652

He looks a little sheepish, don’t you think?

Img_2645

He’s got their full attention. Well, mostly. The attention he does not covet.

Img_2640

In a house he once ruled.

Img_2648

Before two pesky, loud dogs came to reside in it with him.

Img_2646

And then they decided to do a little exploration on their own. Just to see if there’s another possible source of all the loud commotion that woke them from their slumber.

Img_2643

Oh, the "dog" days of summer…

   

Responses

  1. very cute post. The kids use to have a black & white cat like that. His name was Gilbert. And he loved to sleep in the bottom dresser drawer in my daughters room. I think he got stuck in there a time or two. 🙂 xoxo, Joanna

  2. Hi Brenda,

    Way too funny! Those pictures are priceless. I can’t wait to see the new bathroom. I know it will be stunning. The toile looks great-good job.

    hugs,
    Barb

  3. Brenda, you’re a hoot! Whenever I need a good chuckle, I pop over for a visit and am never disappointed! Good luck with the project AND ‘The Dog Days of Summer’.

  4. Very sweet and very funny story … and oh so feline. The suspense was marvelous. cheers, from Nova Scotia, S, Winn & those darn cats.

  5. Ah yes ….. cat antics! If there is an open door, they must explore. If there is a pulled out drawer, they must explore. 🙂 Rosie

  6. Ah yes ….. cat antics! If there is an open door, they must explore. If there is a pulled out drawer, they must explore. 🙂 Rosie

  7. Ah yes ….. cat antics! If there is an open door, they must explore. If there is a pulled out drawer, they must explore. 🙂 Rosie

  8. I love it, Brenda! You have to love cats!

    Diane

  9. I love it!! They will always find the smallest spot or the “new” spot that wasn’t there a minute ago. Great photos. I love the photo of your white cat on the top right who looks like he has a black toupee parted in the middle.

  10. I love it, Brenda! You have to love cats!

    Diane

  11. The morning glory is very pretty. 🙂 and I love the cat in the drawer in the bathroom.

  12. awwww that kitty looks like my Pinocko that passed away last year….oh my… that last picture looks just like his eyes… poor ole Pinocko….sorry I didn’t mean to sadden your fun time with your furry kids….thank you for you sweet words about my news….
    HUgs
    Linda

  13. awwww that kitty looks like my Pinocko that passed away last year….oh my… that last picture looks just like his eyes… poor ole Pinocko….sorry I didn’t mean to sadden your fun time with your furry kids….thank you for you sweet words about my news….
    HUgs
    Linda

  14. awwww that kitty looks like my Pinocko that passed away last year….oh my… that last picture looks just like his eyes… poor ole Pinocko….sorry I didn’t mean to sadden your fun time with your furry kids….thank you for you sweet words about my news….
    HUgs
    Linda

  15. Well he got himself into a bit of a predictament! lol I bet those dogs give him anxiety. I know my dog Spaz drives my cat crazy. 🙂

  16. Hi Brenda,
    That’s a great story! Only a blogger would grab the camera and start snapping pictures! LOL
    diane

  17. Too funny! Isn’t that so typical of cats! They always have to get into everything…a paper bag, a box, an empty drawer…

  18. What a hoot! It makes me miss my cat, Harley! I often caught him IN the bathroom sink waiting for someone to turn on the faucet so he could take a drink. Great story and photos!
    Blessings,
    Lorilee

  19. Still… how on earth did he manage to get into that space, missing door fronts and all? Regular Houdini.

  20. LOL! Don’t you just love the little exciting episodes that are pets bring into our lives? Too cute!
    Penny

  21. Gotta love a curious cat!
    Your new bathroom (post below) is wonderful!

  22. Hi Brenda 🙂

    I about died laughing when I saw Clyde’s face peeking from behind there!!!!! LOLOLOL Poor baby….

    Your new master bath looks gorgeous! What an amazing transformation. You must be thrilled 🙂

    hugs,
    rue

  23. Thanks for the laugh. He’s so cute!

    Can’t wait to see finished pics of your guest bathroom.

  24. Your post makes me want to get a cute little dog but I know I don’t need a mischevious cat. That picture is pretty cute though. The problems they can get themselves into.

    Gretchen


Leave a Reply

Categories

