Posted by: Brenda Kula | August 11, 2008

After The Rain

Img_2594

The rain came down. I was working in the yard, snipping, when the clouds finally let loose. I stopped and stood there, raising my head to greet the sweet sight and feel of raindrops on my face.

Img_2558

Our gardens in East Texas needed nourishment that simply does not come from the end of a water hose. Rain was a welcome respite.

Silver cascading over cobalt blue…

Img_2580

Img_2557

Abundant white blooms…

Img_2548

Dappled leaves…

Img_2587

An interesting rock sits just beyond the head of the pond. It is, for some reason I can’t explain, my favorite rock. I love its shape, color, and texture.

Img_2589 

Img_2564

Img_2554

Symbolic rejoicing…

Img_2572

Img_2562

Img_2571

Img_2563

Pears ready for picking on the west side of my house, by the street. I tell everyone who walks by to please have some.

Img_2576

Img_2567

Img_2586

Img_2560

A giant toadstool, of course… Or is it a mushroom?

Img_2584

Img_2579

More rock love…

Img_2590

Img_2597

And sedum love…

Img_2593

I’ve seen bumblebees hovering over the purple Liriope.

Img_2555

And the sun pokes its head out again.

Img_2601

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda,
    I think the rain is headed our way…but not here yet.

    Your garden is so pretty…love all your ‘wet’ photos!
    diane

  2. Hi Brenda,
    You have a lovely way with words and the camera! You also have a beautiful garden. Mine gets so sad this time of year. The heat and school starting take its toll. I am a teacher so the beginning of school means much less yard time!
    Hugs
    Lorilee

  3. Wonderful! We didn’t get more rain:( but I’m glad you did! Thank you for sharing my favorite part of rain-the after glow of plants. (I really like the silver leaf thing in the blue pot-I have that one (and the name somewhere in my head:) and I love that combo!

  4. Everything looks wonderful …. the rocks, the foliage, the flowers, the rain!

    We have been the lucky recipients of over 5 inches of rain in the past 48 hours. I just love it!

  5. Everything looks wonderful …. the rocks, the foliage, the flowers, the rain!

    We have been the lucky recipients of over 5 inches of rain in the past 48 hours. I just love it!

  6. Everything looks wonderful …. the rocks, the foliage, the flowers, the rain!

    We have been the lucky recipients of over 5 inches of rain in the past 48 hours. I just love it!

  7. Yay Rain! I just love the way a garden looks after a good downpour, refreshed & alive! I got rain too last night, it poured so hard my rain barrels are full again! Yay!

  8. I just love strolling through your garden. Wish I could keep up with mine.

  9. Everything looks so fresh and as always I love coming to your garden. It’s just paradise. What’s that yellow bell-like blooms you have? Pretty… I’ve never seen one like that before?

    Have a great Monday!

  10. Ah, a stroll through the garden in the rain…does it get any better than that? 😉

  11. Brenda .. I love ‘after the rain” pictures too ! … and especially rocks .. I wonder what that means about people who are fascinated with rocks ? The toadstool/mushroom looks gigantic LOL .. I really like your sun garden art stick ? .. I am a fan of sun and moon art.
    Great pictures !
    Joy ^..^

  12. Hi Brenda. The orange lily is very beautiful. I love reading about your garden. 🙂

  13. Rain!! Send some our way. I’d get out there and dance. Your garden is just so pretty. I love the statue of the little girls.

  14. Rain!! Send some our way. I’d get out there and dance. Your garden is just so pretty. I love the statue of the little girls.

  15. Rain!! Send some our way. I’d get out there and dance. Your garden is just so pretty. I love the statue of the little girls.

  16. We haven’t had a drop of rain as of yet. I’m jealous!

  17. Don’t you just want to sit in a chair in the rain with your face turned up to the sky and let those raindrops fall on your face.

    What pretty stones in your garden too!

    Gretchen

  18. Brenda, Did you save some rain for me? I love the rain soaked photos.
    The 5th photo from the top, is that white 4 o’clocks? If it is, save me some seed, pleeeeease!

  19. Honey, your photography is so beautiful! I look at each one carefully. You know, maybe you could sell your photographs. Not just saying that– you really have a way.

  20. An hour later…. Thanks Brenda, we just got the rain over here. You must have sent it express mail!

  21. Hi Brenda. Oh, the rain. Wish we had some of it. I know why you like that pretty round rock – it looks like a watermelon. I know that’s it. Your flowers are beautiful and you’re taking some very nice shots lately. Thanks for popping in and getting to meet Edra!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  22. I feel your joy. The rain was such a blessing to us. It’s amazing how my lawn can turn green overnight from a good soaking rain, whereas the water sprinklers seem to be just keeping it alive.

  23. Rain, wonderful rain! Everything looks very happy Brenda.

    August is the statistically the rainiest month here. So far it’s living up to its reputation. The rain is quite welcome after hot, dry July.

  24. Hi Brenda! Again- another beautiful garden post! I like that rock too! And oh how I wish I could walk by and pick pear from your tree! They look soooo good!
    Your kitchen looks great with the toile addition!! How are you feeling sweetie? You have been in my thoughts so much lately!
    HUGS
    Cinderella 🙂

  25. Lovely photo shoot, Brenda. Rain makes everything look so fresh. I’m with you … I love your rock (I have my favorites too) and I would REALLY love one of your juicy pears!

  26. Good morning Brenda 🙂

    Your garden always amazes me. It’s so beautiful and your pictures are fantastic.

    You are right about me having a hard time letting go 😉

    hugs,
    rue

  27. We finally got some rain here yesterday (late afternoon). It was nice just to hear the sound of it. Your garden looks nice & colorful, by the way. xoxo, Joanna


Leave a Reply

Categories

